It's wonderful to see a people effectively join together and take a stand when they see that the government they elected is no longer serving their best interest.
Get up, stand up!
Wish this could happen in Jamaica.
you lining up to spill your blood first?
or yuh jus hoping it go that way so you can go enjoy your 2 week vacation in the sun widout fear?
We over throw our current political system then what ?????
it may seem strange but the Ukraine intellectuals, and polticians will look at the Jamaican poltical system with envy...
.the concept of peaceful hand over of power to an opposition is not something that they have.. The idea that the leader in power gives up power without cohersion...... (Durign the election that the PNP lost there was talk by our good prime minister she was not going to give up power.).....
I have no desire to see the nihilistic violence that young men are wort to unlease triumph...I have witnessed it too often, to see what tends to come out... men in power who dont listen to ideas.. This is y i think people should follow history... the post colonial history of Africa is littered with the detimus of such... men who dismissed parliment stopped debate, destroyed initutions, imposed control of commerce, killed interlectuals, blinded journalist, invested the idea of the infallibility of them selves..
Jamaica does not need revolution it needs the current system to do what it was set out to do...
it may seem strange but the Ukraine intellectuals, and polticians will look at the Jamaican poltical system with envy...
.the concept of peaceful hand over of power to an opposition is not something that they have.. The idea that the leader in power gives up power without cohersion...... (Durign the election that the PNP lost there was talk by our good prime minister she was not going to give up power.).....
I have no desire to see the nihilistic violence that young men are wort to unlease triumph...I have witnessed it too often, to see what tends to come out... men in power who dont listen to ideas.. This is y i think people should follow history... the post colonial history of Africa is littered with the detimus of such... men who dismissed parliment stopped debate, destroyed initutions, imposed control of commerce, killed interlectuals, blinded journalist, invested the idea of the infallibility of them selves..
Jamaica does not need revolution it needs the current system to do what it was set out to do...
Very eloquently put
We do need a Revolution. A revolution in our way of thinking. As you rightly state, the current system lends itself the peaceful transition of power. Our problem is, we have a pathological aversion to getting rid of none performing folks.
All or most of the the members of the current Government were collectively responsible for the debacle of the 70s. The day when a Government made business success and hard grafting the enemy. We have never demanded that the Party purge itself of these folks and their thinking.
Rising up and overthrowing them, after the fact (after they have been duly selected, then elected to office umpteen times), seems a poor way to ensure change. Who are we going to put in charge when we have failed to speak truth to power, before they rose to power?
Get up, stand up!
Wish this could happen in Jamaica.
iff dat oww yuh feel yuh tell fareen countrees fe stapp loweinn jamaicans fe send welfare, mii badd mii reallee mean remmittances, to ja
soo yuh doan tink jamaicans cood cum tiggitar ann designed new system.
there is currently a mechanism for that.....there has been no appetite for the coming together you speak of. why do you think some kind of revolt will trigger that unity?
yess butt does da mechanism encourage dat ar does itt place impeediments fe discourage changes. smart mechanism designed wood allow fe veree likkle temporary changes wen absolutelee needed butt da goal wood be maintainin da status quo
yuh kno da french ting ann lett dem nyam cake created unitee
yess butt does da mechanism encourage dat ar does itt place impeediments fe discourage changes. smart mechanism designed wood allow fe veree likkle temporary changes wen absolutelee needed butt da goal wood be maintainin da status quo
yuh kno da french ting ann lett dem nyam cake created unitee
so what kind of alternate system you have in mind?
I think a lot of smart Jamaicans were involved in the designed the system we have...
..it was an inclusive system, unfortunately few seem to appreciate what we have.... I personally think it was a deliberately done.... Up to the 70s the first external exam most students took was JSC..... To take JSCs, one had to take civics it was cumplusory.....it describes the systems, checks and balances in place....the separations of the institutions of government..it functions....laws, constitution......
Essentially cliched slogans replaced knowledge of the system,which is sophisticated and checks, separation of functionality....
I don't just blame politicians, I blame misunderstood rasta, Rodney and all strands of the leftist nationalism hokum..I recall many young saying they were not going to take exams as it was miseducation, capitalism and or imperialist government policy which esstentailly wanted to indoctrinate with a left bent sorry mobilise the people....
Today u hear the same ones with the cliche educayted on the street....
Funny Rodney and rasta both believes in education....
But their disciples both help subvert the system.....
But what does wahalla know???? I never took it either....I am miseducated....sell out warlock.....
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.