Originally posted by franksterr
black americans versus immigrants
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostI guess these folks are just making stuff up and spending money and investing time in exploring an issue that doesn't exist.
'We Don't Know Each Other': Film Explores Tension Between Africans & African Americans
http://kplu.org/post/we-dont-know-ea...HZd6A.facebook
natt seyinn sum afrikkans, caribbean ann afrikkan merikkans natt prejudice butt majaritee aff blakks natt prejudice gainst blakks
Hey as long as you don't play the everything is peachy-keen and wonderful this is a non-issue card, I am okay with that. I have no way of knowing what percentage of people feel that way. I do know what I observed at my Alma Mater and what current students (African, African American and Caribbean) have said. Trust me it is one are two people who behave this way.
Why? Wouldn't that make you a racist? Is that not a racist statement?yuh kno mii wood drop mii membarship ann bunn fiyah iff mii jined a blakk organization ann itt add member woo identeefii demselves as oyinbo
You are entitled to do or feel how ever you like, but if a white person made that statement, wouldn't you say it was racist?
Just trying to figure you out, Blu...Can you explain?
look pon naacp widd sterling. man widd histaree aff racism given membarship ann lifetime achievement cah imm paid sellouts inarder fe deflect racism. strangelee mii add more respect fe sterling dan dem sellout sOriginally posted by lonewolf View PostWhy? Wouldn't that make you a racist? Is that not a racist statement?
You are entitled to do or feel how ever you like, but if a white person made that statement, wouldn't you say it was racist?
Just trying to figure you out, Blu...Can you explain?
ann awl blakk organization dat advocate fe blakk peeps iss natt racist. a blakk person woo jine ann awl blakk organization dat advocated fe da upliftment aff blakk is natt racist. blakk peeps cumminn tiggithar widdout and xxcludinn oyinbo to upliff blakk peeps is natt racist itt bout blakk unity.
da reason y mii wood dropped mii membarship ann bunn fiyah pon a blakk organization iff itt ave memba woo identeefii demselves as oyinbo is because dat woo mean itt natt a blakk organization ann misusinn da wurd blakk fe fool blakks. a latt aff blakks woo serve oyinbo interests luv fe chatt blakk fe sellout blakks like naacp. thyme fe blakk peeps fe cawl out sum aff dem misleaders cah iff dem waan fe tart mixxed race ting den dem shood natt be chattinn blakk fe sellout blakks fe gitt oyinbo backinn.
“I regard the Klan, the Anglo-Saxon clubs and White American societies, as far as the Negro is concerned, as better friends of the race than all other groups of hypocritical whites put together.”
― Marcus Garvey
You may call me a Klansman if you will, but, potentially, every white man is a Klansman, as far as the Negro in competition with whites socially, economically and politically is concerned, and there is no use lying.
Marcus Garvey
juss seyinn mii respekk peeps woo ar honest ann upfront ann latt aff dem oyinbo woo jine blakk ting ar natt upfront juss like dem sellout blakks woo form blakk organizations dat pander to oyinbo. respect require honestee
da furst pan afrikkan congress mettinn was furst organized by wan blakk man woo was married to a oyinbo ooman. da addar organizer force imm to stepp aside cah itt send da wwrang message
That's fine and I get your point. I don't see anything wrong with that. Why is that any different than a white organization doing the same thing?...But, if whites do this and exclude blacks it's considered racism.ann awl blakk organization dat advocate fe blakk peeps iss natt racist. a blakk person woo jine ann awl blakk organization dat advocated fe da upliftment aff blakk is natt racist. blakk peeps cumminn tiggithar widdout and xxcludinn oyinbo to upliff blakk peeps is natt racist itt bout blakk unity.
da anwsar to yuh qwestian iss histaree cah blakk peeps huh ave oyinbo histaree aff racismOriginally posted by lonewolf View PostThat's fine and I get your point. I don't see anything wrong with that. Why is that any different than a white organization doing the same thing?...But, if whites do this and exclude blacks it's considered racism.
This is for RichD....insisting that individuals with low education and poor language skills were no longer being admitted to Canada. I said then who are all of these people I see working in fast food joints and in housekeeping at hotels.....
Seeit deh...
Thousands of low-paid jobs for temporary foreign workers in the fast-food, retail and hotel industries in Ontariowill be phased out under sweeping federal government reforms meant to pressure businesses to hire Canadians.Under changes to the Temporary Foreign Worker Program (TFWP) announced Friday, employers in those industries will no longer be allowed to apply to Ottawa to bring inlow-wage, low-skilled temporary employees from abroad if the jobless rate in their region is above 6 per cent. The unemployment rate in Ontario is 7.3 per cent.
The clampdown is only part of the Harper government’s wider shake-up of the TFWP meant to cut business reliance on the much-maligned program. Employment Minister Jason Kenney predicted, for instance, that when reforms are fully in place by 2016, temporary foreign workers in Ontario doing low-wage jobs will plummet to 1,369 from 4,419 today.
However, temporary foreign workers now in Canada on a work permit will be allowed to stay until the permit expires, the government said.
Responding to a firestorm of criticism over the TFWP in recent years, Kenney and Immigration Minister Chris Alexander acknowledged abuses of the program were driving down wages and leaving Canadian workers on the unemployment lines.
“The temporary foreign worker program must be a last and limited resort to address skills gaps,” Kenney told reporters, adding that misuse of the TFWP was unacceptably distorting regional labour markets and wages.
“Some employers have benefitted so much from the dependability and productivity of (foreign) workers coming into this program. They always tell me they come in early, they leave late, they ask for extra shifts, they never call in sick,” Kenney told reporters. This reliance “causes me to believe that sometimes they (the employers) don’t bother calling up the young Canadian who drops of their resumé and that really ticks me off.”
Labour unions and advocacy groups said they were shocked that the government is only now going to require employers to provide the number of Canadian job applicants they received and interviewed, and explain why those Canadians were not hired when they applied to bring in migrant workers.
“They are calling it a new improved labour market impact assessment (LMIA) and will start asking employers all these questions that we had assumed they’d been asking for decades,” said Naveen Mehta, general counsel for the United Food and Commercial Workers Canada. “At least, that’s the minimum level of rigors we’d expected.”
Other changes include:
The existing program will be split, with the employment department administering the temporary foreign worker program for all foreign entrants whose employer must obtain permission from Ottawa. Foreigners coming to Canada not specifically at the request of an employer — such as high-skilled individuals entering the country under NAFTA — will deal with the immigration department.
Employers with 10 or more employees will be allowed to have only 10 per cent of their workforce made up of low-wage temporary foreign workers. Within three years, this cap is expected to cut the use of low-wage temporary foreign employees in half.
The fee a business pays to bring in a temporary foreign worker will rise to $1,000 from $275.
The duration that low-paid temporary foreign workers can stay in Canada will be reduced, with the total time in this country expected to be capped at two years, down from four.
Employers seeking Ottawa’s permission to bring in foreign employees will be required to provide more information on why they are hiring foreigners. Included will be pledges not to lay off Canadians.
<bullet>Businesses seeking permission to bring in high-paid temporary foreign workers will have to demonstrate how they have a plan to train Canadians for the jobs.
Inspections will be increased to stop abuses of the program and fines for violations will raised. Anyone found guilty of employing a foreigner not qualified to be working in Canada can be fined up to $50,000 and imprisoned for two years. Anyone guilty of providing false information in an application to hire temporary foreign workers can be fined up to $100,000 and sentenced to up to five years in jail.
The government has exempted foreign live-in caregivers and foreigners working in basic agricultural jobs from most of the changes.
FYI, I have seen more food trucks and catering carts in downtown Toronto selling a range of hot food items. I need to walk with my camera. RichD, you had said only a limited number of items can be sold. Also, go to the corner of Yonge and Steeles and you will see NUFF Korean and other Asian food for sale on the street.
It doesn't pay to contradict Tropicana.
da anwsar to yuh qwestian iss histaree cah blakk peeps huh ave oyinbo histaree aff racism
History denotes past. The past has nothing to do with the present. Most people that are alive today are not responsible for past actions, and you are making your decision based on skin color. Sorry, but that is racism...I could understand your point if you belonged to an Jamaican organization and you objected because they allowed Hatians or Irish or Germans in a strictly Jamaican organization. That's an acceptable reason... Nope, you showing your true colors on this one, Blu.
But if you think it's acceptable to have organizations or clubs based on black skin color...white skinned people should be allowed to have same. Good for goose...good for gander. IMHO
Ironic...Indians have a club or organization based on skin color, Washington Redskins, but no American Indians belong to the club.
But that's another story.
I disagree with much of what you have stated here is why
The best predictor of future behavior is - past behavior......this is especially true when the behavior has been rewarded or seem to impact beneficially on the perpetrator.Originally posted by lonewolf View PostHistory denotes past. The past has nothing to do with the present.
They are not the cause but they do benefit from those actions and so have a responsibility to see them redressed properly.Most people that are alive today are not responsible for past actions,
It is not racist to based your decision on skin color alone - it is Racial.and you are making your decision based on skin color. Sorry, but that is racism...
True decisions based on skin color alone is sometimes wrong..... but in a situation where the wrong done was based on skin color the remedy may well have to be based on skin color.
We have Jamaicans of Irish parentage or family members who are IrishI could understand your point if you belonged to an Jamaican organization and you objected because they allowed Hatians or Irish or Germans in a strictly Jamaican organization. That's an acceptable reason... Nope, you showing your true colors on this one, Blu.
What makes a organization acceptable is usually deemed on whether or not they are promoting Racism .....as in Hate Speech.But if you think it's acceptable to have organizations or clubs based on black skin color...white skinned people should be allowed to have same. Good for goose...good for gander. IMHO
Ironic...Indians have a club or organization based on skin color, Washington Redskins, but no American Indians belong to the club.
We have had them for years and still in fact have them......Some skinheads and neo-nazi organizations to name a fewLast edited by franksterr; 06-21-2014, 12:37 PM.
so yuh tellinn mii yuh maddar ave nuttinn fe do yuh?Originally posted by lonewolf View PostHistory denotes past. The past has nothing to do with the present. Most people that are alive today are not responsible for past actions, and you are making your decision based on skin color. Sorry, but that is racism...I could understand your point if you belonged to an Jamaican organization and you objected because they allowed Hatians or Irish or Germans in a strictly Jamaican organization. That's an acceptable reason... Nope, you showing your true colors on this one, Blu.
But if you think it's acceptable to have organizations or clubs based on black skin color...white skinned people should be allowed to have same. Good for goose...good for gander. IMHO
freedom aff association mean itt acceptable fe organizations ann clubs fe based pon skin color. mii doan see a ting wrang widd segregation . mii see prablem widd peeps woo a gawn like intergration ann assimilation iss da onlee solution. mii see nuttinn wrang widd oyinbo onlee organization xxcept dem histaree aff racism
yuh raisinn important qwestian cah iff yuh saw da arginnal artikkle inn diss tredd itt chatt bout racism widdinn immigration policies ann oww oyinbo tryinn fe limit da number aff blakk immigrants by brainwashinn blakk merikkans
yuh meen yuh miss wen mii tell yuh mii god dawtah iss wan indigenous native. neva figgit oww affended ar faddar got wen mii asked imm iff imm was oyinbo
dOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostThis is for RichD....insisting that individuals with low education and poor language skills were no longer being admitted to Canada. I said then who are all of these people I see working in fast food joints and in housekeeping at hotels.....
Seeit deh...
FYI, I have seen more food trucks and catering carts in downtown Toronto selling a range of hot food items. I need to walk with my camera. RichD, you had said only a limited number of items can be sold. Also, go to the corner of Yonge and Steeles and you will see NUFF Korean and other Asian food for sale on the street.
It doesn't pay to contradict Tropicana. 
o you understand the difference between immigrants and the temporary foreign worker program?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Sweetie...when I see Jamaicans working at fast food joints, in restaurant and hotel kitchens and as housekeepers at hotels I don't inquire about their immigration status...do you? That would be rude. My point is YOU were trying to say that it is only educated people coming to Canada and I am telling you that there are still many uneducated people who are coming...some as temporary workers and others as landed immigrants.
This will likely change now not 10 years ago like you tried to mislead people into believe.
Not a problem, have at it.franksterr
I disagree with much of what you have stated here is why
What perpetrator? Skin color of past perpetrator does not mean future person of same skin color is perpetrator.The best predictor of future behavior is - past behavior......this is especially true when the behavior has been rewarded or seem to impact beneficially on the perpetrator.
Just as skin color of past victim does not make future person of same skin color victim. That's faulty logic.
Example: You were never a slave and I was never a slave owner...It's imaginary victim mentality.
But, blacks receive compensation through the discrimatory actions of affirmative action, and whites are the victims of discrimination because of this action. Two wrongs don't make a right.
I have not benefited from jack squat. I have a responsibility to myself and my family, no one else.They are not the cause but they do benefit from those actions and so have a responsibility to see them redressed properly.
How is remedy paid or given to you justice for blacks that were victims of slavery, but are dead and don't exist in this world? Slavery did not happen to you, but you take the liberty to be an imaginary victim because of your skin color and make whites imaginary perpetrator because of their skin color. It's more faulty logic.It is not racist to based your decision on skin color alone - it is Racial.
True decisions based on skin color alone is sometimes wrong..... but in a situation where the wrong done was based on skin color the remedy may well have to be based on skin color
Yes, thank you, I am very well aware of that in the 1600's that the Irish were slaves in Jamaica. Blacks weren't the only ones enslaved in Jamaica, whites were too...and there were 2000 Irish children stolen from their parents and taken to Jamaica and sold as slaves. Yep, more convienently forgotten history?We have Jamaicans of Irish parentage or family members who are Irish
So, based on skin color, how do the Irish get paid?
PS (You took that completely out of context. You did understand the point I was making?)
Acceptable or not acceptable does not stop them from existing. It's reality. You can't stop people from thinking, regardless of how ignorant their thought process may be.What makes a organization acceptable is usually deemed on whether or not they are promoting Racism .....as in Hate Speech.
We have had them for years and still in fact have them......Some skinheads and neo-nazi organizations to name a fewLast edited by lonewolf; 06-23-2014, 10:13 AM.

fi ketch black man.