has she tried going the community college route? 2 years there and then 2 years @ university.
has she done the SATs? i remember a couple years back that was a big thing in Jamaica... tutors advertising that they prepared students for SATs, GMAT etc.
eta : ok me doan drink the cawfee yet.. she might as well just guh do the GED
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I don't understand this since the primary and secondary school systems in JA are better from what I have heard. </div></div>
It depends on what school you attended.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs_Marie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">if u completed high school in Ja did u have to do GED when u got here to go to college.
I did'nt but just read wan email fram smaddy who upset cause dem tell her she have to do it </div></div>
how much CXC or GCE subject she have?
I never had to do a GED and I don't know of anyone who did.
She needs to look deeper into this.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs_Marie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">if u completed high school in Ja did u have to do GED when u got here to go to college.
I did'nt but just read wan email fram smaddy who upset cause dem tell her she have to do it </div></div>
well don't it all depend pan the state yuh live in, and whether you apply as international student or resident student ?
it really not dat simple as it might appear to be
I think only international applicants have some sort of "uniform" evaluation/procedure when it comes to international grades, but I could be wrong.
To get into a four-year college in the US (if you're coming from overseas), you need SAT scores since CXCs, etc, are not accepted. You can take the SAT in Jamaica.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So if you went to school in St. Bess, would you need to take the GED, regardless? </div></div>
If shi went to school in STE she nuh need go university except fi duh PHD....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To get into a four-year college in the US (if you're coming from overseas), you need SAT scores since CXCs, etc, are not accepted. You can take the SAT in Jamaica. </div></div>
everybody needs sat scores ..you need the cxc in addition to the sat scores
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body">To get into a four-year college in the US (if you're coming from overseas), you need SAT scores since CXCs, etc, are not accepted. You can take the SAT in Jamaica. </div></div>
everybody needs sat scores ..you need the cxc in addition to the sat scores </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.