Hilary for Secretary of State
Re: Hilary for Secretary of State
She can fit in about three or four slots:
Education, Health, Justice and SOS. Conflict of Interests questions might loom with Bill just as it was if he had chosen her as VEEP.
It would be great for a High Profile Job, even though Senator from New York is not bad.
yeah..but "they're" saying the senator role might be too tame fe har now..and that it would be a while before she achieved any kind of leadership role in the party
i'd go for it man..much more exciting
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yeah..but "they're" saying the senator role might be too tame fe har now..and that it would be a while before she achieved any kind of leadership role in the party
i'd go for it man..much more exciting </div></div>Yes the Senate is a big club with a pecking order, you basically have to wait till some old decrepit Senator die off or have to resign due to some scandal before you can move up on the bench. I think she is No3 right now, which might be 30 in Senate years before she can move to No1.
Like I said the problem is always Bill, he casts a long shadow based on his dealings. Not that they are illegal but there might be too many conflicts.
Not just that, have you all forgotten that "hard-working Americans, white Americans" comment by Hillary on May 7 or so?
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/honA7xcGKGs"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/honA7xcGKGs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queenb</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not just that, have you all forgotten that "hard-working Americans, white Americans" comment by Hillary on May 7 or so?</div></div>
They did kiss and make up and she campaigned hard for him.
He himself said he has fallen in love with the Team Of Rivals concept that Abe Lincoln used. He early on gave props to Doris Kearns Book of the same name written about Lincoln choices.
Bill Clinton made a great mistake not picking experience in his first go round, going for fresh faces in critical posts. He soon regretted it. Barack in his closing arguments compared the Clinton years to the Bush years and exhorted his audience to choose the Clinton years. Everyone remembered that even with a hostile Congress Bill Clinton made the most of his time to steer the country in the right direction.
Obviously he failed in his personal life and did not handle the Iraq problem well. Most of his appointees were never tainted in anyway so I expect Barack will look to the best and brightest among those.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Super_Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hilary can't run for prez fi di next 8 years so betta she go do dat yes
My only concern is the 60 seat majority dat the dems hoping to acquire in the senate...wid her pulling out who gwen replace her?</div></div>I am not sure the rules in NY but it is likely that the Governor can simply supply a warm body to finish her tour.
In the next Election is unlikely that the RePigs are going to able to mount any significant challenge to her Senate Seat from NY so basically the Democratic Party will keep it.
The one thing I fault Barack for his not aggressively helping say a Franken and a couple of others in their Senate races. The Democratic Majority in the Senate would have been a safe 60+ without Lie-Berman and they could have then safely given him the boot.
yes, if Senate a seat becomes vacant the gov does appoint someone to replace them; that's what will happen in Delaware with Biden.
i think she would be a great SoS. someone on one a them news shows made the point that it is a very high-profile position, traveling all over the world to negotiate with various world leaders, loads of global exposure, and that Hil's experience would boost Obama's international-relations base since he'll have to concentrate on putting out the economic fires here first before he can deal with the rest of the world. As POTUS's 'right hand person', she'd be in a position of importance, pretty much his 2nd in command, and their opinion was she'd be excellent for the job. i tend to agree.
A comment made on msnbc, (Olbermeyer) was that because of the Clinton popularity abroad, it may supplant the Obama presidency, forming a pseudo-presidency abroad which would erode Obama's influence and possibly derailing his chance to a second term. These comments were made by more than one political commentator.
Make up, smake up, I don't trust her. That comment of hers still lurks in my mind. All that lovey dovey was to keep her on the stage.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Super_Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hilary can't run for prez fi di next 8 years so betta she go do dat yes
My only concern is the 60 seat majority dat the dems hoping to acquire in the senate...wid her pulling out who gwen replace her?</div></div>I am not sure the rules in NY but it is likely that the Governor can simply supply a warm body to finish her tour.
In the next Election is unlikely that the RePigs are going to able to mount any significant challenge to her Senate Seat from NY so basically the Democratic Party will keep it.
<span style="font-weight: bold">The one thing I fault Barack for his not aggressively helping say a Franken and a couple of others in their Senate races. </span>The Democratic Majority in the Senate would have been a safe 60+ without Lie-Berman and they could have then safely given him the boot.
Actually, they did help Franken. Barack didn't make it all the way north to our neck of the woods, but Hillary, on behalf of Obama and the party, came twice in the last two weeks of the election. Hillary went first to a small town not far from the Canadian border which is a pro-union iron mining town, along with Franken. If you've seen the movie North Country, that's where they were. Then the last few days Hillary and Franken came to Duluth.
So, now we're on to the Franken re-count which is so important. Around 200 votes separate him and Coleman. Franken filed a lawsuit this week to try to get some absentee ballots counted that were deemed too late, or something to that effect. Anyway the re-count is starting this coming week and I imagine there will be a lot of press.
I don't live in Minnesota, I can just see it from here, sorta.
That must make me an expert noh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: queenb</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not just that, have you all forgotten that "hard-working Americans, white Americans" comment by Hillary on May 7 or so?
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/honA7xcGKGs"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/honA7xcGKGs" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object> </div></div>
<span style="color: #FF0000"> <span style="font-size: 20pt"> <span style="font-weight: bold"> YOU NAH SEE DIS YAH POST?</span> </span> </span>
I tend to agree with the analysts who seh she gwine nuff up harself in many ways. membah when bill did win it was "get 2 fi the price of one"
same ting here "get 2 presidents for the price of one"