Re: Officials at Sangster doing drug search/test on Traveler
the thing is, it is common assault. It bothered me so much I seriously considered never going back to JA but if I want to see my family, what are my options?
Funny thing is, one out of the 2 narco cops couldnt grasp why I was so upset about the whole thing because as he said, that is just what young black women travelling to JA needs to go thru. Get your head around that statement..... I was in my mid-thirtes at the time, so I asked when do I stop being a young black woman who gets profiled each time I travel here? I was none of the things the suspected but I am told I need to put up with it.
1. I was born in Britain but grew up in Canada and am a Canadian citizen
2. I was not between 18 to 30 yrs old.
3. I am educated
4. I have a good well paying job therefore not desperate enough to travel with sacs of drugs in my belly or in other body cavities.
5. I was not in love with a Jamaican national and therefore blind enough to do anything he asked me
6. And oh yes, I look neither black American or like a *real* yaardie
That is all of what the profiled me to be and then I had to discredit all of the above in order to leave and not be thrown in jail.
So yes, I hate that I get singled out but given the state of the world, what can ppl in general do other than not travel?
<span style="font-weight: bold">Geneva</span> - I know
I could have spit nails at the time but now I can chuckle a *little* bit about it because otherwise, a person just stays bitter forever.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">sound like yuh a fret
I travel to Jamaica in January. Your damn right I fret! I fret anytime some idiotic bureautic decision maker thinks they have the right to make me or anyone else PEE in a cup for no good reason except for "We fit the profile"....Don't you?.... I agree with Nyla. It's degrading and embarrasing to be stripped searched or to be told "I must PEE in a cup"
For the record, I'm not protesting just tourist being checked but, all people that are traveling whom merely fit "THE PROFILE"....Please tel me what this "PROFILE" is?
This does not bother you? or do you except such abuse? </div></div>
the thing is, it is common assault. It bothered me so much I seriously considered never going back to JA but if I want to see my family, what are my options?
Funny thing is, one out of the 2 narco cops couldnt grasp why I was so upset about the whole thing because as he said, that is just what young black women travelling to JA needs to go thru. Get your head around that statement..... I was in my mid-thirtes at the time, so I asked when do I stop being a young black woman who gets profiled each time I travel here? I was none of the things the suspected but I am told I need to put up with it.
1. I was born in Britain but grew up in Canada and am a Canadian citizen
2. I was not between 18 to 30 yrs old.
3. I am educated
4. I have a good well paying job therefore not desperate enough to travel with sacs of drugs in my belly or in other body cavities.
5. I was not in love with a Jamaican national and therefore blind enough to do anything he asked me

6. And oh yes, I look neither black American or like a *real* yaardie
That is all of what the profiled me to be and then I had to discredit all of the above in order to leave and not be thrown in jail.
So yes, I hate that I get singled out but given the state of the world, what can ppl in general do other than not travel?
<span style="font-weight: bold">Geneva</span> - I know
I could have spit nails at the time but now I can chuckle a *little* bit about it because otherwise, a person just stays bitter forever.<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: lonrwolf</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">sound like yuh a fret
</div></div>I travel to Jamaica in January. Your damn right I fret! I fret anytime some idiotic bureautic decision maker thinks they have the right to make me or anyone else PEE in a cup for no good reason except for "We fit the profile"....Don't you?.... I agree with Nyla. It's degrading and embarrasing to be stripped searched or to be told "I must PEE in a cup"
For the record, I'm not protesting just tourist being checked but, all people that are traveling whom merely fit "THE PROFILE"....Please tel me what this "PROFILE" is?
This does not bother you? or do you except such abuse? </div></div>
I ignored this to see if u would just spit it out. You're statement is dumb because who the hell said that black folks have a monopoly on feeling humilated. What you cant seem to get is that your "humiliation" can be a sporadic thing, as a black person it is common assault. Travel in my shoes and then you have something to say.
cum..mi hav wan lang sweet 12inch piece ah suga cane fi gi yuh
always offering me something to eat 
wid wanna mi Dwele neo soul CD
<span style="font-style: italic">hey baby..are you cold my lady..its bout 80 degrees and my AC's been actin shady..why you got all them clothes..covering up your body..you can lose them trust me you'll still be a super hottie..wont you be my lover..wont you be my lover baaaby </span>