Re: Is History important?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is important to understand that history does not repeat. There will never be another Great Depression. However, historical patterns do tend to make themselves evident in the progression of events.
Those who use history in order to obtain some form of validation may be ultimately disappointed in their efforts. Sure, they may obtain a better sense of who they may be but they have to understand they they are distinct from their past. They are their own person and not the hero's or villains of past events. They also may find it disappointing that others do not share in their enthusiasm regarding historical events.
Showing a complete stranger a picture of one of your famous ancestors and describing their feats and accomplishments may yield genuine interest but it may also yield a shrug of the shoulders and a "So What?"
again you miss the point;
a person whose history was never falsified can say 'so what'...but when others have falsified your history with malicious intent, then that history becomes extremely important...
the racists taught that black africa had no history or culture- that we were barely above the animals;
so therefore the history revealed from ethiopia & egypt- the cradles of civilization- becomes very important for the africans;
especially when world renown blockbuster movies like 'the ten commandments' portray egyptian glory as a white/european civilization...it is not not a crime to point out that that is false history...
why should we accept it any more than the europeans would accept ancient greece & rome being indegenous african civilizations. </div></div>It is usually those have much to loose, or otherwise resent the knowledge that blacks could be more than popular history have presented to be, usually down play the need for history.
Yet they spend all their energy putting up monuments to their history, in public squares.
It is like when thhey are winning they want to publicize the score, but when the game turn, they call you unsportmanly for celebrating the results.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is important to understand that history does not repeat. There will never be another Great Depression. However, historical patterns do tend to make themselves evident in the progression of events.
Those who use history in order to obtain some form of validation may be ultimately disappointed in their efforts. Sure, they may obtain a better sense of who they may be but they have to understand they they are distinct from their past. They are their own person and not the hero's or villains of past events. They also may find it disappointing that others do not share in their enthusiasm regarding historical events.
Showing a complete stranger a picture of one of your famous ancestors and describing their feats and accomplishments may yield genuine interest but it may also yield a shrug of the shoulders and a "So What?"
again you miss the point;
a person whose history was never falsified can say 'so what'...but when others have falsified your history with malicious intent, then that history becomes extremely important...
the racists taught that black africa had no history or culture- that we were barely above the animals;
so therefore the history revealed from ethiopia & egypt- the cradles of civilization- becomes very important for the africans;
especially when world renown blockbuster movies like 'the ten commandments' portray egyptian glory as a white/european civilization...it is not not a crime to point out that that is false history...
why should we accept it any more than the europeans would accept ancient greece & rome being indegenous african civilizations. </div></div>It is usually those have much to loose, or otherwise resent the knowledge that blacks could be more than popular history have presented to be, usually down play the need for history.
Yet they spend all their energy putting up monuments to their history, in public squares.
It is like when thhey are winning they want to publicize the score, but when the game turn, they call you unsportmanly for celebrating the results.

ah bet yuh dah pickney cum fram St Elizibet don't? 
inverse that remark