In your opinion and experience, where are the best places in Toronto to enjoy real authentic Jamaican food? You know, the places that don't turn down the heat or spice.
Best places for various Jamaican foods in Toronto?
Re: Best places for various Jamaican foods in Toronto?
Wong's on Bathurst Street, between Bloor and Dupont around 938 Bathurst Street. Anyway, that's where I go for my cow foot and white rice wid di buttabean in the cowfoot
honestly doah since di people dem haffi cater to the wider society dem can't really punish up di food wid too much pepper and dem ting dere. memba, is money demma look.
as sue mentioned, you will not find uber spicy food in the US or Canada, the shops open on a daily basis to make money, so the food is going to be modified to suit everyone.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've walked past Wong's but never gone in, so I'll have to give it a try. I want SPICY food! </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">For some reason I thought Wongs had closed. Back in the day they made a mean escoveitched fish. </div></div>
still open and newly renovated. one might even say it has *ambience*. dem still cook good.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm going to go look and see if it is still there. I'll report back... </div></div>
i just called the number, but it's "not in use". mi positive seh dem still open doah.
I went to Wong's to check, and it closed. I spoke with a man there and he said that it is not going to reopen, which is too bad, because that's one more closed Jamaican business on Bathurst.
Thank you to the poster who suggested Royal Caribbean on St. Clair. I headed there and tried the brown stew snapper and it was excellent (and spicy), and the woman working was very nice and sociable. I'll return to that one.
check this link
7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
Ivoree is a long time supporter of Albert's - I haven't been yet.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Albert's Real Jamaican Foods</span>
(416) 658-9445
542 St Clair Ave W
I've eaten quite well from a variety of places on Eglinton... especially this one...
<span style="font-weight: bold">Mainsha</span>
(416) 780-0752
1561 Eglinton Ave W
The best one I don't have an address for, but have often gone there late -late at night (upstairs in private apartment on Weston Road not too far from King Shines)... not a regular restaurant, but MissLady has the absolute BEST food possible - and excellent prices (she'll even sell you a beer or two if thirsty)