<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Who is the mother of those light skinned babies? </div></div>
I thought you were the Google Queen nuh?
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Marley is married to Orly Marley, she is a former vice president of William Morris Agency[4] and presently manages his career and his record label, Tuff Gong Worldwide. When not on the road, Ziggy divides his time between homes in Jamaica, California and the Bahamas.
Marley is father to five children, Daniel Marley (born July 12, 1989), Justice Marley (born December 9, 1991), Zuri Marley (born October 28, 1995), Judah Victoria Marley (born April 21, 2005) and Gideon Robert Nesta Marley (born January 5, 2007).</span>
(wiki)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
The book Catch a Fiyah said based on an interview that:
1. Norval Marley left Rita the morning after the marriage.
2. She never heard from him for years. Then he contacted her that a cousin was willing to look after the boy. Bob was taken to Kingston. The father took him not to a cousin but to some slum in West Kingston. Cedella was frantic. Eventually she tracked Bob down and brought him back to country.
3. Cedella heard that some White woman was living with Norval and calling herself Mrs. Marley. She took Norval to court and charged him with bigamy. Bob attended that hearing. On the stand he testified that Cedellah was his wife and that he had one son Robert.
That seems to have been the extent of Bob's contact with his father.
iff dat toree iss troo bob mzungu faddar wass wicked. mii wandar iff dat y dem sey bob ignored chattinn bout imm faddar
now mii a wandar iff dem force imm fii marry bob maddar
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
The book Catch a Fiyah said based on an interview that:
1. Norval Marley left Rita the morning after the marriage.
2. She never heard from him for years. Then he contacted her that a cousin was willing to look after the boy. Bob was taken to Kingston. The father took him not to a cousin but to some slum in West Kingston. Cedella was frantic. Eventually she tracked Bob down and brought him back to country.
3. Cedella heard that some White woman was living with Norval and calling herself Mrs. Marley. She took Norval to court and charged him with bigamy. Bob attended that hearing. On the stand he testified that Cedellah was his wife and that he had one son Robert.
That seems to have been the extent of Bob's contact with his father.
iff dat toree iss troo bob mzungu faddar wass wicked. mii wandar iff dat y dem sey bob ignored chattinn bout imm faddar
now mii a wandar iff dem force imm fii marry bob maddar </div></div>
i actually appreci-love the fact that bob never talked about his father...a little thing called class...
sort of like 'if yu nuh have nukkn good fi seh don't seh nukkn';
these people who go on the media & dis their parents (no matter how bad they were) are funny...they forget that if their parent didn't do the act they themselves would not be here...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
i actually appreci-love the fact that bob never talked about his father...a little thing called class...
these people who go on the media & dis their parents (no matter how bad they were) are funny...they forget that if their parent didn't do the act they themselves would not be here... </div></div>
iss itt bout class ar shame? iss itt reallee good fii burden de child bye teachinn dem fii keep qwiet? yu knoo keepinn qwiet ann bearinn yu burden iss wan slaveree ting dat disarm blakk peeps bye natt knoowinn dem histaree. iff yu kno yu histaree.... yu kno sum church preach bout shaminn de devil fii libarate de soul
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
these people who go on the media & dis their parents (no matter how bad they were) are funny...they forget that if their parent didn't do the act they themselves would not be here... </div></div>
iss itt bout class ar shame? iss itt reallee good fii burden de child bye teachinn dem fii keep qwiet? yu knoo keepinn qwiet ann bearinn yu burden iss wan slaveree ting dat disarm blakk peeps bye natt knoowinn dem histaree. iff yu kno yu histaree.... yu kno sum church preach bout shaminn de devil fii libarate de soul </div></div>
what good would it have done?
the man is dead & gone so why should he have been on a campaign of bitterness & revenge even against a dead man?
if you check marley interviews when asked of it he sometimes threw a word or two...like 'jah is my father' or something to that effect;
i prefer his way to that of man like shaq...who actually made a record dissing his father...millionaire crybaby;
bun dat
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
the man is dead & gone so why should he have been on a campaign of bitterness & revenge even against a dead man?
if you check marley interviews when asked of it he sometimes threw a word or two...like 'jah is my father' or something to that effect;
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
iss itt bout class ar shame? iss itt reallee good fii burden de child bye teachinn dem fii keep qwiet? yu knoo keepinn qwiet ann bearinn yu burden iss wan slaveree ting dat disarm blakk peeps bye natt knoowinn dem histaree. iff yu kno yu histaree.... yu kno sum church preach bout shaminn de devil fii libarate de soul </div></div>
i prefer his way to that of man like shaq...who actually made a record dissing his father...millionaire crybaby;
bun dat </div></div>
internalizinn dat pain ann hatred might ave cause cancer.
marley neva dealt widd imm faddar issues dat y imm recreate imm fadder behavior widd rita ann mzungu oomen. dat y peeps still a chat negativelee bout bob even rita? yu affii wandar iff bob mzungu overseer faddar sexuallee abuse cedella ann itt deer iss creedence to rita claim
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is aclose up of Bob's father. Man he realy wasn't very attractive. The Black genes really helped Bob out: </div></div>
bun dat </div></div>
internalizinn dat pain ann hatred might ave cause cancer.
marley neva dealt widd imm faddar issues dat y imm recreate imm fadder behavior widd rita ann mzungu oomen. dat y peeps still a chat negativelee bout bob even rita? yu affii wandar iff bob mzungu overseer faddar sexuallee abuse cedella ann itt deer iss creedence to rita claim
how you know wha give or don't give the man cancer?
and what right you have to be angrier at his father than he is?
you don't overstand rastafari...
even bob no longer with us in physical essence---
bob already did overstand that was a battle not worth fighting...him probably seh give thanks for the sperm of life and decided now that he had that life he would use it to do something positive on earth--- which i think he did, even if you have him up as a mzungu markting creation;
i hail him as a rasta prophet...why should rasta harbor bitterness toward the dead?
rasta deal wid life in this time, seen?!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a latt aff peeps pon yah luv fe chatt sey dat marley faddar wass mzungu. still likkle iss known bout marley mzungu faddar? soo let disscuss marley overseer faddar </div></div>
I remember reading an article in the British Daily Mail about 20 years ago: <span style="font-style: italic">How Bob Marley hid his White Father from the World</span>.
They were trying to imply that Marley got his genius from his white side.
As far as I know, Norval Sinclair Marley was a white Jamaican marine officer, captain and plantation overseer of English descent, who married Cedella Booker, when she was 18 years old. </div></div>
They NEVER married. She has said in interviews many times that she merely got pregnant for him and because of the times he never cared for her or Bob after that. He never once came to see Bob marley.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I don't have prejudice against meself. My father was a white and my mother was black. Them call me half-caste or whatever. Me don't dip on nobody's side. <span style="font-weight: bold">Me don't dip on the black man's side nor the white man's side. </span>Me dip on God's side, the one who create me and cause me to come from black and white.
In Cedella's Own words:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> He told me he loved me, and I believe that he did. He was always honest with me in that time. He told me he was the black sheep of his family, because the Marley’s did not like black people, but Norval liked them very much.” </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> For a long period of time, the love affair between the black teenager and aging army captain went unnoticed. However, when Cedella discovered that Norval unintentionally impregnated her in May of 1944, her and Norval were both afraid and proud, and Norval decided that the two should marry (Davis 10). After convincing Cedella’s father that the marriage was a good idea, the wedding of Captain Norval Marley and Cedella was set for June 9th, 1944 (Davis 11). However, a week or so before the wedding date, Norval informed Cedella that his chronic hernia had begun to aggravate him and as a result he would be changing jobs and moving to Kingston (Davis 11). </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A few months later, on a Tuesday evening, Cedella went into labor and at 2:30 Wednesday morning, February 6th, 1945, she gave birth to a baby boy without her husband present. Cedella didn’t name the child at his birth, but waited for the child’s father to return from Kingston to decide on a fitting name (Davis 12). Shortly after word had reached Norval that his wife had delivered their son, the Captain returned to St. Ann for a week and Norval decided that the baby boy should be called Nesta Robert Marley (Davis 12). The absence of Norval during his wife’s pregnancy and at the birth of his son, as well as the brief visit by the Captain to name the child were the beginnings of a pattern of fatherly behavior that would continue for years. Every month or so, when he could get away, Norval Marley came up to St. Ann to visit Cedella (Davis 13). However, as the years passed and pressure mounted from Norval’s family, most notably his mother, the relationship between the “white army captain and the black country girl cooled off” (Davis 14). As Marley became older, his father’s visits became increasingly less frequent until the man eventually completely abandoned Marley and his mother by severing all contact (Davis 16).</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">The psychological aftermath of being an abandoned child of a biracial marriage was something that heavily influenced reggae superstar Bob Marley for his entire career. Many of Marley’s most loyal fans and the vast majority of reggae enthusiasts are unaware that he was, indeed, born to a white father, Captain Norval Marely, and a black mother, Cedella Booker. Bob Marley grew up angry with his father who he felt had mistreated him and his mother. Marley was also partially ashamed of his white heritage. This childhood mentality of resentment and embarrassment sculpted Marley’s youth and eventually influenced the ideals and work of his musical genius for his entire career. The sentiment of abandonment and the lack of a father figure forced Bob Marley to look to other means, like the ideals of Rastafarianism, for direction, comfort, and a sense of belonging. The strong allegiance to black culture that resulted from the absence of his white father also partially attributed to Marley’s unwaveringly sense of Pan-Africanism. The imperfections and almost total absence of Bob Marley’s Caucasian father, Captain Norval Marley, had a profound psychological influence on the great reggae icon.</span></div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The effects of racial issues on human nature and thought are highly debated and viewed quite sensitively by many. Often, people even find their feelings and observations difficult to discuss with regard to the subject matter. With this in mind, it needs to be stated that Bob Marley was not a bigot in any way. In reality, Marley was a “missionary for a form of personal and collective identity he called “Rasta” a word that both signified a history of racial oppression, and pointed to a definition of community beyond the language of race” (Stephens 149). It should also be stated that Marley was a member of the early movement of Rastas who were rooted in Garvey’s Black Nationalism, and in an ancient tradition of “Africanized” Christianity known as Ethiopianism (Stephens 149). Early Rastas adopted the ideals of Kenyan anti-colonial rebels, their call to action being: “Death to the white oppressor” (Stephens 149). However, by 1960 this mantra had evolved to “death to black and white oppressors,” but a certain binary racialism had persisted in Rastafarian thought (Stephens 149). </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is aclose up of Bob's father. Man he realy wasn't very attractive. The Black genes really helped Bob out: </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is aclose up of Bob's father. Man he realy wasn't very attractive. The Black genes really helped Bob out: </div></div>
His mother was no prize either </div></div>
true. bob won the lottery looks wize </div></div>
but he does resemble his father...the eyes nose and mouth scream norval
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.