Whenever I visit the UK and Europe, my impression is that the societies are much more tolerant than North America. As we say in Jamaica:
<span style="font-weight: bold"> "Come see me and come live wid me a 2 different ting".</span>

Some of the comments in my thread about Black men being sent to jail due to lies were suprising. Seems that there have been similar incidents in Europe. I have also come across and posted articles about fans and coaches booing and hurling racial insults at Black soccer players. The fact that there are home grown terroists in some of these countries who were born and raised there, is quite telling. Every now and then you hear about Muslims demonstrating because of some racist policy re: hajibs or racist cartoons in newspapers. I guess it's similar to the monkey cartoon about Obama....now THAT was horrible
As I said, I am quite surprised. I would have to think to figure out where I get the impression that the societies are more tolerant:
- Josephine Baker moved to Paris WAY back as they found France to be more racially tolerant
- I see FAR more interracial couple in the UK and Europe. I see lots of White men with Black women and they aren't the Beyonce or Halle Berry type. These are dark skinned women with West African features and kinky hair.
- There seem to be far more Black runway models in Europe
- The soccer teams seem to be well integrated
So wha' mek. Am I guilty of just looking at things on the surface and not probing deeper.
Let's discuss the real deal concerning race relations in Europe and compare what is happening to race relations dynamics in North America. I don't just want to focus on how Blacks are treated but also include minorities such as gypsies, Arabs, and Muslims are treated. It seems like there are a lot of abuses.
Sukuna? Neutral? and others who live or who have lived in the UK or Europe. I am all ears.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> "Come see me and come live wid me a 2 different ting".</span>

Some of the comments in my thread about Black men being sent to jail due to lies were suprising. Seems that there have been similar incidents in Europe. I have also come across and posted articles about fans and coaches booing and hurling racial insults at Black soccer players. The fact that there are home grown terroists in some of these countries who were born and raised there, is quite telling. Every now and then you hear about Muslims demonstrating because of some racist policy re: hajibs or racist cartoons in newspapers. I guess it's similar to the monkey cartoon about Obama....now THAT was horrible
As I said, I am quite surprised. I would have to think to figure out where I get the impression that the societies are more tolerant:
- Josephine Baker moved to Paris WAY back as they found France to be more racially tolerant
- I see FAR more interracial couple in the UK and Europe. I see lots of White men with Black women and they aren't the Beyonce or Halle Berry type. These are dark skinned women with West African features and kinky hair.
- There seem to be far more Black runway models in Europe
- The soccer teams seem to be well integrated
So wha' mek. Am I guilty of just looking at things on the surface and not probing deeper.
Let's discuss the real deal concerning race relations in Europe and compare what is happening to race relations dynamics in North America. I don't just want to focus on how Blacks are treated but also include minorities such as gypsies, Arabs, and Muslims are treated. It seems like there are a lot of abuses.
Sukuna? Neutral? and others who live or who have lived in the UK or Europe. I am all ears.