@ official HOS. yuh know when i think of yard, i dont remember that she is the HOS unless smaddy bring it up. never thought of it till yuh did bring it up the odda time. mi sure dem soon leggo offa it
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
should some be re-named to honor more indegenous jamaican peoples or names or locations;
in a way it could be said they represent the legacy of the colonizers/enslavers...
or is it merely a frivolous issue not worth entertaining </div></div>
When you go to St. Catherine what do you think about? </div></div>
i think she was some british queen or wife of a king </div></div>
You don't really know, but that is not my question. I wanted to get your thoughts when and if you took a trip to one of these Parishes.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what name changes do you have in mind? </div></div>
nanny, garvey, miss lou, marley fii tart </div></div>
so where yuh callin nanny and where yuh callin miss lou?
and what criteria yuh using to choose who get parish name after dem? </div></div>
we honor queens elizabeth & katherine but not our very own nanny...(shakemihead)
QUOTE:
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-weight: bold">St. Catherine, formed in 1867, was named after Charles II's Queen, Katherine,</span> and it was once spelled as such. Charles II was king when the parish was formed. St. Mary, may have been named after the Spanish port Santa Maria, although Modyford's daughter was called Mary and when St. Mary was first formed, it was next to the parish of St. George which was named after George Nedham, Mary's husband. Clarendon was named after Cromwell, the Lord Chancellor and St. Ann was named after Ann Hyde, wife of James II. In 1814 Manchester was formed from the parishes of Clarendon, Vere and St. Elizabeth. It was named after the Duke of Manchester who was governor of Jamaica when it was formed.
The parish of St. Andrew, formed in 1867, was originally called Liguanea after the Liguanea Plain in which it lies. Since most of the other 13 parishes were named after governors of Jamaica, their wives, or English kings, it is possible that St. Andrew derived its name similarly. St. Thomas, for example, may have been named after Thomas, Lord Windsor, Governor of Jamaica in 1662. Portland was named after the Duke of Portland, Governor in 1723, the year of the parish's formation. Kingston was once called Beeston after Sir William Beeston who served as Lt.-Governor of the island from 1693-1700. It is not known how the parish received the name Kingston although a letter from Port Royal dated July 3, 1693 referred to it being known by some as "Kingston" and others as "killcown". Kingston was made a parish in 1713. </span>
they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
should some be re-named to honor more indegenous jamaican peoples or names or locations;
in a way it could be said they represent the legacy of the colonizers/enslavers...
i think she was some british queen or wife of a king </div></div>
You don't really know, but that is not my question. I wanted to get your thoughts when and if you took a trip to one of these Parishes.
bossman i've been to every parish in jamaica and have lived in st catherine
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
That's a good point.
India has done something similar over the past decade. Victoria train terminus in Bombay (sorry - Mumbai) is now named after an ancient Hindu ruler. India's main cities have reverted back to their pre-colonial names.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Looking up old girlfriends and hoping to score with them
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
mostly the sea...and definitely not charles the 2nd 's queen katherine for whom it was supposedly named
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">bossman i've been to every parish in jamaica and have lived in st catherine </div></div>
Actually I am not a boss man but that is not answering the question at all.
You proposed a change and you gave your reasons, I am simply trying to find out what you feel when you go to a Parish Called St. Anne. You seem to be in a very good position to answer having visited every Parish and lived in the first one I mentioned.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">bossman i've been to every parish in jamaica and have lived in st catherine </div></div>
You proposed a change and you gave your reasons, I am simply trying to find out what you feel when you go to a Parish Called St. Anne. You seem to be in a very good position to answer having visited every Parish and lived in the first one I mentioned. </div></div>
aaah;
'from st ann it comes to you
the best you ever drew
so why should we run and hide
from the red seam, the blue seam.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
That's a good point.
India has done something similar over the past decade. Victoria train terminus in Bombay (sorry - Mumbai) is now named after an ancient Hindu ruler. India's main cities have reverted back to their pre-colonial names.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hey, haven't we discussed this topic before</span>? </div></div>
i don't remember it...but i might have been the culprit
'from st ann it comes to you
the best you ever drew
so why should we run and hide
from the red seam, the blue seam..... </div></div>
That seems pleasant enough why would you want to mess with it?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">bossman i've been to every parish in jamaica and have lived in st catherine </div></div>
You proposed a change and you gave your reasons, I am simply trying to find out what you feel when you go to a Parish Called St. Anne. You seem to be in a very good position to answer having visited every Parish and lived in the first one I mentioned. </div></div>
but on a serious note i think st ann is the birthplace of garvey & marley
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">they are mostly names of old colonial governors & rulers, kings, queens, etc.
That's a good point.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hey, haven't we discussed this topic before</span>? </div></div>
i don't remember it...but i might have been the culprit </div></div>
I remember suggesting changing King Street to King Tubby Street.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">bossman i've been to every parish in jamaica and have lived in st catherine </div></div>
but on a serious note i think st ann is the birthplace of garvey & marley
what about 'st. prophets' </div></div>You left out <span style="font-weight: bold">Spear</span>!
THE Marley brothers will join top international entertainers, including Akon, Gilberto Gil and Ladysmith Black Mombazo when they perform at a concert today, the International Day of Remembrance....
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.