Re: must see documentry bout yard
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KD_09</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KD_09</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Good documentary. But as always the question is what to do about it. The answer is nothing. Because no one wants to take the necessary steps to fix the inherent problems. While the police do kill many in cold blood, the police are still not the major killers. Now we can cuss and talk about job creation and where was the money for this spent and all sort of things that do have some validity, or we can realise that life is not perfect and we have to do more. The biggest problem relating to crime is the ghetto itself.
Being poor does not make you a criminal. But living in the ghetto literally can. Before anyone jumps down my back please google population density and social pathology. Having large numbers of people or animals in close quarters breeds crime and deviance. The only logical solution is to try to clear out the ghettos and get people back into the country. Farm life is not grand but it is an honest living, you will have food to eat, and your children can go to school free now and try to get ahead, and it will break up the gangs. </div></div>
Pity the archives didn't archive postings from the Politrix section...many suggestions to fix this have been hashed and rehashed..
who is going to clear out the "ghettos?" It has been suggested that the "garrisons" be torn down and scrapped...but that was about it.
Who is going to go "back" to the country when they were born a town?
For your information "farm life" is very grand...for you have to be rich to live on a farm...if is di real farm yuh talking about.
What's this about children going to school "free"?
fyi agen there are gangs in the country areas...i won't name them, but they are there; right there.
What with this population density? New York City has a population of over 8 million on a tiny island...mi noh know di size...google it..where is more densely populated than that? Does this density create criminals in NYC? Something has to go with the density like lack of education, no jobs, no good role models, Why are you using a study that incorporates rodents? Why? I don't get it...are slum dwellers equivalent to rats?
Your comment reminds me of Sutherland's theory of differential association; where if one lives among criminals, sooner or later one might be inclined to adopt their modus operandi..if they mingle close enough.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Criminal behavior is learnable and learned in interaction with other deviant persons. Through this association, they learn not only techniques of certain crimes, but also specific rationale, motives and so on. These associations vary in frequency, duration, etc. Differential association theory explains why any individual forwards toward deviant behavior. His assertion is most useful when explaining peer influences among deviant youths or special mechanism of becoming certain criminal.</span>
With all that being said, anyone with a drop of sense, could conclude that this is the same way the po-LICE in kwestian regards these unfortunate souls who happen to be poor and end up in the slums [*I* abhor the word "ghetto"] where they are automatically perceived as criminals and thugs, thugs with guns and ammo...where their life is not worth a grain of peppah seed; and can be eliminated without fear of any retribution or recompense....simply because they are slum dwellers...nutt'n cyaan goh soh in a so-called Independent <span style="font-weight: bold"> predominantly black nation</span>...where farrin journalists are di wans giving the scoop.
As someone else said, they dare not go uptown and do this kind of sheggery...although mi did hear that the po-lice did target wan high profile man's son, hantil they heard who his father IS.
As far as I can see, and from looking at the piece, there is a lot of work to be done especially in the area of better training the police how to interact with their fellow citizens...btw, I do agree with you that the govt could provide better and adequate housing for these *poorer* people as well..
That is the crux of the matter. Everyone born in town wants to stay in town but sometimes people have to do what is best for themselves and society, not just want they feel to do. And who doesn't want to has to be made to.
Who should do it? A project like that must have bipartisan support, which is the real reason it will never happen for now. I am not under any delusions that this is going to happen. I merely said it is what we need most right now.
Let me also state I don't mean we should kick people out, adequate provisions would have to be made. And yes there are gangs in the country but not to the same degree or danger level as town. Nothing is perfect, but better is better.
Anyway, as it relates to population density, you're comparing the wrong things. New york is more than square miles on the ground, it also extends upwards. The average person in new york has more personal space housing wise than the average person in the slums. So what you needed to compare was how many persons are sleeping in what size room. To get technical, the issue is "crowding" rather than mere density.
Also multiple studies have been done. Not just one study which included non-human animals. And humans are animals and whether or not you realise it we still correlate very very closely with many species. Not just in behavior, but in genes as well which is why we can test medicines on them to know if they will work on us.
The gist of the studies is NOT that interaction with criminals breeds criminals, but that the stress of the confined environments creates the pathology. One of the ways this is manifested can be in criminal acts. (Arguably the rise in homosexuality is also another result.)
There is no point in me looking like a smart [censored] and reeling off journal papers you wouldn't likely have access to. But could check SSRN as for some free ones if they have any.
http://www.scielosp.org/scielo.php?scrip...=en&nrm=iso
You can also check that link for the basics. </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 20pt">YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN !!!</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KD_09</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KD_09</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Good documentary. But as always the question is what to do about it. The answer is nothing. Because no one wants to take the necessary steps to fix the inherent problems. While the police do kill many in cold blood, the police are still not the major killers. Now we can cuss and talk about job creation and where was the money for this spent and all sort of things that do have some validity, or we can realise that life is not perfect and we have to do more. The biggest problem relating to crime is the ghetto itself.
Being poor does not make you a criminal. But living in the ghetto literally can. Before anyone jumps down my back please google population density and social pathology. Having large numbers of people or animals in close quarters breeds crime and deviance. The only logical solution is to try to clear out the ghettos and get people back into the country. Farm life is not grand but it is an honest living, you will have food to eat, and your children can go to school free now and try to get ahead, and it will break up the gangs. </div></div>
Pity the archives didn't archive postings from the Politrix section...many suggestions to fix this have been hashed and rehashed..
who is going to clear out the "ghettos?" It has been suggested that the "garrisons" be torn down and scrapped...but that was about it.
Who is going to go "back" to the country when they were born a town?
For your information "farm life" is very grand...for you have to be rich to live on a farm...if is di real farm yuh talking about.
What's this about children going to school "free"?
fyi agen there are gangs in the country areas...i won't name them, but they are there; right there.
What with this population density? New York City has a population of over 8 million on a tiny island...mi noh know di size...google it..where is more densely populated than that? Does this density create criminals in NYC? Something has to go with the density like lack of education, no jobs, no good role models, Why are you using a study that incorporates rodents? Why? I don't get it...are slum dwellers equivalent to rats?
Your comment reminds me of Sutherland's theory of differential association; where if one lives among criminals, sooner or later one might be inclined to adopt their modus operandi..if they mingle close enough.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Criminal behavior is learnable and learned in interaction with other deviant persons. Through this association, they learn not only techniques of certain crimes, but also specific rationale, motives and so on. These associations vary in frequency, duration, etc. Differential association theory explains why any individual forwards toward deviant behavior. His assertion is most useful when explaining peer influences among deviant youths or special mechanism of becoming certain criminal.</span>
With all that being said, anyone with a drop of sense, could conclude that this is the same way the po-LICE in kwestian regards these unfortunate souls who happen to be poor and end up in the slums [*I* abhor the word "ghetto"] where they are automatically perceived as criminals and thugs, thugs with guns and ammo...where their life is not worth a grain of peppah seed; and can be eliminated without fear of any retribution or recompense....simply because they are slum dwellers...nutt'n cyaan goh soh in a so-called Independent <span style="font-weight: bold"> predominantly black nation</span>...where farrin journalists are di wans giving the scoop.
As someone else said, they dare not go uptown and do this kind of sheggery...although mi did hear that the po-lice did target wan high profile man's son, hantil they heard who his father IS.
As far as I can see, and from looking at the piece, there is a lot of work to be done especially in the area of better training the police how to interact with their fellow citizens...btw, I do agree with you that the govt could provide better and adequate housing for these *poorer* people as well..
That is the crux of the matter. Everyone born in town wants to stay in town but sometimes people have to do what is best for themselves and society, not just want they feel to do. And who doesn't want to has to be made to.
Who should do it? A project like that must have bipartisan support, which is the real reason it will never happen for now. I am not under any delusions that this is going to happen. I merely said it is what we need most right now.
Let me also state I don't mean we should kick people out, adequate provisions would have to be made. And yes there are gangs in the country but not to the same degree or danger level as town. Nothing is perfect, but better is better.
Anyway, as it relates to population density, you're comparing the wrong things. New york is more than square miles on the ground, it also extends upwards. The average person in new york has more personal space housing wise than the average person in the slums. So what you needed to compare was how many persons are sleeping in what size room. To get technical, the issue is "crowding" rather than mere density.
Also multiple studies have been done. Not just one study which included non-human animals. And humans are animals and whether or not you realise it we still correlate very very closely with many species. Not just in behavior, but in genes as well which is why we can test medicines on them to know if they will work on us.
The gist of the studies is NOT that interaction with criminals breeds criminals, but that the stress of the confined environments creates the pathology. One of the ways this is manifested can be in criminal acts. (Arguably the rise in homosexuality is also another result.)
There is no point in me looking like a smart [censored] and reeling off journal papers you wouldn't likely have access to. But could check SSRN as for some free ones if they have any.
http://www.scielosp.org/scielo.php?scrip...=en&nrm=iso
You can also check that link for the basics. </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 20pt">YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN !!!</span>
how the song guh