Video: Mom Forcefully Stops Son From Rioting In Baltimore #baltimore
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.comTags: None
She has gone onto TV and she has publicly identified him as taking part in a action against the police....
I was thinking on this for a moment and there is a possibility....
The justice system can prosecute him and she will have to be the main witness against him... They will be able to back track him and see if he threw one stone... and then it is a slam dunk procecution....It can be a charge of riot.... not a disturbance and i expect the justice system to do that!
That is definition of stupidity!
First do no harm, she has potentially done him as much harm as the jusctive system can do to him....
Toya Graham spotted her 16-year-old son in a crowd of teens vandalizing and looting during the Baltimore riots Monday. Cameras captured the moment she confronted and struck the boy, and the video went viral. Graham, a single mother of six, joins "CBS This Morning" exclusively to talk about what happened after the video where she showed tough love for her son.Last edited by Wahalla; 04-30-2015, 05:15 AM.
Are you serious?Originally posted by Wahalla View PostI thought the mother has no respect for her child nor for his manhood.. Had he boxed her down she would have deserved it.
She already tried to speak to him at home and he did not listen.
She did what she had to do.
She spoke forcefully to his manhood in a language that he understood.
He was about to engage in an act of violent protest, she prevented him from further harm.Originally posted by Wahalla View PostShe has gone onto TV and she has publicly identified him as taking part in a action against the police....
I was thinking on this for a moment and there is a possibility....
I had an interesting conversation today with some friends about the clip. I had mentioned that she was doing anything necessary to protect him. One friend who is an expert on juvenile issues said this a cycle she has seen before. She mentioned that the lack of respect shown by mothers to juvenile sons may eventually result in them not respecting women as an adult male. Another mentioned this type of display is why black men are not respects. A very spirited discussion and varied view point.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
I agree with this (and low-key suspect it leads to many black men dating and marrying non-black women). "Our" style of child-rearing with liberal doses of corporal punishment is too focused on punishing bad behaviour and not enough on rewarding good behaviour.Originally posted by Xavier View PostI had an interesting conversation today with some friends about the clip. I had mentioned that she was doing anything necessary to protect him. One friend who is an expert on juvenile issues said this a cycle she has seen before. She mentioned that the lack of respect shown by mothers to juvenile sons may eventually result in them not respecting women as an adult male. Another mentioned this type of display is why black men are not respects. A very spirited discussion and varied view point.
i applaud the mother....parents need to step up n show their children just how involved they r in their lives....that is a mother...she saw thru his masked face, the hoodie drawn down, the all neutral black garb BUT SHE KNEW HER CHILD...and she went for him....as to humiliating him in public, armed as he was with a rock he was already humiliating himself....after all they were burning their own ,sub-standard n sub-serviced neightbouthood...so what was that achieving...marching in protest is one thing, arming urself with a rock is a whole other , not to mention the measures he went to to disguise himself...if u that invested u don't have to disguise..u willing fi go jail if it is deemed an illegal demonstration..but wat was going on n what she saw had more to do with dangerous activity n she went for her child....BRAVO..she didn't call him up and tell him to mek sure him get a big screen as i know some parents do, she went for HER CHILD N TOLD HIM IN STRONG TERMS he was not doing right by HIMSELF....B R A V O....
I see it that way too!Originally posted by evanovitch View Posti applaud the mother....parents need to step up n show their children just how involved they r in their lives....that is a mother...she saw thru his masked face, the hoodie drawn down, the all neutral black garb BUT SHE KNEW HER CHILD...and she went for him....as to humiliating him in public, armed as he was with a rock he was already humiliating himself....after all they were burning their own ,sub-standard n sub-serviced neightbouthood...so what was that achieving...marching in protest is one thing, arming urself with a rock is a whole other , not to mention the measures he went to to disguise himself...if u that invested u don't have to disguise..u willing fi go jail if it is deemed an illegal demonstration..but wat was going on n what she saw had more to do with dangerous activity n she went for her child....BRAVO..she didn't call him up and tell him to mek sure him get a big screen as i know some parents do, she went for HER CHILD N TOLD HIM IN STRONG TERMS he was not doing right by HIMSELF....B R A V O....
some of these teenage boys not easy. If there was a dad in the household, my guess is that if he caught his son throwing rocks at the police, he wouldn't stop to ask the boy about his feelings, but would react the same way if not more forcefully. Mom stepping up because there's nobody else to do it. Mothers would much prefer to be the soft, nurturing presence in their children's lives, but sometimes you gotta do what u gotta do.Originally posted by Xavier View PostI had an interesting conversation today with some friends about the clip. I had mentioned that she was doing anything necessary to protect him. One friend who is an expert on juvenile issues said this a cycle she has seen before. She mentioned that the lack of respect shown by mothers to juvenile sons may eventually result in them not respecting women as an adult male. Another mentioned this type of display is why black men are not respects. A very spirited discussion and varied view point.
*look fi slippas*