In your opinion, was the assassination of Osbourne Ruddock aka King Tubby, politically motivated?
Tuff Gong
Re: Tuff Gong
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">good question; i don't know the answer myself & perhaps TG has some insight;
but my gut feeling is that it was not political...
i always heard it was a money ting...but who knows?
'gunshot nuh respect nuh notch' </div></div>
Remember some of those Versions by King Tubby & The Aggravators had names such as <span style="font-style: italic">Straight to the Capitalist Head'</span>, during the height of the mid-to-late seventies troubles.
I'm not saying that's why I think the murder was political - I don't know; just asking.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">good question; i don't know the answer myself & perhaps TG has some insight;
Remember some of those Versions by King Tubby & The Aggravators had names such as <span style="font-style: italic">Straight to the Capitalist Head'</span>, during the height of the mid-to-late seventies troubles.
I'm not saying that's why I think the murder was political - I don't know; just asking. </div></div>
yea and he was killed in the mid or late 80's i think, which is why i doubt the connection...but u never know;
bob marley was targeted by most likeley political goons when he was shot, so definitely a possibility
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">good question; i don't know the answer myself & perhaps TG has some insight;
I'm not saying that's why I think the murder was political - I don't know; just asking. </div></div>
yea and he was killed in the mid or late 80's i think, which is why i doubt the connection...but u never know;
bob marley was targeted by most likeley political goons when he was shot, so definitely a possibility </div></div>the stories I heard was the Tubby killing, Tosh incident, marley shooting had the same root cause.. Contractual dispute.. verbal contracts not honoured as per the perceptions.. but what do I know...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In your opinion, was the assassination of Osbourne Ruddock aka King Tubby, politically motivated? </div></div>No!
But the destruction of the Sound System was!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">....the stories I heard was the Tubby killing, Tosh incident, marley shooting had the same root cause.. Contractual dispute.. verbal contracts not honoured as per the perceptions.. but what do I know... </div></div>
Basically domestic issues.
Bob and certain man and man kick off but it was in fact from the other side of the political divide, so we can say yes politics was involved because maybe if politics was not involved they might have just beat him up and not shot him.
Peter Tosh had his roadie take a gun charge for him then refused to pay the guy all the money.... contract dispute=death in Jamaica.
King Tubby was killed by a relative in a JLP enclave, where it was impossible for any PNP to enter with a gun, the guy wanted even more money from Tubby and accused him of being mean...being mean in Jamaica=been mean (in other words dead).
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Peter Tosh had his roadie take a gun charge for him then refused to pay the guy all the money.... contract dispute=death in Jamaica.
I was youngster then, but I remember the report that the radio DJ "Free I" was at the house at the time and was shot as well, or do I remember wrong?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I was youngster then, but I remember the report that the radio DJ "Free I" was at the house at the time and was shot as well, or do I remember wrong? </div></div>You are right!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Dennis Lobban was the man convicted..he had recently been released after serving time </div></div>
Yes that is him...he used to hang out down the street from us!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">King Tubby was killed by a relative in a JLP enclave, where it was impossible for any PNP to enter with a gun, the guy wanted even more money from Tubby and accused him of being mean...being mean in Jamaica=been mean (in other words dead).
A RELATIVE took his gun and gold chains?