anyone else wondering if they'll get this garbage issue fixed for Caribana?
or since its a "likkle carribean ting" the authorities will allow this stike to affect the festival?
I heard on the news here that it is causing them to have to relocate some of the events to do with the Caribana.
Also based on the news we get here in Alberta, I don't get the impression that they (Toronto city hall peeps) view the Caribana as a "likkle carib. ting" I more get the feeling that they view it as a major cash cow for TO tourist industry.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anyone else wondering if they'll get this garbage issue fixed for Caribana?
or since its a "likkle carribean ting" the authorities will allow this stike to affect the festival?
</div></div> heard that if the strike not resolved they will only have to portion of the parade within exhibition place.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I heard on the news here that it is causing them to have to relocate some of the events to do with the Caribana.
Also based on the news we get here in Alberta, I don't get the impression that they (Toronto city hall peeps) view the Caribana as a "likkle carib. ting" I more get the feeling that they view it as a major cash cow for TO tourist industry. </div></div>
yeah -
The Gay Pride thing they view as a cash cow,.. (dunno why) the Caribana people they give nothing but angst and the media here tends only to cover the events where someone gets shot...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Gay Pride thing they view as a cash cow,.. (dunno why) the Caribana people they give nothing but angst and the media here tends only to cover the events where someone gets shot... </div></div>
i disagree. the gay parade people cleaned up after themselves. canada day was actually cancelled because of the garbage strike. and that's AFTER the gay parade. go figure. as Tanya said, they did move the opening of the caribana to dundas square from city hall. but i walk through city hall every day and it's full of strikers, shouting "hey hey, ho ho, mayor miller's got to go" <--- i really wish they'd come up with another chant.
anyway, caribina isn't seen as no "little caribbean thing". that's disingenuous to say. it's not necessarily publicized for violence either. years ago a nurse got shot through no doing of her own. not her fault and it WAS newsworthy because some idiot choosed to go and fire into a crowd of people. shrug.
anyway, the caribana people should organize like the gay pride people and have people clean up the garbage themselves. heck there's even a garbage temp. dump right at sunnyside ---> so it's not a long way to go on the lakeshore.
i usually go for a ride on the lakeshore (looking for money and lost wallets) the day after the parade and the garbage strewn all over is just astonishing. i really hope the organizers of the event do something to clean it up instead of wringing their hands. now, THAT would be media shark food "look the black people are whining again".
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anyone else wondering if they'll get this garbage issue fixed for Caribana?
when "we" have festivals and parades (Calgarians) there are volunteers who clean up the garbage during and after. The only thing the city workers do is drive the street cleaner truck thing to wash off the horse poo.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.