Re: A wa mek Jamaica teif the merican motto????
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The US motto is "E Plubus Unum" Translated in aiaenglish, "out of may one".
The words in dod we trust was added to US coins as a religious setiment, not to replace the original US motto. </div></div>
With respect, sir, you have your facts mixed up. The secular "E Pluribus Unum" was the <span style="font-style: italic">de facto</span> motto, but never the official motto since it was never codified into law. In 1956, however, by an Act of Congress, "In God We Trust" became the official motto of the United States, and thus
CODIFIED. "In God We Trust" does owe its ascendancy to the national motto due to religious fervor.
Still, I prefer the secular "out of many, one."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The US motto is "E Plubus Unum" Translated in aiaenglish, "out of may one".
The words in dod we trust was added to US coins as a religious setiment, not to replace the original US motto. </div></div>
With respect, sir, you have your facts mixed up. The secular "E Pluribus Unum" was the <span style="font-style: italic">de facto</span> motto, but never the official motto since it was never codified into law. In 1956, however, by an Act of Congress, "In God We Trust" became the official motto of the United States, and thus
CODIFIED. "In God We Trust" does owe its ascendancy to the national motto due to religious fervor.
Still, I prefer the secular "out of many, one."
Romy an Michelle's high school reunion

</div></div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">