<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Yes, I have used it and have had serveral invites although I tend to forgot to accept But it is a good networking tool </div></div>
yes I have been using it for years, my only challenge is that since I married I have invites under my married email addy that has to be merged with my main email addy (maiden name).. basically I have to just choose ONE name and stick wid it
I just joined it a couple months ago, the local chapter of the National Black MBA sent out an invite to join them and honestly that was the first time I heard about it, but it is a very good professional networking tool. You don't need an invite to join.
yuh haffi put yuh age pan deh ? and real personal tings
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just joined it a couple months ago, the local chapter of the National Black MBA sent out an invite to join them and honestly that was the first time I heard about it, but it is a very good professional networking tool. You don't need an invite to join. </div></div>
No, no age, dem ask you dat? No I have my resume and my current company information that's about it. I did have a picture but I took it down. What I like is, for example the MBA group, a lot of the members work for major corporations in the area if I ever need a contact at one of those places I have it cause even though I don't know dem from adam I can connect through this. A lot of them also start their own business so you could connect with them on that too.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yuh haffi put yuh age pan deh ? and real personal tings
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just joined it a couple months ago, the local chapter of the National Black MBA sent out an invite to join them and honestly that was the first time I heard about it, but it is a very good professional networking tool. You don't need an invite to join. </div></div> </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I just joined it a couple months ago, the local chapter of the National Black MBA sent out an invite to join them and honestly that was the first time I heard about it, but it is a very good professional networking tool. <span style="font-weight: bold">You don't need an invite to join.</span> </div></div>
I believe in the beginning, like ASW, they wanted to remain exclusive, hence, would only allow allow access by invitations from existing members. A legacy from that era is the <span style="font-weight: bold">IDK</span> membership cancellation clause mentioned above.
They were so strict about only inviting people known by members, that they would not hesitate to cancel violaters' memberships. From what I remember, GMAIL followed the same concept, but that has also changed since.
As smadyd above say Linked In is more 'elite'. When we a look Executive positions, we generally prefer to stick linked in candidates unless smaddy recommend someone on FB
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">it's the only networking group i'm relatively active in..it's great for staying connected..some people take it very serious and really develop their contacts and recommendations....
You sound justlike my Mom when she giving me one of her lectures bout her corporate sinting or nedder
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Thank you Witchy... nuff reading. Mi is a Project Manager, ma'am. Btw, how di dogs and yu husband still over by S/AFB? As for Linkedin...
I accepted the LinkedIn invitation and created my profile... long and tedious and not even done. Searched for names and found a few folks I know both professionally and personal. I'll play around with it some more.</div></div>
Nope. Mr Witchy came home in February 2007, after my last suicide attempt. He's been home since, and won't be going anywhere without me anymore, not after my last suicide attempt.
Where you been that you missed all that? Wow.
Dogs fine, cats fine, turtles fine, and ferret finally dead of old age. Midnight turned 15 years old on February 11th, 2009. He's ancient and silver - ot black any more... but he's just fine for a very old dog whose age is comparative to that of a 90-yr-old human.
Do all of the profile-filling-out stuff that you can. Ask people for reccomendations, so long as you are sure they'll give good recs. If you don't already have a good clear pic of your face, dressed in appropriate business attire - get a friend with a digicam to take a pic of you after you do your hair and face nicely and put on a suit jacket. You only need from chest or neck up to look business-y... Add the pic.
That reminds me, I need to do that for my own profile...
The website will continue to prompt you, on the right-hand side, with your percentage mark, what to do next.
i miss a lot of posts here... and thanks for the head's up about Linkedin.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Thank you Witchy... nuff reading. Mi is a Project Manager, ma'am. Btw, how di dogs and yu husband still over by S/AFB? As for Linkedin...
I accepted the LinkedIn invitation and created my profile... long and tedious and not even done. Searched for names and found a few folks I know both professionally and personal. I'll play around with it some more.</div></div>
Nope. Mr Witchy came home in February 2007, after my last suicide attempt. He's been home since, and won't be going anywhere without me anymore, not after my last suicide attempt.
Where you been that you missed all that? Wow.
Dogs fine, cats fine, turtles fine, and ferret finally dead of old age. Midnight turned 15 years old on February 11th, 2009. He's ancient and silver - ot black any more... but he's just fine for a very old dog whose age is comparative to that of a 90-yr-old human.
Do all of the profile-filling-out stuff that you can. Ask people for reccomendations, so long as you are sure they'll give good recs. If you don't already have a good clear pic of your face, dressed in appropriate business attire - get a friend with a digicam to take a pic of you after you do your hair and face nicely and put on a suit jacket. You only need from chest or neck up to look business-y... Add the pic.
That reminds me, I need to do that for my own profile...
The website will continue to prompt you, on the right-hand side, with your percentage mark, what to do next.
Thanks, Sandi. But I'm still kicking.
I'm not dead yet. lol
When you have done everything you can and that LinkedIn prompts (like I told you) - PM me and ask, and Mr Witchy and I will help you long further with LinkedIn, if you wish.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.