Re: Now i understand why so many Jamaicans bleach their skin
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dis is accurate representation of Jamaican society. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Every thing fell right in to place when i saw this picture .
Dem should use this picture fi the national picture, dis is accurate representation of Jamaican society. </div></div>
you think beauty pageant winners are an accurate representation of any country's population?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jaith2</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Every thing fell right in to place when i saw this picture .
Dem should use this picture fi the national picture, dis is accurate representation of Jamaican society. </div></div>
you think beauty pageant winners are an accurate representation of any country's population?
To answer your question NO ,but it sure does give a insight in to the psychology of a people.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jaith2</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Every thing fell right in to place when i saw this picture .
To answer your question NO ,but it sure does give a insight in to the psychology of a people. </div></div>
maybe not so much the people as the judges & the ruling classes
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jaith2</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Every thing fell right in to place when i saw this picture .
To answer your question NO ,but it sure does give a insight in to the psychology of a people. </div></div> which people? the people who judge beauty pageants? never really took too much interest in their psychology. do you think they are representative of the greater society?
Imagine if I had never been to Jamaica and/or knew very little about the country.
Like the majority of people in the world, I would have heard of Bob Marley, Reggae and now Usain Bolt - and this photo would seem rather odd indeed.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and this photo would seem rather odd indeed. </div></div>
She must have really impressed the judges in the other categories of the beauty pageant?
Because she's not what I would consider "a beauty" she couldn't have won the swimwear category? yuh nuh si she nah nuh baddy?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">typically the Miss World judges in england a look fi bumpa?
If this wasn't a frequent occurrence in Jamaica's beauty pageants it would not be a issue .But scenarios like this happen far too often.You see a average looking contestant with European features, winning a beauty pageant and the darker complexion contestants, standing behind her .This sends out a powerful message to the masses, that in order to be considered beautiful one must have European features, or some other none African features. This is one of the reasons why there is such a high incidents of skin bleaching in Jamaica.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.