And the country and its people were highly respected and envied throughout the region, do you think light-skinned folks tried to darken their skin and curl their hair?
When Ethiopia had an empire...
Re: When Ethiopia had an empire...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Ethiopians r Caucasians from long time</span>...is European changing of di original meaning of di wud dat cause all dis latta day angst... </div></div>
well first of all the term 'ethiopia' literally means 'burnt faces' in the ancient greek language;
at one time it was a generic term for 'black or 'african'
also the country now known as 'ethiopia' was known as 'abysinnia' before emperor haile selassie restored the name 'ethiopia' as the abysinnian empire was a part of the axumnite empire which was late a part of 'ethiopia' or 'nubia' of the ancients;
some of the 'ethiopians' and i do mean SOME have that arabic look, but they ae not 'caucasian'....
bnecause what does the word caucasian mean?
it means supposedly the races that originated in the caucasus mountains of europe/asia;
yet why should the people who are living in the cradle of humanity be called by a name created by false scientists?
they are africans...
strange looking 'caucasians', no?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ethiopians r Caucasians from long time...is European changing of di original meaning of di wud dat cause all dis latta day angst... </div></div>

ethiopian empress taytu

ethiopian beauty

former ethiopian leader mengistu hailemariam
<span style="font-weight: bold">Anthropology</span>
Of or being a human racial classification <span style="font-style: italic">distinguished especially by very light to brown skin pigmentation and straight to wavy or curly hair,</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold">including</span> peoples indigenous to Europe, northern Africa, western Asia, and India.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And the country and its people were highly respected and envied throughout the region, do you think light-skinned folks tried to darken their skin and curl their hair? </div></div>
people always try to imitate what they see as those who are on top,,,that's why you can find so many wigs of braids & locks in the ancient nile valley region-
when africoid hair was sought after-
much like women of today seek after straight hair
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Anthropology</span>
Of or being a human racial classification <span style="font-style: italic">distinguished especially by very light to brown skin pigmentation and straight to wavy or curly hair,</span> and <span style="font-weight: bold">including</span> peoples indigenous to Europe, northern Africa, western Asia, and India. </div></div>
so then you accept these definitions?
they were created by men...same men who decided my people could be defined by a word...'negroid';
that definition could fit many jamaicans i know...yet if you called them caucasian they would laugh you out of town;
definitions such as 'caucasian' and 'negroid' are pseudo science and have absolutely zero value;
the tricknology of it is that 'caucasian' represents a geographic location...same as their other definition for asians- 'mongoloid' also referring to a geographic region;
but then they get real slick...'negroid' is not a geographic location but a color-rooted word;
i abslolutely reject these definitions 1000 percent...they are nonsense and make it possible to call an african with black skin & kinky hair 'caucasian';
even slicker they can say any accomplishments by africans in east africa was done not by blacks but by 'caucasians';
in america or england they would call this man black;
but he's ethiopian so i guess he's caucasian
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/btdGaUBHZKg&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/btdGaUBHZKg&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
so wat u saying is dat u have been sooo brainwashed into believing dat caucasian means white dat u negate the original meaning of di word
wat came first...the black man an the study of anthology from his roots r the european push to change the world....
ur argument wud support the theory dat Europe DISCOVERED the rest of the world ...
stop an tink bout dat fi a second rada dan juss react

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so wat u saying is dat u have been sooo brainwashed into believing dat caucasian means white dat u negate the original meaning of di word
wat came first...the black man an the study of anthology from his roots r the european push to change the world....
ur argument wud support the theory dat Europe DISCOVERED the rest of the world ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so wat u saying is dat u have been sooo brainwashed into <span style="font-weight: bold">believing dat caucasian means white dat u negate the original meaning of di word</span>wat came first...the black man an the study of anthology from his roots r the european push to change the world....
i maintain that the word 'caucasian' is a trick;
it means people who originate from the <span style="font-weight: bold">caucasus mountains</span>...ethiopia is the oldest know record of humans so why should they call themselves according to a classification which does not apply to them?
is it that you are worshipping words created by the white man?
did ethiopians originate in europe (caucasus) & move to ethiopia?
i'm not brainwashed...if there are black-skinned caucasians indegenous to africa, then certainly ther must be white-skinned 'negroes' indegenous to europe & asia too, no?
if the ethiopians are 'caucasians' then the italians, spanish & greeks must be 'negroes';
so why can other non-african races be classified as 'caucasian'
yet ther are no non-eurpean races classified as 'negroid'?
so tell me---
WHERE ARE EUROPE'S INDEGENOUS 'NEGROES' since africa has indegenous 'caucasians'???
dem cyaan brainwash me caw mi si chroo dem rigmorole;
the words 'caucasian', 'negroid' and 'mongoloid' are absolutely worthless racial classifications created by mis-informed european scientists
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">

ethiopian beauty
Mi nuh mean fi massup di post but mi see this pitcha a dis ethiopian beauty and notice that she look like mi likkle sista
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
it means people who originate from the <span style="font-weight: bold">caucasus mountains</span>...ethiopia is the oldest know record of humans so why should they call themselves according to a classification which does not apply to them?
Actually,by the true definition of CAUCASIAN some ethiopians can call themselves caucasian.
The anthropological definition of caucasian also includes....<span style="font-weight: bold">wavy or curly hair, and including peoples indigenous to Europe, northern Africa, western Asia, and India.</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Actually,by the true definition of CAUCASIAN some ethiopians can call themselves caucasian.
The anthropological definition of caucasian also includes....<span style="font-weight: bold">wavy or curly hair, and including peoples indigenous to Europe, northern Africa, western Asia, and India.</span> </div></div>
so your little sister is caucasian;
ok- so by these GUYS' definition, 'caucasians' are native to all over the world...including northern africa;
yet they don't say that southern europe's people are 'negroes'...
so caucasians are indegenous to all the continents, but 'negroes' are only indegenous to africa???...

blacks were once classified by some scientists as mentally inferior, also;
---do you still hold on to these guys' definitions?
'caucasian' is a bogus word created to trick the world;
you must overstand that men came up with these definitions & classifications, not god
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The notion of race is nearly as problematic from a scientific point of view as it is from a social one. <span style="font-weight: bold">European physical anthropologists of the 17th and 18th centuries proposed various systems of racial classifications based on such observable characteristics as skin color, hair type, body proportions, and skull measurements, essentially codifying the perceived differences among broad geographic populations of humans. The traditional terms for these populations—Caucasoid (or Caucasian), Mongoloid, Negroid, and in some systems Australoid—are now controversial in both technical and nontechnical usage, and in some cases they may well be considered offensive. (Caucasian does retain a certain currency in American English, but it is used almost exclusively to mean “white” or “European” rather than “belonging to the Caucasian race,” a group that includes a variety of peoples generally categorized as nonwhite.) </span>The biological aspect of race is described today not in observable physical features but rather in such genetic characteristics as blood groups and metabolic processes, and the groupings indicated by these factors seldom coincide very neatly with those put forward by earlier physical anthropologists. Citing this and other points—such as the fact that a person who is considered black in one society might be nonblack in another—many cultural anthropologists now consider race to be more a social or mental construct than an objective biological fact.</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The eighteenth century also brought the heyday of the anatomists and pathologists who attempted to find bodily differences between different types of mankind. <span style="font-weight: bold">The German S. T. Soemmerring acquired dubious fame in 1784 by publishing a treatise on ‘the physical differences between the Negro and the European’. </span></div></div>
this trick is subtle, yet very apparent to the discerning eye---he says 'european'- which a continent, yet he calls the african a 'negro' which is a color;
this is how they were able to confuse the people- with very subtle tricks, but tricks noetheless