Re: You need the right tools, brah
Poor your husband, he does not know how lucky he was that you were there to save his <span style="font-weight: bold">life</span>.
The officer might have recieved a commendation after the act too!!<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you knew my husband, you’d know why I started praying – hard - right then and there.
im nuh werk NONE atall wid police! Werse like o police come pan feem prapatty come ax waim doin!
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “Mia limb da chree ya.”
Right away I was a bit ticked off because I KNEW hubby knew the officer didn’t understand a word he said. So right away there’s 5 minutes wasting time back and forth with, “huh” “can you repeat that” “what’d you say?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">
Police</span> - “What is that thing – where’d you get that?”
(tho hubby took this one from JA, he didn’t want to go into all that so he told him he bought it from the hardware store)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “I got it from the store.”
Police</span> - “Well. Ahm. That. Can you hang on a sec?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby </span>- not under his breath - “Cha!” (resumes chopping)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> - “Babe, can you just hold on a minute?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “Fi wha?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby & Me</span> – “bicker bicker bicker” in patwa - officer, more confused.
He continues chopping.
Officer goes to car and radios someone – I don’t know who exactly.
Office returns.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Police</span> - “Sir, I don’t know if that knife is something you can be using out here.”
Hubby keeps chopping – his view is that the officer isn’t asking him a question and hubby is on his own property minding his business so ... as I see an ugly scene playing out in front of my mind’s eye –somebody with a bullet hole thru an integral body part, CNN reporting from my lawn and interviewing Al Sharpton, I intervene.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> – “Why’s that sir?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Police </span>- “Well, that knife is a dangerous weapon and you might need permission to CARRY it.”
Hubby pipes up, not helping - “A nuh knife yuh nuh ... a wha cutlass”
Police </span>- “What’d he say?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> - “Nothing. Look, officer, if you could just let us know why he can’t go about using his gardening tools to finish his landscaping, I’d appreciate it – whatever we’re supposed to do in order to comply, we will.”
The guy was flumoxed – he just didn’t know what to make of, in his eyes, this big ole martial arts knife. I just wanted the officer to go away so badly before hubby lost it.
Long story short – his immediate supervisor called him back over that shoulder radio thingy and told him that hubby was alright. We did some leg work and come to find out, in some states, these are indeed considered a weapon. Some places, a Home Depot or Lowes will sell them, other states, it’s illegal to.
Some places you can use them around your yard on your property, but you can’t come out on to the front, like the public space / sidewalk with it.
Poor your husband, he does not know how lucky he was that you were there to save his <span style="font-weight: bold">life</span>.
The officer might have recieved a commendation after the act too!!<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If you knew my husband, you’d know why I started praying – hard - right then and there.
im nuh werk NONE atall wid police! Werse like o police come pan feem prapatty come ax waim doin!
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “Mia limb da chree ya.”
Right away I was a bit ticked off because I KNEW hubby knew the officer didn’t understand a word he said. So right away there’s 5 minutes wasting time back and forth with, “huh” “can you repeat that” “what’d you say?”
Police</span> - “What is that thing – where’d you get that?”
(tho hubby took this one from JA, he didn’t want to go into all that so he told him he bought it from the hardware store)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “I got it from the store.”
Police</span> - “Well. Ahm. That. Can you hang on a sec?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby </span>- not under his breath - “Cha!” (resumes chopping)
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> - “Babe, can you just hold on a minute?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby</span> - “Fi wha?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Hubby & Me</span> – “bicker bicker bicker” in patwa - officer, more confused.
He continues chopping.
Officer goes to car and radios someone – I don’t know who exactly.
Office returns.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Police</span> - “Sir, I don’t know if that knife is something you can be using out here.”
Hubby keeps chopping – his view is that the officer isn’t asking him a question and hubby is on his own property minding his business so ... as I see an ugly scene playing out in front of my mind’s eye –somebody with a bullet hole thru an integral body part, CNN reporting from my lawn and interviewing Al Sharpton, I intervene.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> – “Why’s that sir?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Police </span>- “Well, that knife is a dangerous weapon and you might need permission to CARRY it.”
Hubby pipes up, not helping - “A nuh knife yuh nuh ... a wha cutlass”
Police </span>- “What’d he say?”
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me</span> - “Nothing. Look, officer, if you could just let us know why he can’t go about using his gardening tools to finish his landscaping, I’d appreciate it – whatever we’re supposed to do in order to comply, we will.”
The guy was flumoxed – he just didn’t know what to make of, in his eyes, this big ole martial arts knife. I just wanted the officer to go away so badly before hubby lost it.
Long story short – his immediate supervisor called him back over that shoulder radio thingy and told him that hubby was alright. We did some leg work and come to find out, in some states, these are indeed considered a weapon. Some places, a Home Depot or Lowes will sell them, other states, it’s illegal to.
Some places you can use them around your yard on your property, but you can’t come out on to the front, like the public space / sidewalk with it.