likkle while ago...to test for water on the moon;
it looked pretty lame.
good going guys- this is the best you can do after supposedly walking on the moon 40 years ago??!!
I think we will see China take the lead in space exploration/exploitation in the years to come. The United States is no longer able to sustain a bold vision in space due to the fact that the money just isn't there to do so.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">likkle while ago...to test for water on the moon;
it looked pretty lame.
good going guys- this is the best you can do after supposedly walking on the moon 40 years ago??!! </div></div>
Actually the LCROSS mission is vitally important to any future manned lunar missions as confirming that a considerable subsurface reservior of water ice exists will make or break any plans for building a permanent settlement there. Water is far to expensive to ferry from the Earth to the Moon. If a ready supply exists there already then not only will it make extended stays there possible by providing astronauts with potable water but the water itself may serve to make hydrogen needed for fuel cells and for making rocket fuel. In essence the Moon may one day serve as a space port for manned missions to Mars and other worlds. But before all of this can happen, we need to know if there is ice.
so 40 years after sending six missions that supposedly landed on the moon they need to fly through some dust to study something?
didn't they supposedly bring back mad samples from all their previous missions?
this is 40 years of technological progress??
Yes, the astronauts did bring back surface rocks composed of mostly silicates. However, any ice reservior would exist in the subsurface. For the astronauts to have detected it, they would have needed to bring surface drilling tools which would have been outside the scope of the original Apollo missions. Now impacting the moon would accomplish much the same as drilling in terms of verifying the existence of ice and it is a far cheaper way of doing it. We just don't have the budget for large manned lunar missions now.
If ice, in large quantities, exists on the Moon at all, it would have to exist in the subsurface. The surface conditions are characterized by a near vacuum. Pure water ice would sublimate fairly quickly in these conditions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If ice, in large quantities, exists on the Moon at all, it would have to exist in the subsurface. The surface conditions are characterized by a near vacuum. Pure water ice would sublimate fairly quickly in these conditions. </div></div>
in Layman term's
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">If nuff ice deh pan ie moon den a jus pan di tap. ****This section does not compute**** </span></div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.