Re: Do you remember corporal punishment in Jamaican schools?.
mi memba... An wi did all tink it was unfair.. afta all yu was a big man den.....an 6 former were exempt.. A sort of of yu mek it yu responsible.. But that was the point I realised that corpral punsihment by schools was simple abuse of power nothing else... And feel no way despite your tennis skills and cricket skills and the fact you are Jeffs cousin that is one of the markers I have of you...!!!! That was not punishment it was deliberate humiliation for no reason except to show dominance over a student...
My point that at MC there was no unauthorised punishment but it was subject to abuse.. You were caned for 1 1/2 hours denteintion... 3 strokes.... in a controled manner..I had a similar experience with a prefect called Archer who had issues with my brother if you recall. I had 1/2 hour for chapel dirty shoes... was doing my line, copying from the bible skipped a line and the SOB "shot" me again.. Then I protested and got shot again.. The drunk Staggy came in I protested and he caned me... Hell that was not about pain... I was too tough, a wasp sting was harder.. I did after all walked 5 mailes twice a day...I thouight the cane got the worst of it.. But my issue ius a child being punished by an ineberated teacher...
Corpral punishment cannot be managed...I could not protest as I did the cold calculus of reality expulsion... No appeal... As I could not be sent to another school that would have been the end.... Compromise let it die..
But when I go back I am going to urinate on Staggies grave.. And I forgive archer.. aye right...
I say if a parent wants to practice CP.. That is another issue.. But teachers no way no how...
mi memba... An wi did all tink it was unfair.. afta all yu was a big man den.....an 6 former were exempt.. A sort of of yu mek it yu responsible.. But that was the point I realised that corpral punsihment by schools was simple abuse of power nothing else... And feel no way despite your tennis skills and cricket skills and the fact you are Jeffs cousin that is one of the markers I have of you...!!!! That was not punishment it was deliberate humiliation for no reason except to show dominance over a student...
My point that at MC there was no unauthorised punishment but it was subject to abuse.. You were caned for 1 1/2 hours denteintion... 3 strokes.... in a controled manner..I had a similar experience with a prefect called Archer who had issues with my brother if you recall. I had 1/2 hour for chapel dirty shoes... was doing my line, copying from the bible skipped a line and the SOB "shot" me again.. Then I protested and got shot again.. The drunk Staggy came in I protested and he caned me... Hell that was not about pain... I was too tough, a wasp sting was harder.. I did after all walked 5 mailes twice a day...I thouight the cane got the worst of it.. But my issue ius a child being punished by an ineberated teacher...
Corpral punishment cannot be managed...I could not protest as I did the cold calculus of reality expulsion... No appeal... As I could not be sent to another school that would have been the end.... Compromise let it die..
But when I go back I am going to urinate on Staggies grave.. And I forgive archer.. aye right...
I say if a parent wants to practice CP.. That is another issue.. But teachers no way no how...
..so i say suppose i dont take the caning ..him say well you wont be coming back to this school so mi jus harfi ben an tek it.