Re: The the masses of jamaican voters are simpletons
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">so do I but who voted in Eddie..whe u a seh...di CIA voted n padded di ballot boxes.... plus saying him is an idiot versus saying he made idiotic decisions is two diffrant ting...Blinds is a brilliant man...one of the many brilliant minds of Jamaica </div></div> I have to agree with you,seehaga is a brilliant man.This <span style="font-weight: bold">USURPER</span> was able to garner leadership of the JLP and in extension PRIME MINISTER of Jamaica, that is a momentous achievement. I can only think of one other world leader that was able to accomplish such a feat .He must be a brilliant man to be able to destroy the career of so much of his fellow JLP leaders, people like Hugh Shearer, Wilton Hill, Robert Lightbourne and Ronald Irvine; while LG Newland, Edwin Allen and Tacius Golding .IT took a genius to sabotage these people career. Lets not forget his other causalities,people like EK Powell, Frank Phipps, Ian Ramsay even unkle Bruce almost succumb to seeahaga's brilliance. Brascoe Lee, Tony Abrahams last but not least , <span style="font-size: 17pt">Pearnell Charles </span>who serve time in the pen defending the jlp ,almost fall by the wayside courtesy of seehaga, a brilliant man indeed, Machiavelli would have been proud of him. </div></div>
You are a pathetic clown all the folks you named have done very well as JLP Politicians and very well after the JLP. In fact it a tribute to Eddie Blinds that the only truly brilliant Post-Colonial Jamaicans came out of the JLP while Eddie Blinds was there.
As for the foolish talk about Pearnel Charles did his time in the pen and you juxtapose that with Eddie ruining Pearnel's career you have to be really crazy. Are you saying that the detention and torture of Pearnel Charles was legitimate? Are you further saying that the SOE76 was organize by Eddie Blinds?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">black vs white mindedness JY..dat is all..some people see demselves as black n di oddas as white , ie modda hengland tinking.... </div></div>
anyhow i disagree--
'afrocentrism' has never been given an equal footing by jamaican policy shapers...however they would define that...
i don't think garvey is ever even studied & analyzed in-depth in schools
Meanwhile, Seaga said that one of the issues that many of the country's leaders have not been able to fully address is "the cultural underbelly" of the society.
"The two-Jamaica syndrome. That is what sets the tone for the social conditions and eventually what sets the tone for economic progress or no economic progress," Seaga said.
He argued that many persons in diagnosing problems facing Jamaica fail to realise the cultural dichotomy.
"The two worlds that we live in - <span style="font-weight: bold">one Afrocentric, one Eurocentric </span>- have different standards and different value systems," Seaga said.
Seaga said that it was at the level of representational politics that it is assumed that the people who come from the folk society will understand what their people are like, and work towards helping their conditions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Have you ever bother to try and analyse why would the US require the president to be native birth?
How much do you know about the US history? Do you think it was some sort of trivial reason why that wa s put in the constitution?? </div></div>
Your typical condescending style always gives me a chuckle; I bet you think you have some unique knowledge of, or expertise on, American political, legal, and specifically, constitutional history. I'm pretty sure I don't need a lecture from you, especially one regarding the adoption of Article 2 of the US Constitution.
In return I'll spare you the lecture, except to say that one need not be born overseas/abroad to be under the influence of a foreign power or entity. Again, in this regard, and on this point, Jamaica's constitution is remarkably progressive.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Have you ever bother to try and analyse why would the US require the president to be native birth?
How much do you know about the US history? Do you think it was some sort of trivial reason why that wa s put in the constitution?? </div></div>
one need not be born overseas/abroad to be under the influence of a foreign power or entity. Again, in this regard, and o<span style="font-weight: bold">n this point, Jamaica's constitution is remarkably progressive. </span> </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"The two worlds that we live in - one Afrocentric, one Eurocentric - have different standards and different value systems," Seaga said.
it is a true statement on many a level, the most obvious one being the former deal wid basic survival while the latter wid basic contribution via taxes , wages paid etc to the former....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"The two worlds that we live in - one Afrocentric, one Eurocentric - have different standards and different value systems," Seaga said.
it is a true statement on many a level, the most obvious one being the former deal wid basic survival while the latter wid basic contribution via taxes , wages paid etc to the former.... </div></div>
i vehemently disagree that this is an 'afrocentric/eurocentric' issue...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Have you ever bother to try and analyse why would the US require the president to be native birth?
one need not be born overseas/abroad to be under the influence of a foreign power or entity. Again, in this regard, and o<span style="font-weight: bold">n this point, Jamaica's constitution is remarkably progressive. </span> </div></div>
so you imply that america's is regressive? </div></div>
On this specific point, yes - or more to the point, obsolete.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"The two worlds that we live in - one Afrocentric, one Eurocentric - have different standards and different value systems," Seaga said.
it is a true statement on many a level, the most obvious one being the former deal wid basic survival while the latter wid basic contribution via taxes , wages paid etc to the former.... </div></div>
this completely ignores global history </div></div>
but global issues r essentially afrocentric vs eurocentric in the sense dat anywhere u look in the world, people of a darker hue r discriminated against ,held to diffrant standards, pushed to the bak, looked down upon etc by those who look more eurocentric....n everyting in dem society flows from dat division
because nowhere in the world has not been touched by Europe....y u tink Japan etal fought so long an hard to mainatian dem isolation....n is not c olour mi mean here...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"The two worlds that we live in - one Afrocentric, one Eurocentric - have different standards and different value systems," Seaga said.
this completely ignores global history </div></div>
jah_yout,
I agree with you that it is not Afro vs. Euro centricity but rather a class issue:
rich against poor, powerful against the powerless.
The following statement attributed to Edward Seaga is right on the money.
The electorate of Jamaica, like the electorate of the United States has been disinformed and dumbed down to the point where they actually believe that there is a penny's worth of difference between the respective twin parties of capitalism that rule the two countries.
Like most capitalist countries, Jamaica and whichever party is in power at a given time is run by the rich and powerful for the benefit of the rich and powerful.
They own the media and control the bully pulpit which is politics and therefore the thought processes of the electorate who erroneously believe that their vote every few years makes a difference in their lives.
The fact is that the electorate in Jamaica and the U.S. have been deliberately disinformed and are deliberately confused . They really don't know what is going on, lack the time or inclination to deal with fact finding rather than believing and/or arguing rumo(u)rs and other pieces of misleading information.
Any would-be aspirant to political office in either country dare not speak the truth for two reasons:
1st- they would be thrown out of their party and
2nd- the electorate would be unable to understand what they are saying since all they have been told and what they deeply believe would run counter to the hard truth. To win the electorate HAS to be fed more myth, more lies of the same type used in the past.
It does amaze me that Mr. Seaga could get away with calling the people stupid but then again, a protest of any size against Seaga's statement would require that a lot of the electorate would have to understand what he said.
They didn't and they don't and they never will.
His words should be remembered by everyone who thinks Jamaica's rulers are in the service of the people.
"the masses of simpletons who determine election victories and defeats. And since the people are incapable of sophisticated political understanding, only simplistic messages can be delivered to them as entertaining sloganeering from the political platform." (Seaga, quashee and campaigning' July 19, 2007, Sunday Gleaner)"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I agree with you that it is not Afro vs. Euro centricity but rather a class issue:
but is not the class division done by eurocentric standards and practise....serf, lower class, untouchables etc., ...however they r termed the fact remains that the lasting effect of EUrope is the tendency for class to be aligned wid hue...the untouchables mite have started out as di [censored] cleaners but India's continuing problems r hue related in terms of economics an access to said economics ....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I agree with you that it is not Afro vs. Euro centricity but rather a class issue:
but is not the class division done by eurocentric standards and practise....serf, lower class, untouchables etc., ...however they r termed the fact remains that the lasting effect of EUrope is the tendency for class to be aligned wid hue...the untouchables mite have started out as di [censored] cleaners but India's continuing problems r hue related in terms of economics an access to said economics .... </div></div>
so you would consign this to the term "afrocentric"?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I agree with you that it is not Afro vs. Euro centricity but rather a class issue:
but is not the class division done by eurocentric standards and practise....serf, lower class, untouchables etc., ...however they r termed the fact remains that the lasting effect of EUrope is the tendency for class to be aligned wid hue...the untouchables mite have started out as di [censored] cleaners but India's continuing problems r hue related in terms of economics an access to said economics .... </div></div>
so you would consign this to the term "afrocentric"?
i would not </div></div>
wich continent ha dark skin people? so from dat frame of REFERENCE , yes
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.