<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">TG - why are you asking me if I wrote the article?</span>
Did you go to the link - if so, then, you'll know I didn't write the article.
As for the content of the post - there's another thread here from mid '07 on the matter. I'll look for that and post it as well. I shared my thoughts on this in depth.
What is disgusting to me - as I said, <span style="font-weight: bold">I<span style="color: #FF0000">M</span>HO</span> - is that the cruise lines, this one and most of them, are very hypocritical.
I can't beat that horse again but basically, my feeling: the company says, continuing to port is their way of supporting the economy, etc, etc.
<span style="font-weight: bold">I<span style="color: #FF0000">M</span>HO</span>, the<span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="text-decoration: underline">nation</span></span> of Haiti benefits very, very little from the Labadie ships.
Marilyn, when was it that you first went there? </div></div>
I don't get it what exactly is disgusting?
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">What did you say about it?</span>
I looked at the post and all it was is an article. Did you write the article? </div></div> </div></div>
Asking where the Labadee tourist dollars REALLY have gone all of these years is just like asking where all of that same money goes in Jamaica.
I was up on he hill in Ochii oned day when 4 ships came in in one day. FOUR.
Right - and there's nothing wrong with asking that question.
Is there?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marilyn</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">TG - why are you asking me if I wrote the article?</span>
As for the content of the post - there's another thread here from mid '07 on the matter. I'll look for that and post it as well. I shared my thoughts on this in depth.
What is disgusting to me - as I said, <span style="font-weight: bold">I<span style="color: #FF0000">M</span>HO</span> - is that the cruise lines, this one and most of them, are very hypocritical.
I can't beat that horse again but basically, my feeling: the company says, continuing to port is their way of supporting the economy, etc, etc.
<span style="font-weight: bold">I<span style="color: #FF0000">M</span>HO</span>, the<span style="font-weight: bold"> <span style="text-decoration: underline">nation</span></span> of Haiti benefits very, very little from the Labadie ships.
Marilyn, when was it that you first went there? </div></div>
I don't get it what exactly is disgusting?
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">What did you say about it?</span>
I looked at the post and all it was is an article. Did you write the article? </div></div> </div></div>
Asking where the Labadee tourist dollars REALLY have gone all of these years is just like asking where all of that same money goes in Jamaica.
I was up on he hill in Ochii oned day when 4 ships came in in one day. FOUR. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">TG - why are you asking me if I wrote the article?</span>
As for the content of the post - there's another thread here from mid '07 on the matter. I'll look for that and post it as well. I shared my thoughts on this in depth.</div></div>
I was trying to find <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">your</span> opinion <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">you </span>said you wrote about it!
Again Port Au Prince used to be crammed with Tourist ships, it used to have a number of factories. The Haiti experts claimed it was exploitation. So now a likkle man rent a space, mek a beach and what who is he exploiting?
Now you <span style="font-style: italic">have</span> it.
As in the '07 thread - we all have different feelings on the matter, aint it ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">TG - why are you asking me if I wrote the article?</span>
As for the content of the post - there's another thread here from mid '07 on the matter. I'll look for that and post it as well. I shared my thoughts on this in depth.</div></div>
I was trying to find <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">your</span> opinion <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">you </span>said you wrote about it! </div></div>
We actually booked a caribbean cruise a couple weeks ago,for august,initially we were going to take in haiti, landing in labadee,but changed our minds,and opted for a different itinerary....yes,the rebuilding should include selling it as a tourist spot,...but they are going to have a tough job doing it.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marilyn</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">to borrow from Wahalla ...better still ...stay home and send your money </div></div>
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm that sounds familiar....a Jamaican "fiance" once said that to someone I know </div></div>
She must have been devastated - almost as devastated as Haiti!
Well I think it was more put out there like "dooon spen alla u munneee comin ere bebee, WE will need eee for hour futcha. Sted ah runin ah Jamaica alla di time, jus send mi likke somthin to mek it til I can get to US."
(post note, he;s there, they are married, but I don't know anything beyond that)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">[sarcasm]
Tourism has proven effective in lifting developing countries to the ranks of developed countries.
[/sarcasm] </div></div>
You are right some not quite to developed country status but Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Bermuda, Barbados, Antigua, Singapore, Japan all feature some mix where tourism play a very big part.
Other countries such as Jamaica, Haiti, Guyana, Parts of Africa have frittered away the opportunities through corruption and ineptness and neither tourism, aid, man nor god's bounty have so far been able to lift them from sinking into a pit of misery and despair.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.