<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi leff jamaica when mi was 13 an him was an icon even in those days....Suh him nuh leff no wife an pickney ? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi leff jamaica when mi was 13 an him was an icon even in those days....Suh him nuh leff no wife an pickney ? </div></div>
LOL more mix-up! </div></div>
Honest question I swear..........I take it there are none?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi leff jamaica when mi was 13 an him was an icon even in those days....Suh him nuh leff no wife an pickney ? </div></div>
Honest question I swear..........I take it there are none? </div></div> remo... where you been?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi leff jamaica when mi was 13 an him was an icon even in those days....Suh him nuh leff no wife an pickney ? </div></div>
Honest question I swear..........I take it there are none? </div></div> remo... where you been? </div></div>
LOL Remo pulling our collective legs.
Rex once declared himself <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Queen Of Jamaica</span>!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi leff jamaica when mi was 13 an him was an icon even in those days....Suh him nuh leff no wife an pickney ? </div></div>
Honest question I swear..........I take it there are none? </div></div> remo... where you been? </div></div>
Students silently mourn
Published: Thursday | February 4, 2010
THERE'S A sombre mood at the Rex Nettleford Hall at the Mona campus of the University of the West Indies, in light its patron's sudden passing.
The sadness is especially felt by Student Services and Development Manager Donna Mae Jackson, who worked closely with Nettleford.
"When we heard he was ill, it came as a shock. Obviously, we knew him to be fit as a fiddle," she recalled.
"I didn't believe it (his death) to be honest because I had heard rumours before. It was a bad day overall," she said, noting the death of student Patti-Ann Lothian a day earlier. Jackson remembered that 'Prof' always made his presence felt on the hall.
"He was a very busy person, but always found the time for our events," she said. Photos of the hall's various events testify to that, and she pointed out his contribution in everything, from hall colours (maroon and gold, like his alma mater Cornwall College) to the donation of artwork for the hall's multifunctional room. On more than one occasion, Jackson had to catch herself as she started referring to him in the present tense, forgetting he was gone.
No fears
She said the students were not in tears, but they are mourning quietly. "They have recognised that an icon has passed." Those sentiments were echoed by second-year hall resident, Topaz Isaacs.
"Many of them would not have seen him face to face, but there was still that link. So, inevitably you will feel some sort of sadness," she said. She expressed regret that she did not get to know him better.
"I guess I took it for granted because we always see him."
Boy from Bunkers Hill
Published: Thursday | February 4, 2010
Sheena Gayle, Gleaner Writer
Professor Rex Nettleford - File
Western Bureau:
After hours of searching for individuals who knew Rex Nettleford in his hometown of Bunkers Hill in Trelawny, only two persons could recall their encounters with him.
An affable senior citizen, Rex Minto, who resides in Bunkers Hill, recounted the days he and Nettleford went to basic school.
"He was Trelawny's best," he said with a smile. "Rex was a brilliant young boy as he grew up. A man called 'Teacher' Francis took him under his wings and grew him as if he was his own son. There was nothing that Rex did that he was not successful at. He was good at singing and any cultural activities."
He remembered, as a boy, both of them walking through the countryside and playing with their slingshots.
Continued to excel
Minto said that, after attending the community's primary school, Nettleford moved on to Cornwall College, where he continued to excel in academics.
"I am proud to have known that man called Rex Nettleford in my days. You know, he was the first person to pass Common Entrance from our district in those days," the 80-year-old Minto claimed.
Adian Williams-Wilson, a com-munity health aide at the Bunkers Hill Health Centre, reminisced on her encounter with Nettleford when she was about eight years old.
"I met him twice when I was very young and it was through some cultural activities at the Granville All-Age School (now Granville Primary and Junior High School). He came by our school to teach us some dance moves and choreograph some of our cultural dance activities. I looked up to him. He was good at what he did," she said.
Williams-Wilson confessed that when she first met Nettleford, she was a bit afraid of this esteemed gentleman who exerted sheer confidence and respect. However, after they began their routine, the atmosphere became comfortable and he was easy to work with.
While she did not know him personally, Williams-Wilson said she admired his passion for cultural development and the time he took to come to teach them dance techniques.
u know, rich, having wife and pickney is not incongruous with certain orientations.
u know, rich, having wife and pickney is not incongruous with certain orientations. </div></div> but he never claimed "impeccable credentials" as far as i know
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> but he never claimed "impeccable credentials" as far as i know </div></div>
He sure as hell didn't.
I also heard first folks of lying folks claiming he was humble.....gimme a freaking break!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> but he never claimed "impeccable credentials" as far as i know </div></div>
He sure as hell didn't.
I also heard first folks of lying folks claiming he was humble.....gimme a freaking break! </div></div> how it go? don't mistake my superiority for vanity.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> but he never claimed "impeccable credentials" as far as i know </div></div>
He sure as hell didn't.
I also heard first folks of lying folks claiming he was humble.....gimme a freaking break! </div></div> how it go? don't mistake my superiority for vanity. </div></div>
Yeah something like that!
You know what <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Rex</span> mean right?
u know, rich, having wife and pickney is not incongruous with certain orientations. </div></div> but he never claimed "impeccable credentials" as far as i know </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.