Re: Green Card holders
I have an uncle back home with limited vision.
There's a fellow back home who, for quite a few years now, drives my uncle.
I've known him for a while. Good, decent guy.
He gets in touch with me last month and asks me,
<span style="font-style: italic">
"What's the best way for a person to file for somebody to come up to the US?"
This is exactly how he asked it.
I told him - there's no <span style="font-style: italic">BEST</span> way to do it - there's only the proper way to file by going thru the process that coincides with a person's circumstance. I told him I can't answer the question in a vacuum - I can't answer the question without knowing the details.
"The smaddy av ar green card."</span> he says.
So I ask him - what kind of green card does she have - a CPR or a LPR?
He doesn't know and I explain the diff to him.
Turns out the person has a LPR greencard. She was filed for by her adult son here in the US. I ask him, who is it that this woman wants to file for and bring to the US?
He tells me, it him.
His wife is here and wants to file for him to come up. She's been here 5 months and desperately wants him to now join her. But his wife, listed herself on her application as SINGLE!!!
Dude - rule # 1 - don't lie to the USCIS. It will usually come back to haunt you. And now, in he and his wife's case - it has.
He went on to press me about the fiancee visa and started getting heated with me about why it was she couldn't file for him that way because, he'd "HEARD" that it's very fast.
Well, that may be so but YOU CAN'T BE HER FIANCE BECAUSE YOU'RE ALREADY married!
He wanted to know if wifey could go back and amend her file and tell USCIS that she is married and wants to file for him.
Ahhhhh - sure - yeah - go ahead and do this - <span style="font-weight: bold">IF SHE WANTS TO SURELY GET DIP FOR IMMIGRATION FRAUD</span>!!
So now he starts pressing me about getting divorced and whether I think he should divorce her and then re marry thru the fiancee visa filing.
Ahhhhh - sure - yeah - go ahead and do this - if you want to take a probable risk of raising every red flag in the book.
All I'm telling him that they missed this up by lying on the original filing, he doesn't want to hear it.
Now to be sure, there are alternate avenues he can take to have her file for him but they're all going to be bandooloo.
First off, she hasn't even been here 6 flippin' months - ANY move she makes to file for him will raise a red flag.
Second, if she wants to file for him, she only has 2 or 3 ways of doing so and he didn't like any of the options I told him about.
My point is that, that in too many ways, we often make a mess of these things more than is needed.
And you can't look at a situation from the outside, not knowing all the facts, and say what's what.
If you have your green card, and you got it properly, and you're not doing or haven't done any dirt, you should have no fear of traveling to and from the US. Millions and millions of dual citizens do so every year. <span style="font-size: 8pt"><span style="font-style: italic">(no, I'm not saying profiling doesn't happen; of course it does)</span></span> The # of people denied re-entry or having their cards confiscated (which the right of the US Govt) is miniscule compared to the # who haven't.
And if you've had your green card, and are now eligible to apply for US Citizenship, get on it.
I have an uncle back home with limited vision.
There's a fellow back home who, for quite a few years now, drives my uncle.
I've known him for a while. Good, decent guy.
He gets in touch with me last month and asks me,
"What's the best way for a person to file for somebody to come up to the US?"
This is exactly how he asked it.
I told him - there's no <span style="font-style: italic">BEST</span> way to do it - there's only the proper way to file by going thru the process that coincides with a person's circumstance. I told him I can't answer the question in a vacuum - I can't answer the question without knowing the details.
"The smaddy av ar green card."</span> he says.
So I ask him - what kind of green card does she have - a CPR or a LPR?
He doesn't know and I explain the diff to him.
Turns out the person has a LPR greencard. She was filed for by her adult son here in the US. I ask him, who is it that this woman wants to file for and bring to the US?
He tells me, it him.
His wife is here and wants to file for him to come up. She's been here 5 months and desperately wants him to now join her. But his wife, listed herself on her application as SINGLE!!!
Dude - rule # 1 - don't lie to the USCIS. It will usually come back to haunt you. And now, in he and his wife's case - it has.
He went on to press me about the fiancee visa and started getting heated with me about why it was she couldn't file for him that way because, he'd "HEARD" that it's very fast.
Well, that may be so but YOU CAN'T BE HER FIANCE BECAUSE YOU'RE ALREADY married!
He wanted to know if wifey could go back and amend her file and tell USCIS that she is married and wants to file for him.
Ahhhhh - sure - yeah - go ahead and do this - <span style="font-weight: bold">IF SHE WANTS TO SURELY GET DIP FOR IMMIGRATION FRAUD</span>!!
So now he starts pressing me about getting divorced and whether I think he should divorce her and then re marry thru the fiancee visa filing.
Ahhhhh - sure - yeah - go ahead and do this - if you want to take a probable risk of raising every red flag in the book.
All I'm telling him that they missed this up by lying on the original filing, he doesn't want to hear it.
Now to be sure, there are alternate avenues he can take to have her file for him but they're all going to be bandooloo.
First off, she hasn't even been here 6 flippin' months - ANY move she makes to file for him will raise a red flag.
Second, if she wants to file for him, she only has 2 or 3 ways of doing so and he didn't like any of the options I told him about.
My point is that, that in too many ways, we often make a mess of these things more than is needed.
And you can't look at a situation from the outside, not knowing all the facts, and say what's what.
If you have your green card, and you got it properly, and you're not doing or haven't done any dirt, you should have no fear of traveling to and from the US. Millions and millions of dual citizens do so every year. <span style="font-size: 8pt"><span style="font-style: italic">(no, I'm not saying profiling doesn't happen; of course it does)</span></span> The # of people denied re-entry or having their cards confiscated (which the right of the US Govt) is miniscule compared to the # who haven't.
And if you've had your green card, and are now eligible to apply for US Citizenship, get on it.
@ the drivah story
mi nuh membah how the form guh.