Re: Chinese Buliding Palisadoes Highway
Yuh seet!
That's why I am skeptical about the benefits of this deal, apart of course from the piece a road. That article says the works will emply many Jamaicans. From what I see in places like Uganda, only the least-skilled workers are local, while all the skilled workers and all managers are imported from China.
In Angola, even the least-skilled labour is Chinese. Not one local job is created despite 2 billion (US) in Chinese-sponsored projects in that country.
One could argue that a (nearly) free road with no new jobs is better than no road, but this is just the beginning, and the precedent set on this deal will shape how much Jamaica will benefit from Chinese involvement.
Yuh seet!
That's why I am skeptical about the benefits of this deal, apart of course from the piece a road. That article says the works will emply many Jamaicans. From what I see in places like Uganda, only the least-skilled workers are local, while all the skilled workers and all managers are imported from China.
In Angola, even the least-skilled labour is Chinese. Not one local job is created despite 2 billion (US) in Chinese-sponsored projects in that country.
One could argue that a (nearly) free road with no new jobs is better than no road, but this is just the beginning, and the precedent set on this deal will shape how much Jamaica will benefit from Chinese involvement.