hmmmm...well, generally speaking if people want to believe in santa claus, the loch ness monster, sasquatch, or prophets flying on winged horses from x to y to heaven....it's up to them really so long as it doesn't hinder or hurt people. but I mean, that's the thing. A lot of these beliefs do hurt people.
The US for example, created Bin Laden as a response to Soviets in Afghanistan- then the US intervened in Iraq's invasion of Kuwait because of their sideways drilling, and used Saudi Arabia as a base. Because of Saudi Arabia's snub of Osama and all the Mujahideen, he declared war because 'infidels' set foot on holy land. Not to mention everything between the Israelis and the Muslims, killing each other over what could be fairy tales and getting other major players involved.
so on a certain level I DO think those kinds of beliefs hurt people, fundamental beliefs certainly hold people back and look what these crazy irrational beliefs have done to our world, but so be it I guess people have that kind of right...
i guess if these people want to build a mosque let's see them put their money where their mouth is, I for one don't mind putting these people to the test.
let them mount an initiative to...I dunno...save this woman Sakineh Mohammadie Ashtiani from having rock stone flung at her head, then we can talk about mosques and what not...
It's true Monk that religions are to blame for a large portion of world conflicts throughout history. However, eliminating religions would not stop conflict, as there are other reasons to fight wars. Resources are the emerging reason, and I'm sure the wars next century will be all over fresh water.
But the truth is that out of the 2 billion Christians, 1.5 billion Muslims, 1 billion Hindus and other smaller religious orders, 99% of these people have good intentions and don't abuse people's beliefs to advance their evil cause. Yes you have the 1% of perverted priests, fundemental islamists, separatists hindus and other psychos that use religion to recruit susceptible yutes into their ranks, but that shouldn't keep us thinking people from banning mosques, churches, temples and such.
I'm not going to read any of the thread, just go with my initial reaction. There are millions of God fearing, loving and decent Muslims in this world who only wish to practice the original tenants of a religion that is beautifully based. Islam ,in it's purest form ,really is a religion of peace and like most established relgiions, speaks against killing and causing the death of others.
Christian religion has been interpreted by some sects to include just about anything one wishes to justify that is evil, including using bible verse to justify slavery.
If the proposed Mosque is for the peaceful worship of ALA, the beuatiful daily call to prayers, and the teaching of the pure Muslim faith, then not only should it be near ground zero, but it would be there as an antidote and contrast to the evil that caused 9/11 that day.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dahjah mi did a wondah how long it wouldan tek yuh fi reach in yah </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magix</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's true Monk that religions are to blame for a large portion of world conflicts throughout history. However, eliminating religions would not stop conflict, as there are other reasons to fight wars. Resources are the emerging reason, and I'm sure the wars next century will be all over fresh water.
But the truth is that out of the 2 billion Christians, 1.5 billion Muslims, 1 billion Hindus and other smaller religious orders, 99% of these people have good intentions and don't abuse people's beliefs to advance their evil cause. Yes you have the 1% of perverted priests, fundemental islamists, separatists hindus and other psychos that use religion to recruit susceptible yutes into their ranks, but that shouldn't keep us thinking people from banning mosques, churches, temples and such. </div></div>
for real, I'd never advocate outright bans on religions nor their positive manifestations, but maybe it's time to do some line item edits. it is the year 2010 after all.
people who believe in talking snakes and flying horses, and who fight over it, shouldn't, for example, have access to nukes or be able to call shots on the world stage from that perspective of having to hold such beliefs.
it's like evolution. that's just the facts of the matter, and if there is a god, that's how he did it like it or not. a friend of mine just had to do all her science credits over, because she was from a school in kansas or was it texas. i forget.
so let's see this group make a real stand and see if they can really put their money where their mouth is.
if they were to organize an education campaign for example about this poor lady and save her from having rocks flung at her head, I'd love their mosque.
so like, stopping women from having to wear sacks, burying people up to their necks to throw rocks....yes very much.
bowing however many times a day in the direction of a meteor and embroiling whole geographies and peoples in struggles related to such...not so much, lol.
i mean i feel like amish people should just get a grip too, and like, get telephones.
Well I am re-reading Zora Neale-Hurston's "Tell My Horse". It's an account of her experiences in Jamaica and Haiti, but mostly Haiti. And while her experiences of Nine-night, obeah man and pocomania were nothing out of the ordinary, the Haiti part is much more frightening!
Our duppies have nothing on their Zombies! And she even took a picture of a Zombie that she saw. Now that is one set of beliefs that you either have to believe in to keep you safe, or stay well away from it!
trust me monk...if you went to the outer-most intimate parts of the countryside in j-a you would know that spirits really DO exist...
not that i've ever seen one
but religion itself is not the main problem as many people believe...it's the <span style="font-style: italic">misuse</span> of religion...and yes some of it is downright silly, when people take fantasy for reality...parting red seas & such...but
like magix said-- people fight & kill each other over a plethora of other reasons besides religion...
money, jealousy & love/sex/passion comes immediately to mind...
but in many muslim countries you are not even allowed to praise another religion publically...
ya gotta love these guys
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">trust me monk...if you went to the outer-most intimate parts of the countryside in j-a you would know that spirits really DO exist...
apparently we only need go so far as maypen cemetary!!!!
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/eh3nvRfWB8c"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/eh3nvRfWB8c" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<span style="font-weight: bold"> A proposed mosque just a block away from the site where Islamic radicals killed 3,000 Americans has many people upset...The Christian Broadcasting Network. </span>
what a load crap, Amerikkkans need fi stap chat pure fawt, mi nuh kno when dem a guh realize seh no muslim ar islamist attack dem an dat dem owna gov dweet all demself. pure foolishness an racism mi si inna dat video. </div></div>
Well I wouldn't say 'government' dahjah, but 'government' is a lot closer than 'Islamic radicals'.
<span style="font-size: 14pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">SHOW ME CCTV OF ANY OF THOSE GUYS BOARDING ANY OF THOSE PLANES</span></span>.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.