Just starting the thread for you, blu.
Dr. Laura an 'di mzungu playting'
Re: Dr. Laura an 'di mzungu playting'
In conversation Tuesday with a black female caller who was complaining about her white husband's racist friends and their use of the word, Schlessinger said:
Black guys use it all the time. Turn on HBO and listen to a black comic, and all you hear is n****, n*****, n*****. I don't get it. If anybody without enough melanin says it, it's a horrible thing. But when black people say it, it's affectionate. It's very confusing.
After a break, the caller said she was appalled by Schlessinger's use of the word.
"Oh, then I guess you don't watch HBO or listen to any black comedians," she said. "My dear, the point I am trying to make...we've got a black man as president and we've got more complaining about racism than ever. I think that's hilarious."
Schlessinger and the caller then got into an exchange about the use of the word:
CALLER: Is it OK to say that word? Is it ever OK to say that word?
DR. LAURA: It depends how it's said. Black guys talking to each other seem to think it's ok.
CALLER: But you're not black, they're not black, my husband is white.
DR. LAURA: Oh, I see, so a word is restricted to race. Got it. Can't do much about that.
CALLER: I can't believe someone like you is on the radio spewing out the n***** word, and I hope everybody heard it.
DR. LAURA: I didn't spew out the n***** word!
CALLER: You said "n*****, n*****, n*****" and I hope everybody heard it.
DR. LAURA: Yes they did, and I'll say it again: n*****, n*****, n***** is what you hear on HBO.
[Crosstalk]
DR. LAURA: Why don't you let me finish a sentence? Don't take things out of context. Don't NAACP me, leave them in context.
"If you're that hypersensitive about color and don't have a sense of humor, don't marry outside of your race," Schlessinger said after hanging up with the caller.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">Di caller is black ? Mi nain know dr Laura appeal to anybody except he conservative white people ?</span> </div></div>Firss of all, de caller - a BW married to a WM - want a lick in her head back: how she a call white ooman fi advice on how fi deal wid racism? Mi nevah hear enyting so stupid. :kissteet:
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">Di caller is black ? Mi nain know dr Laura appeal to anybody except he conservative white people ?</span> </div></div>Firss of all, de caller - a BW married to a WM - want a lick in her head back: how she a call white ooman fi advice on how fi deal wid racism? Mi nevah hear enyting so stupid. :kissteet: </div></div>
same thing I was thinking...........chupid woman
Well, this might be a message for those IN interracial relationships...that [a]it does NOT solve racial problems and [b] your spouse can call you the "N" word if you are black and the "yt--rhymes wid ending in "sh" word if you are Caucasian, and odda names race-specific, that R not politically correckk depending on who the spouse/partner happens to be.
Dis oooman dem seh ranted agenst 'gays' arreddi...narrow-minded and pathetic...goes to show that not all those who are supposedly "educated" are well-versed in the art of tolerance or haff kammansense.
<span style="color: #3333FF">....it IS a new day, thank you for your mercies Lord...haff a nice day, all aoonoh.</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...it's necessary for the caller's white husband to be as willing to look his friends and family members in the eye and say, "your comments are insulting to my wife and I want you to stop. Now!"
The real problem many of us have when confronting race matters is that we are too unwilling to challenge those closest to us. No child wants to enter into a verbal battle with his or her mother or father who may hold racist views, or willingly accept racial stereotypes. But none of us can be silent when that happens. It was the<span style="color: #FF0000"> <span style="font-weight: bold">Rev. Martin Luther King Jr. who said, "In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends."</span></span>
Source</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In Dr. Laura's rant, she and Jade (the black caller) did demonstrate some issues that blu often calls out on the board. It was actually quite spectacular in a bizarre kind of way. </div></div>
interracial racism ting ann dem issue aff self hate
imagine wan mzungu playting lisseninn too dat oyinbo ooman den lookinn fe sympathy cah shii married to wan mzungu man. itt bout dat mzungu playting natt luvinn arself ann seekinn acceptance fram oyinbo ann den gittinn upset wen dem doan show ar luv
wii knoo dat de racist oyinbo laura affii tekk bakk ar nwurd rant even dough shii didd itt to appeal to ar racist audience
Re: Dr. Schlessinger an 'di mzungu playting'
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Di caller is black ? Mi nain know dr Laura appeal to anybody except he conservative white people ? </div></div>
well now yu knoo shii awlso appeal to self hatinn mzungu playting. mii wandar iff annee sellout didd cawl ar soo shii cood cawl dem de n-wurd too
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Faithfull</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well, this might be a message for those IN interracial relationships...that [a]it does NOT solve racial problems and [b] your spouse can call you the "N" word if you are black and the "yt--rhymes wid ending in "sh" word if you are Caucasian, and odda names race-specific, that R not politically correckk depending on who the spouse/partner happens to be.
Dis oooman dem seh ranted agenst 'gays' arreddi...narrow-minded and pathetic...goes to show that not all those who are supposedly "educated" are well-versed in the art of tolerance or haff kammansense.
<span style="color: #3333FF">....it IS a new day, thank you for your mercies Lord...haff a nice day, all aoonoh.</span> </div></div>
yu knoo sum peeps inn interracial ting doan gitt upset iff dem partner cawl dem racist wurds. sum aff dem pon yah tink itt a turnn on
. wat baddar dem iss wen addar peeps wey dem nuh married use racist wurd fe describe dem
mii affii defend ar rant against funnee peeps ar tollerant tings a oyinbo racist program fe teach peeps fe bee racist inn a pc manner
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: remo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">Di caller is black ? Mi nain know dr Laura appeal to anybody except he conservative white people ?</span> </div></div>Firss of all, de caller - a BW married to a WM - want a lick in her head back: how she a call white ooman fi advice on how fi deal wid racism? Mi nevah hear enyting so stupid. :kissteet: </div></div>
same thing I was thinking...........chupid woman </div></div>
I believe that this woman whose yt husband tolerates the N-word from his yt friends feels that Dr Laura is partly to blame for the usage of the word with hubby and possibly in her earshot.. She should deal with hubby and his "friends" first, before taking on the Dr. .~ `Laura, it appears has had to apologize in the past for her inappropriate remarks on a variety of topics as she just did for allegedly "spewing" out the N-words... I would say she is definetely in the "racist" camp...