I planning a trip to Jamaica next summer...I've always wanted to go to Jamaica since I was likkle...was alway very interested in the culture because it is partly my cluture...My father is from west africa and I know that alot of Jamaican are of african or west african decent...so I grew up listenin to bob marley and other reggae artist...but back to what i am questioning....what I skeptical about going to jamaica now is reading reports of hate crimes against homosexuals...I am a lesbian and I planning a trip for my birthday for me and my I want to have a good time learning things about jamaica that I don't already know...so what I want to know is...is jamaica that homophbic that it wouldn't be safe for my girlfriend and I to visit?...Its not obvious that my girlfriend is gay but it is obvious that I am. so how bad is the phobia now that there are more homosexual living there lives openly.
Homophbia
Re: Homophbia
Definition of PHOBIA
: an exaggerated usually inexplicable and illogical fear of a particular object, class of objects, or situation
I've never agreed with this term called homophobia as it means to fear.
Jamaicans do not fear homosexuals, but they do not agree with them an some just don't like them.
IMO, why not go to Jamaica as just a person, unless it is your plan to go there and broadcast your lifestyle?
<span style="font-style: italic">a wundah if a draw shi a try draw wi out</span>
Shawt story... dere was a homoguy in our human rights meeting and him seh "it's just the same as the blacks and what your people had to go through" I said
"Hold on right there, do you get pulled over because your gay, do you get followed in the mall because your gay, have you ever not been hired because your gay, not received housing, not gotten a loan, not able to enter a neighborhood, extra checked at the border, etc etc etc.
From that day on he never repeated that foolishness again as let him know if he nuh ha no sign ar bumpah stickah an jus move troo like regulah ppl him naah guh ha no problem.
But de problem wid nuff gay ppl is dat dem waan de whole world fi si dem, when dem cyan guh troo wid no problem if...
So yes go to Jamaica an jus be a person and enjoy yourself.
You know, it is more accepting for women to travel together. Oftentimes women take trips together, and no one thinks anything about it. I think in Jamaica, it is possible for 2 lesbians to travel together as long as they are respecting Jamaican culture; i.e. no open displays of affection. If approached by men on the beach or in clubs, one can always politely decline the offer, the same as I would do. A sense of humor helps.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: YoungShotta</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I planning a trip to Jamaica next summer...I've always wanted to go to Jamaica since I was likkle...was alway very interested in the culture because it is partly my cluture...My father is from west africa and I know that alot of Jamaican are of african or west african decent...so I grew up listenin to bob marley and other reggae artist...but back to what i am questioning....what I skeptical about going to jamaica now is reading reports of hate crimes against homosexuals...I am a lesbian and I planning a trip for my birthday for me and my I want to have a good time learning things about jamaica that I don't already know...so what I want to know is...is jamaica that homophbic that it wouldn't be safe for my girlfriend and I to visit?...Its not obvious that my girlfriend is gay but it is obvious that I am. so how bad is the phobia now that there are more homosexual living there lives openly. </div></div>
Would you like some sausage?
Trust me, I'm me no matter where I go...Im a person no matter where I go, but because of my style of dress and my build most people mistake me for a man until they see the front of me and notice that I have breast...my lifestyle is more noticable then a lesbian that dress like "normal" females. Where I live it is more excepted and since I don't know jamaica like that just was wondering how to they handle the openly gay people there after reading a brochure sayin homosexuality prohibited which made me look futher in to it and found the law against male homosexuality and the hate crimes committed against them and women having hate crime commited against them too. So i'm just trying to see how serious of matter it is so I can protect myself. People may look at us different here in tha US but in most case no one is gonna get hurt because of it.
Doubt seriously if a man approach me (happens rarely)...my girlfriend maybe...but I get mistakin for a man most of the time so that what i'm worried bout...my lifestyle is more obvious then lesbians that dress, talk, and walk like "normal" females. And In the mist of having fun I don't want to have to watch my bacc or have to be overly cautious not to hold my girlfriend hand or holdin ha wait while walkin the tourist attration or what have u and hide being me. The whole purpose of the trip is to enjoy my birthday with my girlfriend in a beatuiful place that my heritage is connected to.
YoungShotta I don’t understand the point of your question:<span style="font-style: italic"> ‘is Jamaica that homophbic</span> (sic) <span style="font-style: italic">that it wouldn't be safe for my girlfriend and I to visit?.</span>
Have you looked at our crime statistics lately? Are you aware that many Jamaicans, particularly poor people, are not safe in their homes at night or as the go about their business in the day? Look sweetie, the majority of Jamaicans are far more concerned about their own safety than whether you look like a man with breasts. People can’t find work. The government is likely to lay off large numbers of public sector workers sooner or later. A general strike is looming. The health sector is in disarray and children “graduating” from high school and can’t read and write. Our roads are in terrible shape, corruption is rampant in every sector of the society and partisan politics has made a mockery of independence and democracy. Classism, colorism and racism continue to hamper the progress of significant numbers of people in the society and the remittances upon which many Jamaicans rely in order to eat are down because of the state of the economy in the US. So, do you really think that Jamaicans are going to stop what they are doing and go into panic mode when you and your girlfriend land ?
What is it that you really want now ? A police escort? Here is what you do. Go to an all inclusive resort where it will be all about you.
*kiss teet*
Please dont go....
JIMHO Jamaicans are for the most part homophobioc.. not uniquely so.... the Russians the Cubans the Malaysians in fact the only place on the planet people think anything wrong with being homophobic is the United States and north western europe..
In Barbados last month there was a transvestite competition and there was an out cry about it.
so if you have any doubt simply stay in Texas ? where there is no issue of homophobia...
As the Jamaican higgler put it in the 80's.. Two pat cover cyan fit.. <span style="color: #FF0000">and as far as I am concern sex is simply friction and what you do tbehind clothes doors is no concern of mine.. </span> Do what you want as long as it does not frighten the cattle....
howeever simply asking the question..suggests a whole multitude of possibilities.. from wanting the world to notice your diference from the majority to want ing to have a crusade... most monosexual couple who travelers simply get on with it and not make obvious outward signs of afffection and blend in.. by asking the question you have doubts then accept those doubts and dont go..
Do you have the right to travel to Jamaica ? yes you do.. and do Jamaicans havea right to their opnion yes....Even when I dont agree with it....
But my opnion of some one who uses Youngshotta as a name well that is unprintable...but you are entilted to such an offensive, irrevevant hurtful name on a Jamaican forum...suggests a lack of sensitivity.. but that is your right...but imho I would prefer you not to visit...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rollin_Calf</div><div class="ubbcode-body">YoungShotta I don’t understand the point of your question:<span style="font-style: italic"> ‘is Jamaica that homophbic</span> (sic) <span style="font-style: italic">that it wouldn't be safe for my girlfriend and I to visit?.</span>
Have you looked at our crime statistics lately? Are you aware that many Jamaicans, particularly poor people, are not safe in their homes at night or as the go about their business in the day? Look sweetie, the majority of Jamaicans are far more concerned about their own safety than whether you look like a man with breasts. People can’t find work. The government is likely to lay off large numbers of public sector workers sooner or later. A general strike is looming. The health sector is in disarray and children “graduating” from high school and can’t read and write. Our roads are in terrible shape, corruption is rampant in every sector of the society and partisan politics has made a mockery of independence and democracy. Classism, colorism and racism continue to hamper the progress of significant numbers of people in the society and the remittances upon which many Jamaicans rely in order to eat are down because of the state of the economy in the US. So, do you really think that Jamaicans are going to stop what they are doing and go into panic mode when you and your girlfriend land ?
What is it that you really want now ? A police escort? Here is what you do. Go to an all inclusive resort where it will be all about you.
*kiss teet*
<span style="font-size: 23pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">Fantastic reply!</span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: YoungShotta</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No Thanks...I have one of my own ; ) </div></div>
BOAL
den Derek she mussi noh kno sey fe you sausage is the real mcoy
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: YoungShotta</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No Thanks...I have one of my own ; ) </div></div>
BOAL
den Derek she mussi noh kno sey fe you sausage is the real mcoy </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: YoungShotta</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No Thanks...I have one of my own ; ) </div></div>