It is very hard for some of us Utech/UWI grads (namely me and ma spoogy) to get the opportunity of living and working overseas. I desperately want to go to Canada, because of the social and economical climate, and even though me cant really tek cold, I am prepared to brave the snow to create a better life for my family. I just completed my Bsc in Hospitality and Tourism Management, focusing on the hotel and resort management portion.. every summer I work in the industry, at Sandals, at Seaworld Orlando, Fairfield Inn Marriott, you name it, yet Im being told I need a job offer in order to recieve the Federal Skilled worker status. I have no family in Canada, so that is a next wrongbang fi me. I need some valuable advice, if oonu know the Jamaican system and know bout student loan bureau, and the economic crisis, you will understand and agree seh it crucial fi me fi find good paying work. Help Please
Help getting to Canada
Re: Help getting to Canada
juss asking u to clarify what it is is ur understanding of the social n economic climate in Canada...
n wich province r u thinking of n in light of the above
serious question...want to make sure u have the uptodate and accurate view of the place n not the old grass greener on the other side
looking forward to reading ur ansa
Jah Bless
Alberta supposedly looking forward to a rebirth with the oil prices going up..of course the talk of rebirth is to show u that there has been a decline in recent years
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MsHolness</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is very hard for some of us Utech/UWI grads (namely me and ma spoogy) to get the opportunity of living and working overseas. I desperately want to go to Canada, because of the social and economical climate, and even though me cant really tek cold, I am prepared to brave the snow to create a better life for my family. I just completed my Bsc in Hospitality and Tourism Management, focusing on the hotel and resort management portion.. every summer I work in the industry, at Sandals, at Seaworld Orlando, Fairfield Inn Marriott, you name it, yet Im being told I need a job offer in order to recieve the Federal Skilled worker status. I have no family in Canada, so that is a next wrongbang fi me. I need some valuable advice, if oonu know the Jamaican system and know bout student loan bureau, and the economic crisis, you will understand and agree seh it crucial fi me fi find good paying work. Help Please </div></div>
have another suggestion...y not try the Middle East...they r booming in so far as tourism building...lots of hotels etc going on n they r famous r could be said to be notorious for hiring outside management...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MsHolness</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is very hard for some of us Utech/UWI grads (namely me and ma spoogy) to get the opportunity of living and working overseas. I desperately want to go to Canada, because of the social and economical climate, and even though me cant really tek cold, I am prepared to brave the snow to create a better life for my family. I just completed my Bsc in Hospitality and Tourism Management, focusing on the hotel and resort management portion.. every summer I work in the industry, at Sandals, at Seaworld Orlando, Fairfield Inn Marriott, you name it, <span style="font-weight: bold">yet Im being told I need a job offer in order to recieve the Federal Skilled worker status. I </span>have no family in Canada, so that is a next wrongbang fi me. I need some valuable advice, if oonu know the Jamaican system and know bout student loan bureau, and the economic crisis, you will understand and agree seh it crucial fi me fi find good paying work. Help Please </div></div>
never heard of that but then the l;aws can be changed
but do know that u have to be working in your country
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">juss asking u to clarify what it is is ur understanding of the social n economic climate in Canada...
serious question...want to make sure u have the uptodate and accurate view of the place n not the old grass greener on the other side
Jah Bless
Alberta supposedly looking forward to a rebirth with the oil prices going up..of course the talk of rebirth is to show u that there has been a decline in recent years </div></div>
well seem like she seen some a de green grass on de other side as she worked in the US
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i doan know much about the canadian system.
but i thought that people with degree and work experience could file on their own? </div></div>
i get the impression that the hiring in tourism here if fi housekeeping etc....they have enuff homegrown fi management...is the service entry jobs they need to fill.. n Canada seems to be reviewing its immigration policy as a whole except fi ur buying ur way in...i.e.have a million dollars upfront n proof of being able to invest , start a bizniz...even doctors dont breeze in unless they r willing to go to underserved areas n wen they chose that the provinces pay them a fee to continue to stay...for all this landmass the population is really small but den some of dis landmass tek people wid heart fi live deh
From my research I have found that the economical climate is significantly better than Jamaica's, the minimum wage is higher, and items are affordable.
I have never been there before so my information is all second hand.
Socially, I have heard that a great amount of racism exists, especially in the northern territories. Am I correct in these assumptions?
I would prefer to live and work in Toronto. But if you have any suggestions, I would very much like to read them.
I am very grateful for your prompt response. Thank you
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">juss asking u to clarify what it is is ur understanding of the social n economic climate in Canada...
Jah Bless
Alberta supposedly looking forward to a rebirth with the oil prices going up..of course the talk of rebirth is to show u that there has been a decline in recent years </div></div>
well seem like she seen some a de green grass on de other side as she worked in the US </div></div>
u know i dont think so cause wages in Florida vs living expenses can sometimes not match up...i really think she needs to look away from NA to newly emerging opportunities like i suggested.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MsHolness</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The U.S has no greener side, It is just as racist as I expect any other country is, and has the same issues...the fact of the matter is that <span style="font-weight: bold">the dollar is higher</span>, thus giving us more opportunities to return to Jamaica with a little more change in the pocket. </div></div>
not by much