Re: Baby Doc returns to Haiti....Heaven help dat i
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi really nuh see him a gwaan wid nothing. There is nothing left in that country fi teef </div></div>
all di supposed donated money will be dere...an all the contracts dat gwine to be about wid di massive rebuilding..an all di farrin companies dat gwine to be dere to get kickbak from to gi dem greenlight fi wateva project dem wan fi do
chile di money making possibilities r nuff fi established politrixians wid history of disservice to dem nation but having healthy bank accounts...his need replenishing
btw whe Papa Doc bury? if in Haiti, wonda if him grave get destroyed?
whole heap amoney deh bout dung deh man, if him know wat him doing him can prosper offa di poor ppl dem backs
But did u guys see him, him nuh look frail and doddering to oonu? him out mi in mind a ron reagan, wid di shakiness and that wideeyed, open mouth stare very scary old man- wanda if him have supm?
Yes but the NGO dem seh dem collecting the pledges on a trickle by trickle basis, and donor countries barely waan give the current govt the money cause dem have poor money mgmt skills, suh mi just a wonder where Doc think him can really get money from ?
Couple shillings yes but mi nuh see him a get access to nuh big coffers
apparently he has a few supporters but not many if him nuh mind sharp dem gwine chap up him watsitnatsit dung deh
Re: an so it stawts..even while saying Baby wont say y
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">cakes be honest..even in you ideal system the candidates are chosen by the "party" </div></div>
RichD,
I have posted my response to this several times in the recent past.
I went back into the International forum and copied this from a response to much the same thing that Franksterr said:
"In contrast the argument goes on to say Cuba is a single party system but the CCP "is not an electoral party". IT DOES NOT OFFICIALLY NOMINATE OR SUPPORT ANY CANDIDATE. It does not make laws nor does it choose the chief of state. Those are the tasks of the National Assembly which is elected by the people. One does not need to be a card carrying party member to participate in that Assembly. It is true that the majority of the delegates are party members but many are not. Besides, not everyone can join the party. Almost 15% of the adult population are members of the CCP. Those wishing to join must go through a selection process that includes interviewing coworkers and friends. They must be model citizens, strong defenders of the revolution, good workers, loved and respected by their colleagues and friends, participated and assumed leadership positions in the organizations of masses, good spouses and parents, of exemplary character, avoid excessive drinking, etc. The party is thus the vanguard of the revolution and has an enormous influence. BUT ITS AUTHORITY IS OF A MORAL, NOT A LEGAL NATURE.
FYI Rich,
In Cuba the candidates at the Municipal Assembly level are nominated by the people of a given voting district from amongst the people of that voting district. They may well be members of the PCC but they also do not have to be. It is just logical that those who are interested in the running of the government in Cuba, a socialist country, are also often members of PCC since the running of the economy is tied closely to the running of the society.
Likewise, in the United States the economy is tightly bound to the government but unlike in Cuba, the people who run the economy in the United States also control the government through legal bribery which does not happen in Cuba. That is why we do not have universal health care , full employment, adequate social welfare programs, free and universal educational opportunities and the Cubans do because that is the will of the Cuban people and not the owners of corporations as it is here..
really how is that any more perfect than the system we have here in Canada?
the fact is that even though candidates can be nominated by anybody those selected for election are selected by a central committee..and then to top that off there isn't even a choice in the actual election so in effect the rep is selected by the central committee.
RichD,
That Canadian system sounds like they can easily and effectively void the public's choice in that way.
If the public can choose anyone then someone from the central committee can make sure that the committees choice is somehow nominated and then they choose him/her to be the candidate even though a majority of the public might have wanted someone else by a large margin.
That does not happen in Cuba because there is no central committee. They have a sort of moderator who only asks for nominations from the assembled electorate and then makes the list of candidates from ALL those whom the electorate nominates. That list is then posted in a public place for the public to read and familiarize themselves with the candidates and that same list goes on the ballot which they vote on.
It's direct democracy in the process of electing representatives in a representative democracy (republic) as it should be.
The reason that so few know how democratic the Cuban electoral system is should be more than obvious; the U.S government does not want us to know .
Think about it. Have you or anyone you know ever seen or heard it explained on TV, radio, newspaper, news magazines in the U.S (or Canadian) media?
My guess is that I am the only one who has explained this to you.
There is a book entitled; "Democracy In Cuba: The 1997-1998 Elections"
by CANADIAN author Arnold August and used copies are available fairly cheap at Amazon. This is one of a very few books that goes into great detail on Poder Popular in Cuba and I highly recommend it.
( My review of the book appears at the Amazon site.)
thats not the Canadain system i commented on ..thats the Cuban system
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The final list of candidates is drawn up by the National Candidature Commission taking into account criteria such as candidates' merit, patriotism, ethical values and revolutionary history</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
That does not happen in Cuba because there is no central committee. They have a sort of moderator who only asks for nominations from the assembled electorate and then makes the list of candidates from ALL those whom the electorate nominates. That list is then posted in a public place for the public to read and familiarize themselves with the candidates and that same list goes on the ballot which they vote on.
I
i don't think you are accurate
Thanks for the correction RichD,
source?
I have some reading to do as this contradicts what I know about the Cuban system.
I DO know that at the Municipal level the elected have to report back to the electorate at six month intervals at which meetings they can be ejected and new candidates nominated so I want to know how this fits in with your information.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I
i don't think you are accurate </div></div>
RichD,
That is how I read every detailed account of Poder Popular.
Give me some of your sources so I can cross check.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I
i don't think you are accurate </div></div>
RichD,
That is how I read every detailed account of Poder Popular.
Give me some of your sources so I can cross check.
Thanks. </div></div>
i hope it doesn't rock your world
according to law, up to 50% of the Deputies must be delegates chosen in each municipality. Parliamentary candidates are otherwise proposed by nominating assemblies which comprise representatives of workers, youth, women, students and farmers as well as members of the Committees for the Defence of the Revolution. <span style="font-weight: bold">The final list of candidates, which corresponds to the number of seats to be filled, is drawn up by the National Candidature Commission</span> taking into account criteria such as candidates' merit, patriotism, ethical values and revolutionary history.
RichD,
I d checked out about five websites on this.
You are correct but (I believe) this procedure applies only to the NATIONAL Assembly members..
The deputies in the National Assembly are chosen by and from the members of the Provincial (state) Assemblies who, in turn, are elected by and from the Municipal Assemblies who are nominated and elected in the manner in which I described.
I would still maintain that this is or could be a way to come between what the people of Cuba want and what the leadership or the PCC might want but that would infer that what they are doing is not what the people of Cuba want and I cannot say that is either so or not so, just possible given the very democratic way the Municipal and Provincial deputies are nominated and elected.
This may be a way to prevent enemies of the revolution from somehow reaching the higher levels of the Cuban government while facing open U.S hostility but since I can find no figures on who MIGHT have been rejected by the Commission or how many have been rejected by the commission over the years it is difficult to say how much of an effect the commission may have had on who and who doesn't reach the National Assembly.
Just the fact that the revolution is overwhelmingly supported in Cuba would tend to indicate that an opponent of the revolution would face an impossible task in just getting nominated by his neighbors at the Municipal level, much less elected.
Even were he/she to somehow get elected, the chance of that anti-revolutionary getting selected by his fellow deputies and moving up to Provincial level would be even smaller.
An anti-revolutionary reaching the National level would be close to impossible given the pro-revolutionary mindset of the population and the elected Assemblies even without the existence of the Candidature Commission.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.