Re: Question for the day?
<span style="font-style: italic">ah mussi daht them was thinking why mi get crickets...</span>
well them ask mi to explain ahn mi try mi best...mi nu think mi was effective...not that mi care what them think about what mi have to say....
The way mi seet is this...
The pikney them weh mi teach abuse the educational system (so much as it is) cah them know seh them <span style="text-decoration: underline">must</span> get it. Now who the must is open to debate, IMO. That must can be the law, societal mandate, etc and the pikney know that no matter what them do or not do in the case of di ex-bakrah them will di deh same way.
Now to answer Richard, mi agree that how a person is raised may play a role. Like for instance when mi was growing, my parents mek mi know that the only ting I was entilted to in life was death. So mi could go a school ahn nu study mi lesson cah although di teacher may inquire (both in Ja and then later in the US) about mi whereabouts....that is where the concern would stop. ILP parents mek she know that as far as them was concerned I could stay home ah sweep out di yaad if mi want to go school go waste people time. <--in other words, education was not entitled to it. So what did I do? Mi gladly get up ah mawnin time, of course making sure that mi press mi uniform from di night before...ahn fine miself at the school door before the first bell ring.
That mek any sense to oonu
<span style="font-style: italic">ah mussi daht them was thinking why mi get crickets...</span>

well them ask mi to explain ahn mi try mi best...mi nu think mi was effective...not that mi care what them think about what mi have to say....
The way mi seet is this...
The pikney them weh mi teach abuse the educational system (so much as it is) cah them know seh them <span style="text-decoration: underline">must</span> get it. Now who the must is open to debate, IMO. That must can be the law, societal mandate, etc and the pikney know that no matter what them do or not do in the case of di ex-bakrah them will di deh same way.
Now to answer Richard, mi agree that how a person is raised may play a role. Like for instance when mi was growing, my parents mek mi know that the only ting I was entilted to in life was death. So mi could go a school ahn nu study mi lesson cah although di teacher may inquire (both in Ja and then later in the US) about mi whereabouts....that is where the concern would stop. ILP parents mek she know that as far as them was concerned I could stay home ah sweep out di yaad if mi want to go school go waste people time. <--in other words, education was not entitled to it. So what did I do? Mi gladly get up ah mawnin time, of course making sure that mi press mi uniform from di night before...ahn fine miself at the school door before the first bell ring.
That mek any sense to oonu
....anyway carry on let me learn from the more learnhead (and yes me know that is not a word)ones in here