<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a head covering is not a burqa </div></div>
Burga hijab.. you get the gist teacher.. </div></div>
i think specificity is important in this discussion.
many faith traditions require a head covering for woman ...is there a problem with those too?
Please sumaddy!!!! if I ever go outside nekkid looking all multi-colour like that puhleeeeze sumaddy shoot me get a blastid tan inna di backyawdd an doan assault me yeye dem puhleeeze
I was going to say I have never been too fond of those nun habits either, but I figured I had used up my acceptable word allocation for one post.
The thing I specifically don't like is the full face veil with just the eyes showing. However, since I didn't know specifically what they were called, I just referred to them as full face veils.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the thing is i think most of these women want to wear their religious gear...
most people think it is forced on them (which i'm sure it is in some instances) but for the most part i think these women wear it voluntarily due to their cultural & religious indoctrination </div></div>
Right this moment, I don't know if France is big on religious freedom. If I had to take a history exam from school, I'd need a good 2 hour nap first. This means I cannot speak to it on that angle.
Common sense tells me that the reason could not be that they wanted to show these women they didn't have to cover their faces in some parts of the world. If they couldn't ascertain that just by walking bout the place, then lawd send help.
I think they just don't like it. I get that because I don't. I don't think the head coverings or other loose robes are being banned but just the full face veil thing. That's what I got from the two articles even if they did not call it by the proper name.
All this religious head body covering is just oppression of women by men.
The women need to wear the head coverings so the brutish men don't get an erection from seeing a woman's face and hair (omigod I saw her HAIR) , get light headed and lose track of their prayers to Allah.
In orthodox synagogues the women sit separately for the same reason.
God forbid a man should be praying deep in contact with his spirituality when BINGO "OOOOOH just look at the hair and boobs on Myra Goldstein" and that's when the prayer line to God gets disconnected.
Men just can't be around women without losing it.
And all the religions that came out of the Middle East recognized this fact long ago and adjusted their rules accordingly. Otherwise nobody would pay attention to the sermons.
Any society where the woman are both forced to cover themselves by law or by social pressures from religious fanatics are primitive societies, misogynist societies and should not be permitted.
I say let an all-woman panel in each country decide what they will or will not wear.
As it is with abortion , the men should butt OUT. The decision is for the women to make.
And there should be a mandatory death or emasculation penalty for all rapists who go nuts when they see a woman's face and hair and wind up with one of those four hour erections that Viagra warns you about. If only for their criminal lack of imagination.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: H_O</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Canada need to follow suit. go over there and dont follow there Islamic law and see where it get you.
dont like it. LEAVE.
were expected to allow them there religious freedoms,,but go to Afghanistan and start handing out bibles and see where it gets u </div></div> isn't they why then sey we expending blood and treasure over there?
persecuted for not wearing it at home and persecuted for wearing it abroad.....
Why did these Muslims leave their home country to live in France or in HO's neighborhood?
Aye sah
But then there in the "churches" for example the Jamaican Pentecostal Church up here where you HAVE TO cover your head but at least these women have the choice to go or not go
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: pleXxed</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a head covering is not a burqa </div></div>
many faith traditions require a head covering for woman ...is there a problem with those too?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wonder how common it had become why they felt so uncomfortable that they thought they need a law </div></div>It's estimated that about 2,000 women where a burqa in France. The overall population of France is in the 60-70 million range.
many faith traditions require a head covering for woman ...is there a problem with those too? </div></div>
This is a burqa:
I don't like burqas but the problem with the law is that it targets a very small, defined segment of the population because of their gender and religion. Why aren't people who walk around with a motorcyle helmet on covered by this law too? Their faces are covered too so they present the same sort of danger as someone in a burqa. From my understanding of the law, it will probably be ruled unconstitutional or invalid by the EU.
it's not common either here in diverse toronto. but i confess i get a wrench in my gut when i see a woman covered from head to toe except for her eyes. it is that abhorrent to me.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wonder how common it had become why they felt so uncomfortable that they thought they need a law </div></div>It's estimated that about 2,000 women where a burqa in France. The overall population of France is in the 60-70 million range. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">i think it's the covering of all the face except the eyes (in the case of the hijab and niqab) that is at issue.
france is a fiercely secular country. i hear they even look at u strange if u wear a cross that's big.</span> </div></div>French people don't discuss religion much and their eyes cross if you talk about beliefs, etc. I do notice that Muslims are treated one way and Orthodox Jews (who mainly keep to themselves, i.e. go to their own schools, run their businesses and create their own jobs) another. The fact that strict Muslims who want to wear their beards or hijab also want to attend public schools and get mainstream jobs poses a problem for the French. From offhand comments I've heard made about Orthodox Jews, if they tried to become more involved in society at large it would be an issue for most French people too.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.