Re: 25.1% aff blakk families hungry
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">[
Yes Sue in some poor neighborhoods in NYC [Harlem] there are no big supermarkets only those small corner shops bogeda (sp) and they don't sell fruits maybe they carry small amount of apples, ripe bananas or oranges and the prices for these are extremely high so poor people cannot afford to buy these staples every day. I know they have recently opened 2 large chain supermarkets in Harlem but it is not accessible to everyone. <span style="font-weight: bold">Some would have to take the train and or 1 or 2 buses just to go food shopping. </span> I just recently moved from upper Manhattan and had one of those bodega on the ground floor of my building. I could not afford to buy anything there but the newspaper. The mark-up on the goods were so high only people with the benefit cards shopped there. Thankfully, there were a few spanish markets with green bananas, plantain, avacados, name, dasheen, etc. Dasheen is $2.48 per lb and I work but I think it is too expensive to buy. If you are poor with 3 or 4 children buying rice, flour, potatoes and cornmeal will stretch further than buying from the food groups that is healthier for everyone. </div></div>
My auntie whe live a connedicut tekk chree bus an den walk bout 4 miles a Satdey day time fi guh buy food fi har chirrun dem. Shi mekk dem guh widd har dese days suh dem can help cyarry di bag dem.
Fi har kids would neva have tuh worry bout eida obesity nor hunger for dem have responsibilities.
Mi nat even waah talk bout mi fambly a JA whe still mekk dem way (however possible) fi guh a mawkit guh buy fresh fruits and vegetabble fi di week.
Wen yuh want what is best <span style="font-weight: bold">ain't no mountain high enuff, ain't no valley low enuff...</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">[
Yes Sue in some poor neighborhoods in NYC [Harlem] there are no big supermarkets only those small corner shops bogeda (sp) and they don't sell fruits maybe they carry small amount of apples, ripe bananas or oranges and the prices for these are extremely high so poor people cannot afford to buy these staples every day. I know they have recently opened 2 large chain supermarkets in Harlem but it is not accessible to everyone. <span style="font-weight: bold">Some would have to take the train and or 1 or 2 buses just to go food shopping. </span> I just recently moved from upper Manhattan and had one of those bodega on the ground floor of my building. I could not afford to buy anything there but the newspaper. The mark-up on the goods were so high only people with the benefit cards shopped there. Thankfully, there were a few spanish markets with green bananas, plantain, avacados, name, dasheen, etc. Dasheen is $2.48 per lb and I work but I think it is too expensive to buy. If you are poor with 3 or 4 children buying rice, flour, potatoes and cornmeal will stretch further than buying from the food groups that is healthier for everyone. </div></div>
My auntie whe live a connedicut tekk chree bus an den walk bout 4 miles a Satdey day time fi guh buy food fi har chirrun dem. Shi mekk dem guh widd har dese days suh dem can help cyarry di bag dem.
Fi har kids would neva have tuh worry bout eida obesity nor hunger for dem have responsibilities.Mi nat even waah talk bout mi fambly a JA whe still mekk dem way (however possible) fi guh a mawkit guh buy fresh fruits and vegetabble fi di week.
Wen yuh want what is best <span style="font-weight: bold">ain't no mountain high enuff, ain't no valley low enuff...</span>