Re: hey alll u AFRICAN Anerican...mi no memba who tell
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and africans know that black americans descented from africa - they are not ignorant of that fact
but how we grew is different from how they grew - or so we think
too many foods, too many sayings, too many ways have been passed down from our african ancestors and are still being passed on
now i don't profess to having met all the africans on the continent and surveying them statiscally
i can say - the few i have met - have embraced me - and together we connected the bridge that the enslavers never wanted to see connected
but just like the willie lynch letter (which may be fake) some folks still work to divide us - black and white - plenty of black people that hate themselves
my son abu was passed over for adoption by other couples because he was "too black" - smdh
this holiday season we are excited to go to visit our garifuna brothers and sisters, dance punta and explore our connections and my pre-vacation research shows there are many
hey juss report wat was told to me by a one who had an African at an African border correct his usage....i am amuse by the direction of the discussion....African American is not a legal nationality....i believe it is still American.....i dont think i have ever hear someone at Miami seh i am Afro Caribbean..dem juss seh Jcan r Bajan r Trini
as no one has interviewed the entire continent of Africa on views of the diaspora no one has interviewd the entirre black american pop of 12m in the US on how they define demselves....off the bat i seem to memba dat the last bastions of the brown paper bag club hold out dat dem is juss American
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and africans know that black americans descented from africa - they are not ignorant of that fact
but how we grew is different from how they grew - or so we think
too many foods, too many sayings, too many ways have been passed down from our african ancestors and are still being passed on
now i don't profess to having met all the africans on the continent and surveying them statiscally
i can say - the few i have met - have embraced me - and together we connected the bridge that the enslavers never wanted to see connected
but just like the willie lynch letter (which may be fake) some folks still work to divide us - black and white - plenty of black people that hate themselves
my son abu was passed over for adoption by other couples because he was "too black" - smdh
this holiday season we are excited to go to visit our garifuna brothers and sisters, dance punta and explore our connections and my pre-vacation research shows there are many
hey juss report wat was told to me by a one who had an African at an African border correct his usage....i am amuse by the direction of the discussion....African American is not a legal nationality....i believe it is still American.....i dont think i have ever hear someone at Miami seh i am Afro Caribbean..dem juss seh Jcan r Bajan r Trini
as no one has interviewed the entire continent of Africa on views of the diaspora no one has interviewd the entirre black american pop of 12m in the US on how they define demselves....off the bat i seem to memba dat the last bastions of the brown paper bag club hold out dat dem is juss American