Re: colorism jam.com styleee
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
you can't take all the propaganda you see in the press to heart...
marley was already lead singer of the wailers long before chris blackwell...go ask joe higgs, coxone dodd and lee "scratch" perry...
well i was in jamaica in the ghetto areas in the 70's & early 80's and i know for a fact that the grassroot ghetto jamaican had mad love for bob marley...plus my mon knew and respected him...suh babylonia propaganda & tricknology naw cloud I mind...
big ras-pect to the prophet everytime
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">itt deer a a diffarance between lead singer aff de wailer ann bob marley ann da wailers?nuh alleged "teefinn" scratch wey didd cawl whitewell a vampire ann blame imm fe marley death. </div></div>
yes chris b. had his own reasons for putting bob marley up front...and bob had his own reasons for trying to get greater exposure for his works...chris b. probably figured marley was the more marketable character on an internationa level---perhaps he figured him being lightskinned would help...he is a businessman trying to sell records & make money...
the time had come regardless for the trinity of bob, peter & bunny to strengthen the trod within each man's own framework...peter even said the time for backing up bob for most of the wailers tracks---as was always the case with the wailers---had come to an end...give thanks because i love peter's solo works....as well as his works when leading on the wailers tracks...
but in my opinion bob was undeniably charged with something...he was just carrying the fire...dem love him inna africa...(go figure)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mii natt denyinn bob wass real kool ann mii cuz knew imm too. jy awl de thyme pon yah ann yu cyaan tell woo da ghetto peeps pon yah ar
sah wat mii chattinn bout iss colorism inn da music industree dat made itt nessceecary fe da mixxed race lita skinned marley fe bee da lead singer aff da wailers ann oww dat force tosh ann bunny to da side. whitewell ann dem addar producers now a days wey bigg upp lita blakk skinn artists att de xxpense aff darkka skinn blakk artists know da realitee wii livinn inn wey lita skinn equal a greata chance aff success. </div></div>
yes there is colorism in the music industry...but in my opinion bob marley was the most dynamic of the wailers...just based on the music alone...a suh me feel
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">da colorism argument iss dat lita skin iss equated to greata success. texx itt even furdar sum peeps even wandar y vibz bleach ignorinn da realitee da de histaree aff de wailers show dat oyinbo charactaristic ar more valued bye oyinbo society ann sum blakks. dat y vibz feel itt okay fe sell cake soap ann addar products fe mekk dark skinn peeps look less blakk. mii even ear wan dark skinn yuth defendinn vibz bleachinn as look oww much more successful mj became aftah imm bleach. still mii knoo sum peeps will still deny dat color add anneeting fe doo widd marley success</div></div>
i already addressed the colorism thing...but i will not attribute everything to color...that would be ridiculous;
i pay more attention to the works of the people than their skin tone...if bob being light-skin is what made him then a juss suh...
but my feeling differs...i think his power was the vibe & message he delivered...Rastafari!! to the four corners of the earth...selah!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wance itt became bob marley ann da wailer dat created division ann led to canflict dat strenghten da oyinbo hand at de blakk men xxpense. dat iss da goal aff colorism fe create division mong blakks ann lead blakks unable fe discuss de common prablem cah wii focus pon da separate problems. raddar dan seyinn dat yess racist colorism system benefitted marley cah imm wass a mixxed race lite skin blakk man ann tosh ann bunny feared wurst cah dem were da darkka skinned blakk men da issue becum defendinn da separate individuals cah individuals more important dan bunninn fiyah pon colorism </div></div>
i hear you...but there are plenty of light-skinned artists who fell off...and plenty of dark-skinned legends...but not even the beatles nor the jacksons stayed together...i can't really judge the circumstances of their disbanding-- but iz just my personal opinion...marley is the true king fi reggae;
<span style="font-style: italic">a weh dem a guh duh fi move bob marley crown?</span>
"kette drum" beenie man
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
you can't take all the propaganda you see in the press to heart...
marley was already lead singer of the wailers long before chris blackwell...go ask joe higgs, coxone dodd and lee "scratch" perry...
well i was in jamaica in the ghetto areas in the 70's & early 80's and i know for a fact that the grassroot ghetto jamaican had mad love for bob marley...plus my mon knew and respected him...suh babylonia propaganda & tricknology naw cloud I mind...
big ras-pect to the prophet everytime
</div></div><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">itt deer a a diffarance between lead singer aff de wailer ann bob marley ann da wailers?nuh alleged "teefinn" scratch wey didd cawl whitewell a vampire ann blame imm fe marley death. </div></div>
yes chris b. had his own reasons for putting bob marley up front...and bob had his own reasons for trying to get greater exposure for his works...chris b. probably figured marley was the more marketable character on an internationa level---perhaps he figured him being lightskinned would help...he is a businessman trying to sell records & make money...
the time had come regardless for the trinity of bob, peter & bunny to strengthen the trod within each man's own framework...peter even said the time for backing up bob for most of the wailers tracks---as was always the case with the wailers---had come to an end...give thanks because i love peter's solo works....as well as his works when leading on the wailers tracks...
but in my opinion bob was undeniably charged with something...he was just carrying the fire...dem love him inna africa...(go figure)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">mii natt denyinn bob wass real kool ann mii cuz knew imm too. jy awl de thyme pon yah ann yu cyaan tell woo da ghetto peeps pon yah ar
sah wat mii chattinn bout iss colorism inn da music industree dat made itt nessceecary fe da mixxed race lita skinned marley fe bee da lead singer aff da wailers ann oww dat force tosh ann bunny to da side. whitewell ann dem addar producers now a days wey bigg upp lita blakk skinn artists att de xxpense aff darkka skinn blakk artists know da realitee wii livinn inn wey lita skinn equal a greata chance aff success. </div></div>
yes there is colorism in the music industry...but in my opinion bob marley was the most dynamic of the wailers...just based on the music alone...a suh me feel
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">da colorism argument iss dat lita skin iss equated to greata success. texx itt even furdar sum peeps even wandar y vibz bleach ignorinn da realitee da de histaree aff de wailers show dat oyinbo charactaristic ar more valued bye oyinbo society ann sum blakks. dat y vibz feel itt okay fe sell cake soap ann addar products fe mekk dark skinn peeps look less blakk. mii even ear wan dark skinn yuth defendinn vibz bleachinn as look oww much more successful mj became aftah imm bleach. still mii knoo sum peeps will still deny dat color add anneeting fe doo widd marley success</div></div>
i already addressed the colorism thing...but i will not attribute everything to color...that would be ridiculous;
i pay more attention to the works of the people than their skin tone...if bob being light-skin is what made him then a juss suh...
but my feeling differs...i think his power was the vibe & message he delivered...Rastafari!! to the four corners of the earth...selah!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wance itt became bob marley ann da wailer dat created division ann led to canflict dat strenghten da oyinbo hand at de blakk men xxpense. dat iss da goal aff colorism fe create division mong blakks ann lead blakks unable fe discuss de common prablem cah wii focus pon da separate problems. raddar dan seyinn dat yess racist colorism system benefitted marley cah imm wass a mixxed race lite skin blakk man ann tosh ann bunny feared wurst cah dem were da darkka skinned blakk men da issue becum defendinn da separate individuals cah individuals more important dan bunninn fiyah pon colorism </div></div>
i hear you...but there are plenty of light-skinned artists who fell off...and plenty of dark-skinned legends...but not even the beatles nor the jacksons stayed together...i can't really judge the circumstances of their disbanding-- but iz just my personal opinion...marley is the true king fi reggae;
<span style="font-style: italic">a weh dem a guh duh fi move bob marley crown?</span>
"kette drum" beenie man