<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wameck tufton neva get the leadership over holness? sounded like tufton commanded some level of respect... </div></div>
Because Tufton face always screw an him nuh smiley smiley like Holness.
Is face man dem waan not brain man.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">wameck tufton neva get the leadership over holness? sounded like tufton commanded some level of respect... </div></div>
Mr. Tufton is just pure Media hype as Mr. Golding was. Comrades loved him because he was always nice and soft. He could not run the Party.
If Mr. Tufton was Leader the JLP would have lost.
The JLP lost on failure to live of to billing.
Scoring own goals.
Calling an Election too soon.
If they had waited they would at least got the stench of Bruised Golding further away, could have made a new, less onerous agreement with the IMF, completed some of the projects they negotiated, got a lift from Independence/Olympics.
More importantly the new Candidates would have been able to work with their intended electors and put more JLP folks on the Voters list.
As can been discerned, the Base of both Party[s] came out. The swing went against the JLP. Knowing who you put on a new voters list would have been at least a competitive edge.
you say Tufton was soft and nice, magix say him was screwface. maybe him woulda do no better or worse than Holness, because it seems that the JLP were mostly defeated by the timing of the election, as you and many others have pointed out.
and yet, when the election was called, i remember reading posts on the Observer where JLP supporters felt that the quick timing was a masterful piece of strategy. they felt that it showed Holness as being decisive in a good way. I think the supporters also felt Golding's resignation and the selection of a new breed of leader in Holness was a kind of high that would appeal to the electorate, and that it was better to strike while the iron hot and hold election. certainly there was a sense that the early election would discombobulate the PNP, that it would be their nightmare, cause they wouldnt have time to tarnish the new and forward looking JLP under Holness.
we can see that the strategy did not work. lots of feeling from both sides that many JLP would have stood a chance had they put in the constituency work from back in 2007 and been a little less arrogant.
they also misjudged the impact of their americanization of political campaigning with their attack ads against PSM. those seem to have backfired in a big way.
btw, happy new year, TG. Hope 2012 is good to you and your loved ones.
Does any one remember what thread had the clip of Portia losing the paper for her speech? It was discussed at a little get together last night. I want to send a lnk to a couple of people.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaica_dreamin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Does any one remember what thread had the clip of Portia losing the paper for her speech? It was discussed at a little get together last night. I want to send a lnk to a couple of people.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
you say Tufton was soft and nice, magix say him was screwface.</div></div>
Given the small margin, only 13 votes, I certainly hope Tufton will insist on a magisterial recount. In the 2007 elections there were a number of seats that went back and forth like that and a magisterial recount was done to settle it. Maybe the JLP will catch a break here, but right now God seems to be really angry with the JLP. They just can't seem to catch a break.
G2K offered an interesting take on why the JLP lost and lost so big in the Observer. They say it had nothing to do with Mannat/Dudus or JDIP but was related to the 40,000 new voters added to the Nov 30 voters list. The PNP had spent months canvassing for voters for enumeration in the seats that were marginally won by the JLP in 2007 and making sure those enumerated voters showed up on election day. That strategy appeared to have payed off big time. All it took was for a few hundred of those voters to turn up and vote in each of those marginal constituencies to move the needle the PNP's way. Note that the JLP appears to have lost most of the marginal seats it took home in 2007. Still it begs the question why the JLP and G2K did not employ a similar strategy - this is election 101. Enumeration can help determine a likely winner before a single ballot is cast.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">and yet, when the election was called, i remember reading posts on the Observer where JLP supporters felt that the quick timing was a masterful piece of strategy. </div></div>
<span style="font-style: italic">Happy New Year to you and Yours as well!</span>
One thing sad that the Bruce Golding led JLP did, was to confirm every charge ever leveled against the JLP and more.
For one thing this argument about arrogance was a total fabrication and came in vogue immediately as the JLP won.
It is Jamaican to be arrogant and who was more arrogant than Comrade Party Leaders?
To list even a small fraction of the bombastic statements and put-downs they made about the Jamaica Citizens (especially JLP Party and Membership), would take up the whole board. Even in 2007 they were still at it. In fact watch some of the G2K attack Ads on Portia and you can see at the very heart of it is statements made about Portia by Comrades.....but with all that said Bruce Golding and Leadership of the JLP fired a few barbs too, when it would have been prudent to hold their tongues. No one capitalize on JLP miscues like Comrade Leadership and their mouthpieces.
The next thing is timing. The Timing issue was based on the mistake that Portia made on 2007, but that was Portia and the PNP. The only stock in trade they had was a cult-like <span style="font-weight: bold">I-Comrade-Leedah</span>. The JLP pretends to be more, so swapping Bruce for Drew and calling an election on Drew's looks was never going to work. The only way this was going to work was for Bruce to dissolve Parliament, then call a snap-Election. This would have been the better political tool to use, rather than new leader, new Candidates, bracketed by failed promises and corruption.
What G2K has now recognized and what I have been saying all along is the JLP did not know who were the recent additions to the voters list. JLP strategists should have therefore assumed they were citizens favouring the PNP, since Comrades had been campaigning since 2007.
In my opinion, this is akin to an NFL rivalry game. You go to an away game, the other team has home field advantage and what more using a line-up unfamiliar to you.
Your team is an an hoc mixture of subs and vets (as a team you are untested).
Game Day, you get the ball first and elect to kick to the other team. Your first kick, a squib kick, went out of bounds at the 15-Yard line, giving the Receiving Team the ball 5 Yards into the Red Zone.
The first play from scrimmage and the only thing you saw was the smoke the from the receiver cleats! Now he is in the back of your End Zone celebrating.
The lesson here is:
A. Pick your side early.
<span style="font-weight: bold">B</span>. Practice a few times
C. Study film on the enemy
<span style="font-weight: bold">D.</span> Do not commit turnovers, nor give them a short field if you kick to them,
It might be better to receive when you win the toss, not add to their home field advantage.
Agreed. JLP is no more arrogant than the PNP nor is G2K more arrogant than PNPYO. Portia was most ungracious to Bruce Golding when he won. The JLP lost big because they did not do the necessary groundwork, failed to connect with people on bread and butter issues, failed to properly acquaint constituencies with their MPs and called an election too early after Holness selection and in the middle of the Christmas season. They drew the wrong lesson from Portia's loss in 2007 that she had waited too long. It was not so much that she waited too long but that she did not perform well during her 18 month tenure.
The PNP also did a good job in opposition especially over the last 12 months and were very much on the ball attacking JLP policies at every turn. I hope the JLP learns something from this and does not fall silent .
Holness` weakness was that he saw only through green vision. He failed to see Jamaica, black gold and green mixed as one electorate.
He was impressed by the Laborite turn out at th JLP conference where he was expected to call the election date. He failed to see the gold PNP machine experts at canvassing votes.
He kept harping on the one major positive acheived by the Labour Govt, Stabalizing the economy.
Even with that under his hat, the people especially the under 25s saw no job opportunities, heard nothing other than that the path was created for development to take place without illustrating how and where new opportunities were to come from.
Many, if not most under 25s did not vote.
The low voter turn out only confirmed that those who did were mostly party die hards. Like it or not, the PNP has a wider and higher number whether inert or lively.
All they did was to get the inert up and out, which they did.
The PNP now has found themselves in power with a sounder and stabalized economic base than the JLP did in 2007, thanks to Man a Yard.
So lets see how quickly the PNP will mash it up again. Or will there be a change for the better that Jamaica is yet to witness in modern history?
Sista P is a good person. How good a PM she is and how good her satelites amongst her are, is the big question.
Sadly, history does not have positive references on our ability to break Jamaica through the doldrums of corruption and party allegiances over national interests.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">Contact within two weeks</span>
Phillips also sought to clear the air on a comment by prime minister-designate Portia Simpson Miller in relation to the promised talks with the IMF within a two-week period. "We couldn't conclude any discussions in two weeks, and anybody who thought that just wasn't thinking," he said. "It's quite simple that we expect that within the first two weeks of January we would have made contact and begun discussions with the IMF regarding a new programme," he said.</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">Many people expect jobs next year</span>
It is typical that I send my Sunday column to the Observer on a Thursday.
This time around, things were very obviously different. Many of my 'socialist' friends, taxi drivers, artisans, unemployed were in a jubilant mood. The word I heard as I ventured out on Friday morning was 'power'. Reminded me a bit of 1972 and 1989.
As I spoke to young people aged between 25 and about 37 or so, it occurred to me that the PNP will be having a problem on its hands later on.
"What are you expecting next year?" I asked them. The answer was jobs.
<span style="font-weight: bold">"Yu si all di garment factory dem. Wi waan dem open dem back and gi di woman dem some wuk."</span></div></div>
Seems no one remember how the PNP rebelled against the Garment Factories. How they said it was slave labour? How the last Garment Factory actually closed down under the last PNP Government? The worst thing about this Comrade Portia and Peter Phillips were some of the most vociferous voices against these factories, even as most of the workers were drawn form their Constituencies. The Comrade Leadership will do anything thing to win elections (even cutting off their noses to spite their faces), yet their Constituents can never come to the overstanding that what they often time blame others for are product of their cult like loyalty to Party and corrupt, inept, failed Leadership.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.