Re: dem seh PNP leff out di green eena di Ja flag at
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: KF_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I kind of like the black and gold look. </div></div>
Really?? Seriously??
On a personal level, I like the black and green look, but I honestly doubt that is the point.
I believe it was deliberate.... It's a shame, our flag is a national symbol, so disrespectful.. From Basic School days you are taught the flag and its colours and to have pride in your country.. If you can remember anything else you will remember the Flag colours.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The major should have refused the swear in once he saw the flag being displayed with out the proper colors. This is a disgrace. </div></div>
The Mayor stood before it like it was nobody's business......LOL!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Xavier</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The major should have refused the swear in once he saw the flag being displayed with out the proper colors. This is a disgrace. </div></div>
Blackboard Jungle!
I was hoping Dr. Dudd was<span style="font-weight: bold"> write</span> and it was just illiterate Comrades at work,,,,,,but in the 50th year of our Independence could Comrades sink so low as to desecrate Jamaica's Flag to make a Tribal Political Statement? </div></div>This is getting more snd mire confusing. Tge question being asked is who ordered tge decorations snd which political party was in charge when it was ordered? The latest is that it was ordered by the previous city administration but i am awaiting for the definiteive statement on that. The mayor state that he only authorized the payment but he could be more involved than ge state.
Probe into removal of green from Jamaican flag in St James
An investigation has been launched into the circumstances which led to the green section of the Jamaican flag being excluded from the decorations at the recent swearing in ceremony for Councillors of the St James Parish Council.
The incident has drawn fiery criticism from the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party as well as sections of civil society.
They have claimed the incident was blatantly partisan, and disrespectful to the civic nature of the ceremony.
Mayor of Montego Bay, Glendon Harris,offered an explanation and apology for the incident, but this has done little to soothe the anger it has caused.
Deputy General Secretary Julian Robinson of the People's National Party has strongly condemned the incident describing it as an irresponsible act.
A probe is to be launched on Thursday April 12 and the findings are to be made public
Meanwhile, Local Government Minister Noel Arscott has also added his voice in condemning the flag incident.
He says there is protocol governing the staging of civic events which should be adhered to.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is getting more snd mire confusing. Tge question being asked is who ordered tge decorations snd which political party was in charge when it was ordered? The latest is that it was ordered by the previous city administration but i am awaiting for the definiteive statement on that. The mayor state that he only authorized the payment but he could be more involved than ge state. </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 20pt">I love it!</span>
So now it is the work of a lowly<span style="font-weight: bold"> JLP</span> era contractor fulling his/her contractual obligations, despite the obvious desecration of the flag, occasioned by the fact that he/she ran out of Green Material <span style="font-style: italic">(no doubt after the heavy Campaign Season where Labourites demanded a lot of <span style="font-weight: bold">Green</span> cloth.)</span>?
The People’s National Party says its image will not be hurt by the recent incidents at three swearing-in ceremonies for councillors and mayors.
In the latest incident, the colours of the Jamaican flag were misused at the swearing-in ceremony of the new mayor of Montego Bay, Glendon Harris on March 29.
A representation of the flag as the back drop had the national colours black and gold.
However, the national colour green, which is also the colour of the Jamaica Labour Party, was not used on the backdrop.
This afternoon, PNP chairman Robert Pickersgill said the party was sorry about the developments.
But he says he does not believe the matter will hurt the party.
Pickersgill says the party is only now officially responding to the matter because it had to do its investigation.
At the same time Pickersgill says the PNP president Portia Simpson Miller yesterday condemned the incident and instructed that the party make an official statement on the matter.
Two weeks ago there was the booing at outgoing Mayor of Portmore Keith Hinds at the swearing-in for the Mayor of Portmore.
On Monday JLP councillors in the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation boycotted their swearing in on the basis that they were slighted in the organisation.
Should have given the job to<span style="font-weight: bold"> China</span>...
So the <span style="font-weight: bold">Labourite Contractor</span> made a simple mistake and the <span style="font-weight: bold">illiterate Comrade Mayor </span>and his organizing committee when happily along with it....until nize mek.....LOL <span style="font-weight: bold">No one</span> circles the wagons like Comrades!
MONTEGO BAY, St James — Chairman of the St James Parish Council, Glendon Harris, announced today that the person contracted to do the decoration for the recent swearing-in of newly elected councillors, has decided to refund his $30,000 fee to the local authority.
Addressing the regular monthly meeting of the council this afternoon, Harris said the decorator has accepted full responsibility for the foul-up in the decoration of the historic Montego Bay Civic Centre where the ceremony was held.
The flag was painted yellow and black, with the green missing.
“I have spoken to the decorator and he has accepted full responsibility and he has further indicated that he will repay the money which he collected, with a view to see if he can level the situation with the council,” said Harris.
The money is expected to be repaid within another few days.
Since the flag incident, the council has been facing mounting criticism from the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) as well as members of the public.
Some have charged that the People’s National Party controlled council was being petty and tribalistic to omit the colour green from the backdrop, which is the colour associated with the of the JLP.
But Harris argued today that the matter was not a partisan one, noting that the decorator has been doing work for the council from as far back as November 2010 when the JLP had control of the council
The decorator, he added, will issue a statement on the matter by tomorrow
<a href="http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20120413/lead/lead6.html" rel="nofollow" target="_blank"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">
Decorator To Refund St James Council After Flag Foul-Up</span></a>
However, Harris' predecessor, Charles Sinclair, said he was absolutely convinced that what happened was a deliberate act aimed at slighting the JLP, whose most prominent colour is green.
"It is my understanding that the decorator was specifically told to leave out the green because it was a PNP function," said Sinclair. "I further understand that the instructions came from an individual, who claims he has ties with the Office of the Prime Minister."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"It is my understanding that the decorator was specifically told to leave out the green because it was a PNP function," said Sinclair. "I further understand that the instructions came from an individual, who claims he has ties with the Office of the Prime Minister." </div></div>Hard to believe that government officials would willfully allow the country's flag to be desecrated by removing one of the colors. The depths to which they can sink... SMH.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"It is my understanding that the decorator was specifically told to leave out the green because it was a PNP function," said Sinclair. "I further understand that the instructions came from an individual, who claims he has ties with the Office of the Prime Minister." </div></div>Hard to believe that government officials would willfully allow the country's flag to be desecrated by removing one of the colors. The depths to which they can sink... SMH. </div></div>
I too shake my head .....but not too hard because... for I it is very easy to believe given what I know about about the tribal nature of the Comrade Wing of my Party.
And, especially given the fact also, of the atmosphere at the Mobay and other so-called <span style="font-weight: bold">Swearing in ceremonies</span>.
THE mayor of Montego Bay, Councillor Glendon Harris, made the correct first step of apologising this week for the display of disrespect for one of our national symbols at the recent swearing-in of St James parish councillors.
However, no sooner than he had done so, Mayor Harris — the first citizen of that tourist resort city — stepped three paces backward with his nonsensical explanation of the fiasco that resulted in the colour green being omitted from a stage backdrop designed to depict the Jamaican flag.
Mayor Harris did not help his cause, either, by trying to absolve himself of blame in the matter.
“Someone,” he told this newspaper, “was contracted to do the decoration, and the only time I knew that was when I was authorising the payment for it. So I have nothing to do with it.”
What balderdash!
According to the mayor, he was advised by his technical staff that the persons contracted to do the job had said that “they ran short of material”.
Even more balderdash!
Mayor Harris, we hold, would have done better had he stopped speaking after apologising, because his other statements suggest that he, his technical staff and the contractors — if they are being reported correctly — regard the Jamaican people as fools.
We would have thought that the mayor, on entering the building for the civic ceremony and seeing the disrespect to a national symbol, would have refused to participate in the function and given instructions for the backdrop to be completed.
And if, as reported by former Mayor Charles Sinclair — who amazingly participated in the ceremony without protest — the instruction to the contractors was for the backdrop to depict the Jamaican flag, why then did Mayor Harris authorise the payment to the contractors?
We are in no position to state that the omission of the green from the backdrop was rooted in partisan politics. However, one can hardly blame supporters of the Opposition Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) for believing so, especially given the disgraceful behaviour of some supporters of the ruling People’s National Party (PNP) at a few other parish council swearing-in ceremonies in recent days.
The greater point, though, is that no one should be allowed to disrespect the symbols that define us as a sovereign nation. That was why we were very critical of the antics of Messrs Usain Bolt and Yohan Blake during the playing of our National Anthem at last year’s World Championships in Daegu, South Korea.
In the Montego Bay fiasco, Mayor Harris may well have not had a role in the planning of the ceremony, however he cannot — as the chairman of the parish council — wash his hands like Pontius Pilate and declare himself free of responsibility.
If that is how he plans to run the local government body, then God help the people of Montego Bay and the wider St James.
THE contractor who decorated the backdrop for the swearing in ceremony for newly elected councillors at the Montego Bay Civic Centre, has refuted claims by Montego Bay Mayor Glendon Harris, that a shortage of green material led to the green being left out of the Jamaican flag.
In a release to the media Denton Edwards who operates Eddies Fabric Work & Décor said the claim was lacking in veracity.
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">"I wish to note that there was no shortage of green cloth</span> to complete the task and would have been able to complete the backdrop depicting the Jamaican Flag if I was afforded the opportunity so to do," the release stated.
The omission of the green from the Jamaican flag caused consternation among members of the public and the opposition Jamaica Labour Party whose leader Andrew Holness described the action as 'vulgar'.
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Edwards also claimed that he was instructed to leave the green out of the flag by an official in the Western Division of the Office of the Prime Minister in the interest of time.</span>
Harris also said Edwards had made a commitment to refund the money he collected for decorating the centre but Edwards also shot down that claim.
"<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">As it relates to published reports that I have committed to refund the contracted amount of $30,000.00, I wish to hereby refute such claim as I am currently out of pocket in terms of the cost of the project,"</span> the release stated.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.