Re: As there is so much to say about Hugh Shearer..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I was raised in a society in which Black is Black and I was made WELL aware of my Blackness...trust me. So, no I did not drink the Koolaid and I have not bought into any Jamaican style colour scheme. It makes no sense to me and simply does not compute. </div></div>
I hate to tell you, but the red koolaid and the blue koolaid is still koolaid. You were raised in a society where Blacks are just as racist as Whites.
Thank god I did not drink the American koolaid.
1830s is not a long time ago in the grand scheme of things. You think an institution like slavery can disappear overnight? Blacks have been slowly but surely advancing themselves in life. We have "out of many, one people" to probably thank for that. It was a brainwashing technique to get Jamaicans out of colourism and it has been progressively working. I mean, the fact that shearer and pj and now portia are the prime ministers should trigger some kind of light that Jamaica for the most part is no longer a racist society.
But hundreds of years of slavery do not magically disappear. When the slaves were released they found a society where the positions of power were held by those that CREATED the society. They did not magically go back to England. Other positions of power were held by people who came to Jamaica and worked their backside off to make it better in life. They came to Jamaica hoping to make it better in life. Africans did not come to Jamaica with that outlook. That outlook has had to be developed personally.
For all your talk about how great the American outlook is, it is one of the worst outlooks in the history of mankind. Because none of us is one thing other than human.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I was raised in a society in which Black is Black and I was made WELL aware of my Blackness...trust me. So, no I did not drink the Koolaid and I have not bought into any Jamaican style colour scheme. It makes no sense to me and simply does not compute. </div></div>
I hate to tell you, but the red koolaid and the blue koolaid is still koolaid. You were raised in a society where Blacks are just as racist as Whites.
Thank god I did not drink the American koolaid.
1830s is not a long time ago in the grand scheme of things. You think an institution like slavery can disappear overnight? Blacks have been slowly but surely advancing themselves in life. We have "out of many, one people" to probably thank for that. It was a brainwashing technique to get Jamaicans out of colourism and it has been progressively working. I mean, the fact that shearer and pj and now portia are the prime ministers should trigger some kind of light that Jamaica for the most part is no longer a racist society.
But hundreds of years of slavery do not magically disappear. When the slaves were released they found a society where the positions of power were held by those that CREATED the society. They did not magically go back to England. Other positions of power were held by people who came to Jamaica and worked their backside off to make it better in life. They came to Jamaica hoping to make it better in life. Africans did not come to Jamaica with that outlook. That outlook has had to be developed personally.
For all your talk about how great the American outlook is, it is one of the worst outlooks in the history of mankind. Because none of us is one thing other than human.
So I am certified 100% Koolaid free.
She did fly back inna her room. He laughed and took the next elevator.
If that sounds elitist....so be it. The marriages often don't work ant the money goes to the White woman.