I have heard it is between those that came as coolies and those that came to immigrate. The Khemlanis and dem were neva coolies and look down upon di coolie descendants. I saw on one program about Hinduism that they have no dealings really wid each odder. Mi nuh really know if a true. </div></div>
LOL I know some name brand Indians .....you cannot call dem Indian, they say they are Asian Businessmen. I think the Coolie stigma was too great.
Re: Amita Persaud-Webb Pregnant - rumours were true
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">in the 90's were they importing indian engineers because of an agreement with india? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yeah like now, a pure indian doctors u a see, esp if u go in the residency part, peeeeer indian doctors </div></div>Some are new imports.
There used to be an Indian Programme on Power 106 on Sundays I used to listened to it and how they kept up with all the rituals. Of course it was mainly upper class Hindu Indians.
When I was growing up it was rare to see a Black Person owning a Restaurant. Except for Johnsons and Champion House was bought out. Most of the Restaurants in Kingston were owned by Chinese or Indians..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yeah like now, a pure indian doctors u a see, esp if u go in the residency part, peeeeer indian doctors </div></div>Some are new imports.
Lot of new imports. In fact, they crushed the local tourist souvenir producers and completely took over the market. Tourists shops now have Indian men with Indian accents.
Re: Amita Persaud-Webb Pregnant - rumours were tru
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">ah chru cause in other countries coolie is chiney </div></div>
That is true ..but you know Jamaica....!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lot of new imports. In fact, they crushed the local tourist souvenir producers and completely took over the market. Tourists shops now have Indian men with Indian accents. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lot of new imports. In fact, they crushed the local tourist souvenir producers and completely took over the market. Tourists shops now have Indian men with Indian accents. </div></div>
They are Pakistanis! </div></div>
I doan know if they all are. In fact, me and my wife were in India and this one man asks us where we are from. I say america, and he says, "no you don't look american, are you from jamaica?" Di man shock mi so till. Apparently dat man bredda live a Jamdung wid him fambily.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lot of new imports. In fact, they crushed the local tourist souvenir producers and completely took over the market. Tourists shops now have Indian men with Indian accents. </div></div>
They are Pakistanis! </div></div>
I doan know if they all are. In fact, me and my wife were in India and this one man asks us where we are from. I say america, and he says, "no you don't look american, are you from jamaica?" Di man shock mi so till. Apparently dat man bredda live a Jamdung wid him fambily. </div></div>
coolie a de man dem and de ooman dem in de field a work wid dem big brawd hat no so??
coolie a chiney, in wharra country dat ms lady - u right u a no coolie, </div></div>
de hinglish use to call the chiney dem coolie cause dem use fi work de field eena de big hat dem.. de indian also called coolie but in Jamaica I have always heard coolie applied exclusively to those of indian descent.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yeah like now, a pure indian doctors u a see, esp if u go in the residency part, peeeeer indian doctors </div></div>
a so? where are the jamaican doctors doing their residency den?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: makabush</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yeah like now, a pure indian doctors u a see, esp if u go in the residency part, peeeeer indian doctors </div></div>Some are new imports.
Lot of new imports. In fact, they crushed the local tourist souvenir producers and completely took over the market. Tourists shops now have Indian men with Indian accents. </div></div>
who tek the $$ straight from the tourist and out of the island
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">who tek the $$ straight from the tourist and out of the island </div></div>
Well blame Jamaicans. We had our indigenous Indian and Chinese Merchants but we did not want them......There was so much fight in 70s and then the Government that came in the late 80s resume the torture.
It was they that handed over the Industry lock, stock and barrel to the new, unattached merchants.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.