Re: Duke Street
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No SistaCtry - I think Parliament is on Duke Street not too far from where the Telephone Company used to be (not sure if the phone company is still there) it is not below East Queen Street. I remembered because the lower part of Duke Street had the Embassy, and I used to work @ Myers, Fletcher & Gordon and it was located at 36 Duke Street. AJ Nicholson had an office on Duke Street right off Harbour Street, and Lufthansa Airlines had their office right across the street from Broad bent Eye doctor. </div></div>
St Bess when u use to work a Myers?
You know Frank Myers and Douglas Fletcher?
Wha bout Freddie, Ms Wray, Sir John and di crew
(BTW a East Street (& Tower Street cnr) dem deh pon, maybe did deh pon Duke donkey years ago..) </div></div>
They were on Duke Street opposite the US Embassy but dat was donkey years ago in the early 70's (on my first move back to my lovely JA. Had to run wey again but that's another story). I worked in conveyancing dept. (real estate). I remember a lady named Daffodil, one named Dimples and a German girl (she was a Jehovah Witness - doan remember har name now). In those days you could become a lawyer without going to law school. You could be "grandfathered" into the profession by becoming what they called "articled clerks". They have the same thing in the industry where I am presently employed - you can be an interior designer and become an architect without going to architectural school. Just take the exams, one at a time and when you pass all a dem, bam you become a registered architect. The hardest one fe pass is the structural engineering section.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: St_Bess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">No SistaCtry - I think Parliament is on Duke Street not too far from where the Telephone Company used to be (not sure if the phone company is still there) it is not below East Queen Street. I remembered because the lower part of Duke Street had the Embassy, and I used to work @ Myers, Fletcher & Gordon and it was located at 36 Duke Street. AJ Nicholson had an office on Duke Street right off Harbour Street, and Lufthansa Airlines had their office right across the street from Broad bent Eye doctor. </div></div>
St Bess when u use to work a Myers?
You know Frank Myers and Douglas Fletcher?
Wha bout Freddie, Ms Wray, Sir John and di crew

(BTW a East Street (& Tower Street cnr) dem deh pon, maybe did deh pon Duke donkey years ago..) </div></div>
They were on Duke Street opposite the US Embassy but dat was donkey years ago in the early 70's (on my first move back to my lovely JA. Had to run wey again but that's another story). I worked in conveyancing dept. (real estate). I remember a lady named Daffodil, one named Dimples and a German girl (she was a Jehovah Witness - doan remember har name now). In those days you could become a lawyer without going to law school. You could be "grandfathered" into the profession by becoming what they called "articled clerks". They have the same thing in the industry where I am presently employed - you can be an interior designer and become an architect without going to architectural school. Just take the exams, one at a time and when you pass all a dem, bam you become a registered architect. The hardest one fe pass is the structural engineering section.
An I born at Jubilee too