anybody watching? can see it live on the bbc http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18234049
Diamond Jubilee Royal Flotilla
Re: Diamond Jubilee Royal Flotilla
ok.
there's a historic feel to this thing that's kind of nice. watching all those boats, makes you realize how closely water/navy/england are linked thruought the ages.
with 1,000 boats, this is the second largest flotilla in british history. the largest was in 1622, for charles the second.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anybody watching? can see it live on the bbc http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18234049
noo
de bettar qwestian iss y yuh intarested?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">anybody watching? can see it live on the bbc http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18234049
noo
de bettar qwestian iss y yuh intarested? </div></div>
Like it or not, Jamaica is still part of the commonwealth and the British have been part of our history. I am chilling with my Mom in Montreal for a few days after a hectic few weeks of travel. I caught the last part of the flotilla this morning. When the London Philharmonic Orchestra played, while some of the music was not familiar to me, my Mom was singing right along with the choir. She pointed out that she learned all of these songs when she was at school. Much as it pains me to acknowledge this, many Jamaican country grandmothers had a picture of the queen beside a picture of Jesus. My grandmother thought it was a sign that the world was about to end when the Queen was taken off Jamaican money. My mom has always watched the Queen's Christmas speech when it comes on the television.
Frankly, I don't think a White Queen is the appropriate head of state for a country in which the overwhelming majority of the population is Black and I think that Jamaica should become a Republic. But, I do enjoy watching some of these British events....you can't beat the pomp, ceremony and pageantry. You must admit, they do know how to put on a good show.