What do people have against Obamacare and other forms of universal healthcare? Sorry, I just don't get it.
Question for those who live in the USA
Re: Question for those who live in the USA
Many of those who oppose the Affordable Care Act know little about it beyond the fact that it is the current President's signature legislation. Others object to the fact that the ACA mandates all Americans to purchase health insurance. Apart from the fact that you will have to pay additional taxes if you don't, why some consider purchasing health insurance a bad thing is not clear as everyone who has employer sponsored health insurance already does so. Moreover, I have yet to hear from anyone who wishes to be "free" not to carry health insurance give an answer to the question...who is supposed to pay for your health care when you become ill ? Lastly are those who claim that they do not wish to have the government "controlling " their health care. Well, none of these folks are ever heard saying that they plan to refuse Medicare (or VA, if they have it) coverage when they become eligible nor do those who already have Medicare or VA coverage plan to give it up. Medicare and the VA health systems taken together, are by far the largest providers of health care in the United States. Both are "government controlled".
Go figure.
I really think Obamacare can work but many people (Republicans namely) are against it but what to expect.. They (Repubs) did not have an idea or a plan towards Healthcare reform but President Obama did...
Few months ago this reporter on Fox news gave some good feedback on Obamacare
I've heard folks said what Skelly posted above...
The first sentence speaks volume...
I'd loosely say that the Republicans are against it because it is not their idea.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: R_C</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Many of those who oppose the Affordable Care Act know little about it beyond the fact that it is the current President's signature legislation. Others object to the fact that the ACA mandates all Americans to purchase health insurance. Apart from the fact that you will have to pay additional taxes if you don't, why some consider purchasing health insurance a bad thing is not clear as everyone who has employer sponsored health insurance already does so. Moreover, I have yet to hear from anyone who wishes to be "free" not to carry health insurance give an answer to the question...who is supposed to pay for your health care when you become ill ? Lastly are those who claim that they do not wish to have the government "controlling " their health care. Well, none of these folks are ever heard saying that they plan to refuse Medicare (or VA, if they have it) coverage when they become eligible nor do those who already have Medicare or VA coverage plan to give it up. Medicare and the VA health systems taken together, are by far the largest providers of health care in the United States. Both are "government controlled".
Go figure. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">What do people have against Obamacare and other forms of universal healthcare? Sorry, I just don't get it. </div></div>
obamacare iss a bad healthcare bill designed by right wing conservative tink tank dat moaslee benefit de healthcare industrees at de xxpense att de individuals. healthcare premiums still increasinn. imagine parents now gitt de privileges aff payinn fe dem yuths healthcare until dem 26 ears ole. de qwestians iss y yuths cyaan afford dem own healthcare. itt a tax dat peeps payinn to private heathcare company.
moas americans support universal healthcare accardinn to moas polls. mixxed race man neva pushed fe universal healthcare dat wood ave reduce premiums accross de board.
argument against universal healthcare iss itt iss natt as good as de best private heathcare iff yu caan afford itt even dough moas peeps cyaan afford. peeps widd good union heathcare plans wood gitt a downgrade iff dem move to universal heathcare policies
mii tink de onlee fair ting iss fe give evereebadee de same healthcare to guv afficals gitt
sandif obamacare iss de republikkkans idea. dat y de supreme court neva rejected itt
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The first sentence speaks volume...
I'd loosely say that the Republicans are against it because it is not their idea.
Skelly and RC have summed it up in a nutshell.
By the way... funny that I should use that particular phrase - nutshell, because, as RC points out - it's nutcases who are against something we already partially have. Anybody using medicare, veteran's medical benefits, medicaid, and/or any health benefits as any kind of government employees (from municipal up to federal gov't) - a significant portion of our covered population! - already has 'government-controlled' health coverage.
tell mii bout dose woo appose itt ann kno bout de bill weakness. yu neva ear bout oww itt keeps certain medicine prices iigh ann give more prafit to heathcare industrees att de xxpense aff peeps. sum peeps abject to itt cah itt forces citizens fe purchase private healthcare insurance instead aff lower cost public insurances. mii tink forcinn peeps fe buy private insurance iss a badd ting. do yu tink a society ave resposibilitee fe care fe its sick ar iss itt an individudal reposeebilitee? untill yuh kno bout va coverage ann oww manee veteran nah gitt wat dem entitled to doan chatt bout va healthcare
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: R_C</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Many of those who oppose the Affordable Care Act know little about it beyond the fact that it is the current President's signature legislation. Others object to the fact that the ACA mandates all Americans to purchase health insurance. Apart from the fact that you will have to pay additional taxes if you don't, why some consider purchasing health insurance a bad thing is not clear as everyone who has employer sponsored health insurance already does so. Moreover, I have yet to hear from anyone who wishes to be "free" not to carry health insurance give an answer to the question...who is supposed to pay for your health care when you become ill ? Lastly are those who claim that they do not wish to have the government "controlling " their health care. Well, none of these folks are ever heard saying that they plan to refuse Medicare (or VA, if they have it) coverage when they become eligible nor do those who already have Medicare or VA coverage plan to give it up. Medicare and the VA health systems taken together, are by far the largest providers of health care in the United States. Both are "government controlled".
Go figure. </div></div>
You know, Blakkgiant. The more threads I read from you, the more I am convinced that you are a right-wing troll. Your patois makes no sense, nor does your concern for the multi-ethnicity of this country. Every industrialized country has some form of Universal healthcare but the USA.
We are late entering this forum of public healthcare, but late is not too late. It is a work in progress; just as 45 years ago Medicare was and 70+ years ago social security was. Yes, it is not perfect, like a new-born it must be molded and taught and instructed to fit the purposes to which it was intended.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Serious question...I am looking for a serious answer. </div></div>
So because I never write up 10 paragraph mi nuh serious???? I could have easily said that they fear our medical system will become socialized like that of neighboring Canada's...convenient to many but writhe with problems...No. Sorry I did not feel like saying all that.
Tek weh miself
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I've heard folks said what Skelly posted above... </div></div>
Just this morning I heard a doctor utter the same words...go figure!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Skelly</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SandiF</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
I've heard folks said what Skelly posted above... </div></div>
Just this morning I heard a doctor utter the same words...go figure! </div></div>
wonder if he just came back from CanadaWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....