Re: ALL J'COMMERS... PLEASE, PLEASE READ THIS!
Weh de spin head icon?
Ok I forgive you for confusing mi - doan mek it happen agen
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">hold on deh, me confuse,
first u was jewish, den u was christian, no beg pardon, catholic, and so now u a jew again.....???
Happy Yom Kippur
Born Jewish (born of a Jewish mother); raised Jewish (Reform Jewish); adult conversion to Christianity, baptized in 1990 into the Episcopal Church - Protestant Christian; further conversion into the Roman Catholic Church - Catholic Christian (yes - Catholics <span style="font-style: italic">ARE</span> Christians!)
Born Jewish = always Jewish -- It's like being born black (or Jamaican); If you're born black (or Jamaican), can you ever be <span style="text-decoration: underline">not</span> black (or Jamaican?
Jewish is a religion, but it is also a ethnicity, a people... a race, if you will.
One can be a Jew, but a non-practicing Jew religious-wise... which is what I was for many, many years. I turned my back on my birth religion when I was 17 or 18. (not too long after Confirmation at the age of 16)
I cannot turn my back on Jesus, who is the Messiah. I need not do so. (Naturally.) But I have rediscovered my Jewish roots and have finally come to embrace them while embracing Jesus and Christianity (in the Church that I believe that Jesus established). Without arguing which Church is "The Right Church" - which we will have to agree to disagree about - do you see what I'm saying? Christianity has Jewish roots. I, too, can embrace my own Jewish roots while being the best Christian, with God's help, that I can be. I've finally come to understand that! Jesus was a Jew and always obeyed Jewish law and practiced Judaism: So can I, and still remain a good Christian. That is exactly what I am doing, with the blessing of Archbishop Meyers. I have the full blessing of the Catholic Church on this; I'm good with it.
Thank you for wishing me a <span style="font-style: italic">good yom tov</span> (Hebrew) or a <span style="font-style: italic">gut yuntuv</span> (Yiddish), and a good fast.
We fast from sundown today 'til sundown tomorrow, and we break the fast just after sundown with a cold supper feast. The fast is a harsh one: Absolutely <span style="font-style: italic">NOTHING</span> into your mouth - not even water or toothbrush and toothpaste - for the sundown-to-sundown period. All Jews in good health from the age of 6 - 60 (or is it 66? I forget...) are mandated by Jewish law to observe the fast on Yom Kippur. Those who are ill or require medicine must take it, and if food is required with meds, then that food must be taken as well. No additional unnecessary food or drink beyond that necessary for such may be taken. We do not bathe, shower, or wash for the period of the fast, nor may we use perfumes, lotions, or powders. We may not wear leather (not even on our shoes) nor skin of any animal. No marital relations. </div></div>
Weh de spin head icon?
Ok I forgive you for confusing mi - doan mek it happen agen

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: WitchyOoman</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">hold on deh, me confuse,
first u was jewish, den u was christian, no beg pardon, catholic, and so now u a jew again.....???
Happy Yom Kippur

Born Jewish (born of a Jewish mother); raised Jewish (Reform Jewish); adult conversion to Christianity, baptized in 1990 into the Episcopal Church - Protestant Christian; further conversion into the Roman Catholic Church - Catholic Christian (yes - Catholics <span style="font-style: italic">ARE</span> Christians!)
Born Jewish = always Jewish -- It's like being born black (or Jamaican); If you're born black (or Jamaican), can you ever be <span style="text-decoration: underline">not</span> black (or Jamaican?
Jewish is a religion, but it is also a ethnicity, a people... a race, if you will.
One can be a Jew, but a non-practicing Jew religious-wise... which is what I was for many, many years. I turned my back on my birth religion when I was 17 or 18. (not too long after Confirmation at the age of 16)
I cannot turn my back on Jesus, who is the Messiah. I need not do so. (Naturally.) But I have rediscovered my Jewish roots and have finally come to embrace them while embracing Jesus and Christianity (in the Church that I believe that Jesus established). Without arguing which Church is "The Right Church" - which we will have to agree to disagree about - do you see what I'm saying? Christianity has Jewish roots. I, too, can embrace my own Jewish roots while being the best Christian, with God's help, that I can be. I've finally come to understand that! Jesus was a Jew and always obeyed Jewish law and practiced Judaism: So can I, and still remain a good Christian. That is exactly what I am doing, with the blessing of Archbishop Meyers. I have the full blessing of the Catholic Church on this; I'm good with it.
Thank you for wishing me a <span style="font-style: italic">good yom tov</span> (Hebrew) or a <span style="font-style: italic">gut yuntuv</span> (Yiddish), and a good fast.

We fast from sundown today 'til sundown tomorrow, and we break the fast just after sundown with a cold supper feast. The fast is a harsh one: Absolutely <span style="font-style: italic">NOTHING</span> into your mouth - not even water or toothbrush and toothpaste - for the sundown-to-sundown period. All Jews in good health from the age of 6 - 60 (or is it 66? I forget...) are mandated by Jewish law to observe the fast on Yom Kippur. Those who are ill or require medicine must take it, and if food is required with meds, then that food must be taken as well. No additional unnecessary food or drink beyond that necessary for such may be taken. We do not bathe, shower, or wash for the period of the fast, nor may we use perfumes, lotions, or powders. We may not wear leather (not even on our shoes) nor skin of any animal. No marital relations. </div></div>