Originally posted by kia027
Electoral College Question
I understand but in Canada and Jamaica when there is a general election at the national level the results determine the Prime Minister and the representatives in the lower chamber.Originally posted by kia027 View PostRepublicans control the house; Democrats control the Senate. The house & senate make up congress.
President is the executive branch.
Congress is the legislative branch
Supreme Court is the judicial branch..
Checks and balances system
In the US you seem to have some very complicated system whereby representatives for the House of Representatives are not selected at the same time as the President.
This is extremely confusing.
Yes I understand the electoral college business (as complicated as that is). The founding fathers did not trust onoo to select your own President so onoo vote fe electoral college members who in turn select the President. What I can't wrap my brain around is how the House of Representatives is elected and why the Republicans are still in control of the House of Representatives. It means that nothing has changed and no work can get done. When will there be an opportunity to change the representatives in the House of Representatives. How often do you guys vote? It seems to be constantly.
IMO it is a great system. Power is not given to one person or group. On paper, at least. When you vote in the US you vote down a list of candidates whom you feel represents you. So that - as I have done - I voted Party A for pres/veep; I voted Senator of Party B, Congressperson for Party C, etc. right down to Judge of the Family Court.
i don't think the US can export this system to any country. It is uniquely American and it's part of our exceptionalism. I love this system and will defend it.
You did not askOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostYes but you still haven't explained how often you vote for Hose of Representatives and in general how often you vote.
Presidential elections - every 4 years
Senate every 6 yrs
Congress every 2 years
State elections - assembly, school board, freeholder, county executive, etc etc etc varies by state/countyIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Democrats won a narrow majority in the Senate on Tuesday, snatching Republican-held seats in Massachusetts and Indiana and turning back fierce, expensive challenges in Virginia, Ohio and Connecticut to maintain the control they've held since 2007.
However, the Democrats failed to recapture the majority they lost two years ago in the House of Representatives.

With a third of the Senate up for election,
How often do you vote for Senators?
What is a mid term election? When are the Governors elected?
Republicans were undone by candidate stumbles, with hopefuls in Missouri and Indiana uttering clumsy statements about rape and abortion that did severe damage to their chances and the party's hopes of taking over. The losses of Senate seats in Massachusetts and Indiana, combined with independent Angus King's victory in the Republican-held Maine seat, put the Republicans too far down in their already uphill climb.
What is this about ganja questions on the ballot? Does each state have a different ballot?
Don't onno vote fi sheriff and fire chief?
Last edited by Tropicana; 11-07-2012, 07:05 PM.
Sure I did.Originally posted by kia027 View PostYou did not ask
You mean House of Representatives every 2 years don't now. Doesn't Congress = House of Representatives + Senate?Originally posted by kia027 View PostPresidential elections - every 4 years
Senate every 6 yrs
Congress every 2 years
State elections - assembly, school board, freeholder, county executive, etc etc etc varies by state/county
So all members of the House of Representatives were replaced in yesterday's vote yet control was left in the hands of the Republicants. That means no work will be done for the next 2 years. This noh mek NO sense.

You're joking right? Onno vote fi every strikin' ting.Originally posted by Peasie View Post.... right down to Judge of the Family Court.
Isn't that exactly what onoo have been trying to do with all these wars?Originally posted by Peasie View Post
i don't think the US can export this system to any country. It is uniquely American and it's part of our exceptionalism. I love this system and will defend it.
Yep. We vote for everything! Isn't it wonderful? In my community, we vote right down to the school board so who we get is who we want representing us.
As for other question on wars and export - I don't wish to discuss in this thread. Start another one and see what you get.
Congress = Congressmen (house of representatives) + SenateOriginally posted by Tropicana View PostSure I did.
You mean House of Representatives every 2 years don't now. Doesn't Congress = House of Representatives + Senate?
Congresspeople (the men & women of the house of representatives) are elected every 2 years
I watched my schoolhouse Rock
Senators are elected every 6 years. Pres and Veep every 4 years. Congresspeople every 2 years.
Each state gets two senators and these elections sometimes coincide with the Presidential election, sometimes not. Congresspeople are assigned districts based on equitable distribution of citizens. That's one reason the census is important and also why congressional redistricting occurs.
Americans therefore vote every two years. This allows continuity in government (Senators) as well as a chance to get rid of people quickly if they don't serve their districts well (Congresspeople).
I absolutely love this system. It is brilliant! And it does allow for a lot more checks and balances and, believe it or not, less corruption than the vote for one party system. Of course, that is my opinion.
President Obama's acceptance speech, Nov 2012
Democracy in a nation of 300 million can be noisy and messy and complicated. We have our own opinions. Each of us has deeply held beliefs. And when we go through tough times, when we make big decisions as a country, it necessarily stirs passions, stirs up controversy.
That won’t change after tonight, and it shouldn’t. These arguments we have are a mark of our liberty.