Oh me oh my...I am very Nervous to Finally Meet....
quebecois french drop their h's likewise newfies as i pointed out. it doesn't necessarily have to have anything to do with class, intelligence or morality or any of those other lofty ideals.Originally posted by RichD View Posthow is that pronounced? is it french?Last edited by RichD; 01-29-2013, 10:49 AM.
Yes it does.Originally posted by Suesumba View Postquebecois french drop their h's likewise newfies as i pointed out. it doesn't necessarily have to have anything to do with class, intelligence or morality or any of those other lofty ideals.
I grew up in Quebec so I believe I know just a little about this. You rarely hear educated Quebecois or Quebecois from upper class backgrounds dropping their h's (except for Jean Chretien).
He grew up in Shawinigan so he can't help it.
If someone grows up in the sticks (La Tuque, Point-au-pic, Chicoutimi) they do have a hard time getting rid of that accent. It is a reflection of their lower class upbringing. When someone says he sounds like he is from Point-au-pic, trust me, they are not paying the person a compliment.
Honestly do I Miss Prude City look like the type who would give off signals like that? Come come now, you KNOW me better than that by now.Originally posted by RichD View Postwhat signals yuh gave him at the movie why him felt comfortable to ask dat question? yuh was stroking his thigh? yuh throats him when him drop yuh off home?
I finally told my Mom the story and she burst out laughing ....."Oooo poor guy, he certainly picked the WRONG person to put that kind of argument to."
Same with the guy who used to live downstairs who got blasted for his indecent proposal and impertinent offer.
You have never heard a Jamaican drop their h and say tousand? I don't believe you.Originally posted by RichD View Posthow is that pronounced? is it french?
If there is no problem with it, why did my Dad absolutely freak out about it? (BTW, I do think there is something wrong with it. Glad to see Usain Bolt working on his h's
).
Your Daddy was clearly shallow and narrow minded if he thinks a person who drops "h" is low class.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOne generally doesn't see it spelled at all.
Generally ' is used to denote a letter that is omitted in English isn't it?
I worked with a lady (she retired last year) who has a masters and I have yet to hear her pronounce an H that followed a T. she is Trini but has been in Canada for over 30 years.
tropi I think you need therapy, few months ago you were wishing you could speak with a Jamaican accent and now you are here calling people who drop the h low class. I think you are a very lost and alone person who does not know who they are and I feel sad for you sometimes.
queue the big hellovea cuss out with details of Tropi's education and experiences..... :showtime:
Sure a Jamaican accent is great but most Jamaicans don't drop their h's. It definitely signifies lower class origins. Onoo know is true so why pretend.
I don't need therapy I used to BE a therapist and a very good one too. No need to recite my education, onoo know it already.
Feel sorry for Me..that has got to be the biggest joke I have heard in a long time. I nearly spit out my tea all over my computer when I burst out laughing after reading that.
Last edited by Tropicana; 01-30-2013, 12:23 AM.
Originally posted by Tropicana View PostOne generally doesn't see it spelled at all.
Generally ' is used to denote a letter that is omitted in English isn't it?
so which letter was omitted ? Thousand seems to have all the letters that t'housand has
Clearly I am missing something.Originally posted by Tropicana View PostAbsolutely. Dropping h's is definitely a show stopper for me anyway.
Yikes tonight he said t'ousand.

He also complained about a slight ache in his knee when he got up after the domino game. I hope he is not completely falling apart.