Good for her...life in a chateau would set me up VERY nicely.
Tina is no longer a yanki
yes yuh sey yuh have to make an official request , so is there a form one would fill out? can this request be denied?Originally posted by j-kid View PostYuh would make an official request tuh di state department to bear arms for another country. Unless you don't mind being added to a watch list, and possibly locked out of the country.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
ok because mi nuh si no mention about any request on this site:Originally posted by j-kid View PostDem, would hav fi tell yuh di official process. Of couse di request can bi denied, dem duh it all di time.
seems to me to suggest its not a big issue unless as i stated earlier you in the military of a country fighting against the USWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I think it is also saying dat yuh need fi notify dem of yuh intentions to go, or yuh could bi screwed if yuh goh ova deh an grap happens, or dem may jus decide fi noh mek yuh come back ah USA. Also it may bi ah crime if you are recruited by smaddi while on USA soil. By di way, dis also means dat, JA can not force yuh fi com an fight, especially wen USA is discouriging yuh from going abroad fi duh said ting.
Originally posted by RichD View Postok because mi nuh si no mention about any request on this site:
seems to me to suggest its not a big issue unless as i stated earlier you in the military of a country fighting against the US
yuh know yuh raise an interesting point.Originally posted by j-kid View PostBy di way, dis also means dat, JA can not force yuh fi com an fight, especially wen USA is discouriging yuh from going abroad fi duh said ting.
if Jamaica had a requirement of military service for all citizens would the US stand in the way?When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
I think so, because dem would need as many ah di screw-loose crazy Jamaicans, pan fi dem side ah di ocean fi help kick butts. Dem know sey wi always get di job done!
Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh know yuh raise an interesting point.
if Jamaica had a requirement of military service for all citizens would the US stand in the way?
Hypothetical question, I assume? therefore there isn't a answer, but if Jamaica did require...Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh know yuh raise an interesting point.
if Jamaica had a requirement of military service for all citizens would the US stand in the way?
Simple questions and opinion on issues related to topic for those that have immigrated to US...Why are you in the US? Just for the money? Or to become a US citizen?...If you don't want to dedicate yourself to the US and become a US citizen, stay in your homeland...It seems that you want your cake and eat it to.
Advice about Possible Loss of U.S. Citizenship and Foreign Military Service
A U.S. citizen who is a resident or citizen of a foreign country may be subject to compulsory military service in that country. Although the United States recognizes the problems that may be caused by such foreign military service, there is little that we can do to prevent it since each sovereign country has the right to enact its own laws on military service and apply them as it sees fit to its citizens and residents.
Military service by U.S. citizens may cause problems in the conduct of our foreign relations since such service may involve U.S. citizens in hostilities against countries with which we are at peace. For this reason, U.S. citizens facing the possibility of foreign military service should do what is legally possible to avoid such service.
Federal statutes long in force prohibit certain aspects of foreign military service originating within the United States. The current laws are set forth in Section 958-960 of Title 18 of the United States Code. In Wiborg v. U.S. , 163 U.S. 632 (1896), the Supreme Court endorsed a lower court ruling that it was not a crime under U.S. law for an individual to go abroad for the purpose of enlisting in a foreign army; however, when someone has been recruited or hired in he United States, a violation may have occurred. The prosecution of persons who have violated 18 U.S.C. 958-960 is the responsibility of the Department of Justice.
Although a person's enlistment in the armed forces of a foreign country may not constitute a violation of U.S. law, it could subject him or her to Section 349(a)(3) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. 1481(a)(3)] which provides for loss of U.S. nationality if an American voluntarily and with the intention of relinquishing U.S. citizenship enters or serves in foreign armed forces engaged in hostilities against the United States or serves in the armed forces of any foreign country as a commissioned or non-commissioned officer.
Military service in foreign countries, however, usually does not cause loss of citizenship since an intention to relinquish citizenship normally is lacking. In adjudicating loss of nationality cases, the Department has established an administrative presumption that a person serving in the armed forces of a foreign state not engaged in hostilities against the United States does not have the intention to relinquish citizenship. On the other hand, voluntary service in the armed forces of a state engaged in hostilities against the United States could be viewed as indicative of an intention to relinquish U.S. citizenship.
Pursuant to Section 351(b) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, a person who served in foreign armed forces while under the age of eighteen is not considered subject to the provisions of Section 349(a)(3) if, within six months of attaining the age of eighteen, he or she asserts a claim to United States citizenship in the manner prescribed by the Secretary of State.
J-KID QUOTE: Doesn't America require many people to give up dem citizenship of odda countries wen dem become Merican citizens
This was your question. And when it was answered correctly by Rollin Calf, you said this...
Originally posted by j-kid View PostXavier is correct.
Dem two oddas is confused, an ah talk bout apples an oranges. Except for ah handful ah countries (Israel, etc) whe di USA gives special dispensation tuh, when yuh become ah U.S. citizen, USA does not oficially recognize dual citizenship. With some Other countries like Jamaica, when yuh become a citizen of another country, yuh will alway bi ah citizen as far as dem is concerned. However, dat is not di same ting as di USA giving yuh dual citizenship. Yuh may bi ah dual-citizen tuh yuh mother country, but not tuh di USA, as far as dem is concern, unless yuh belong tuh dat small selected pool of countries dat dem recognize. Unlike di country 90 miles dung di road from Jamaica, Cuba, whe when yuh become ah U.S. citizen yuh forfit yuh Cuban citizenship, mi will always bi ah Jamaican citizen, but dat is not di same ting as di USA recognizing mi as ah dual citizen. Yes, Rich, mi is ah U.S. citizen, an had di denounce statement in mi citizenship oath wen mi took it. If dem call an israli tuh fight fi dem country, dem legally can goh duh it, not so wid Jamaica.
Again, you are wrong...USA DOES OFFICALLY RECOGNIZE DUAL CITIZENSHIP, the FACTS OF LAW ARE POSTED WITH OFFICIAL US GOVERNMENT LINK.
This is not my opinion or Rollin Calf's, but simple facts...What you are trying to accomplish by saying it is not correct and we are confused?
Lone - I was going to weigh in on this thread the other day but I see posts were going all over the place and made no sense - some are making mountains out of moles hill - making things MUCH more complicated than they need to be. You are 110% correct.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostThis was your question. And when it was answered correctly by Rollin Calf, you said this...
Again, you are wrong...USA DOES OFFICALLY RECOGNIZE DUAL CITIZENSHIP, the FACTS OF LAW ARE POSTED WITH OFFICIAL US GOVERNMENT LINK.
This is not my opinion or Rollin Calf's, but simple facts...What you are trying to accomplish by saying it is not correct and we are confused?
Well, mi gwine bi wrong again, caa mi ah goh tell yuh sey dem noh hav nutting as: "110% correct". Ah guess wi were educated wid different math standards.Originally posted by Yuriatin View PostLone - I was going to weigh in on this thread the other day but I see posts were going all over the place and made no sense - some are making mountains out of moles hill - making things MUCH more complicated than they need to be. You are 110% correct.
RichD: Forget about what it says in the laws. I'll tell you what really happens, regardless of laws on the books.
You know (because I've stated it on j'com before, over the years) that Mr Witchy is retired USAF. Second generation USAF, in fact. His father was US AAC (Army Air Corps) in WWII - the Air Force before it became the Air Force.
You know (because I've stated it on j'com before, over the years) that Mr Witchy has very high Security Clearance status. I can't tell you just how high... it's that high.
You also know (because I've stated it on j'com before, over the years) that Mr Witchy also computerized King Hussein's Air Force in Jordan, back in the late 1980s. I order to do that, Mr Witchy had to ---
(1) get permission from the government of the U.S.A. to go over to Jordan to work for King Hussein in his military
(2) get permission from the Pentagon to go over to Jordan to work for King Hussein in his military
(3) get permission from the USAF (from which he was officially retired already for the first time - he's retired from the USAF something like 8 times now) to go over to Jordan to work for King Hussein in his military
He went over to Jordan to work for the King (King Hussein). He went into the Jordanian Air Force as a brevited General. He served the King of Jordan as a General in the Jordanian Air Force for a little over 2 years. He then "retired" and left Jordan, and returned home to the U.S. where he has gone back in and out of the USAF several times over the past few decades since.
He could, technically, collect some pension for his time served in Jordan - but that is fraught with all kinds of difficulties, and something the U.S. frowns heavily upon. So he doesn't.