Sammy Davis Jr would have said, "Mighty white of you guys, really..."
wat da 13 admendment didd wass outlaw private citizens fran owninn slaves wild legalizinn public ownership aff slaves. durinn slaveree deer was veree likkle crimes to nun accardinn to public recard butt aftah slaveree blakk crime rate dramaticallee increased to provide labour for da plantation. incarceration iss legalized public slavereeOriginally posted by jah_yout View PostWitchy it is true...the 13th am. outlaws slavery EXCEPT in certain situations...incarceration being the main one...the last known case of skavery was prosecuted in 1942...during FDR's reign
OK, just spit out my coffee all over my keyboard at this ^ one! BOALOriginally posted by j-kid View PostIs OK Witchy, mi understand yuh mistake, afterall wi all look alike.
Mi belly! waaaiiiiiii
Kid... Yout(h)... What's the difference - alla unnu just pickney dem tuh mi!
That was really funny, LOVE the double entendre!
Really? Come tell me about this. I don't know about this one. But I am curious as hell now!Originally posted by jah_yout View PostWitchy it is true...the 13th am. outlaws slavery EXCEPT in certain situations...incarceration being the main one...the last known case of skavery was prosecuted in 1942...during FDR's reign
Originally posted by blugiant View Postwat da 13 admendment didd wass outlaw private citizens fran owninn slaves wild legalizinn public ownership aff slaves. durinn slaveree deer was veree likkle crimes to nun accardinn to public recard butt aftah slaveree blakk crime rate dramaticallee increased to provide labour for da plantation. incarceration iss legalized public slavereeAnd, this will NOT surprise blugiant AT ALL: When I read to Mr Witchy what Blu posted (in Bluspeak, as best asI cuold pronounce it), Mr Witchy just said: "Of course! He's right!"Originally posted by kia027 View PostI was just coming here to say dat
After a few seconds, Mr Witchy paused and said, "Where's that mod who lives down in central Jersey?"
I asked, "D'you mean Kia?"
"Yeah... Kia," Mr Witchy said, "Are you telling me that you actually have the balls to state on J'com that imprisonment is NOT public slavery?! When a higher proportion of blacks are imprisoned than whites for the same 'crimes'?? How about this - has Kia called you out, yet, for not bringing up that slavery - the old-fashioned southern plantation kind - still exists and is well and healthy, right here in New Jersey - down in south Jersey?! Are you sh*tting me?? Aren't you disingenuous tonight???"
So... I stand accused by my own husband of disingenuity. I plead..... guilty as charged.
Originally posted by lonewolf View PostI find thay appalling. We should imprison equally. A criminal is a criminal. We need to keep white criminals in prison where they belong.
awl crimes natt created equallee soo a crime natt a crime. aftah de 13th amendment, oyinbo wrote statue fe targitt blakks ann de same ting still a gawn tidday.
mii natt far da incarceration aff more peeps fe gawn like equal treatment iss da salusham
Originally posted by blugiant View Postwat da 13 admendment didd wass outlaw private citizens fran owninn slaves wild legalizinn public ownership aff slaves. durinn slaveree deer was veree likkle crimes to nun accardinn to public recard butt aftah slaveree blakk crime rate dramaticallee increased to provide labour for da plantation. incarceration iss legalized public slaveree
This is true except that chroo corruption sometimes convicts were leased out to work for private citizens
Yes the 13th amend. ended slavery EXCEPT for criminal conviction...so they criminalized the black population feeding the prisons...which they translated into slave labor...Originally posted by WitchyOoman View PostReally? Come tell me about this. I don't know about this one. But I am curious as hell now!
this was the case with a black man kidnapped by racist law enforcement types and locked into the traptivity industry...and farmed out to a private citizen...
It came to the attention of certain ones with enough power to sue...which eventually brought it to the attention of president FDR in 1941 and he acted---
Out of fear that the enemies of the US in world war 2 would be able to use it for propaganda purposes...that America is fighting for liberty abroad while holding people in slavery at home
Here is one source..i will post more in a bitOriginally posted by WitchyOoman View PostJah-yout, fascinating tale, but no proof of it. What was the person's name? What was the case? Link to it somewhere, please, OR give the details so we can know it! If it happened, then you should be able to give confirming evidence of it.
The polite term for the new slavery was "convict leasing."*Southern states criminalized the slightest infractions by black people, real or imagined. It was a crime to be unemployed, or to be employed and look for a better job without permission. Unauthorized black job-seekers could be sent back to their employers to work off their "debt" as convict laborers. Walking along the railroad tracks or speaking loudly in the presence of white women could also condemn a black person to a term of hard labor.*
Strictly speaking, debt peonage was against the law. So, a farmer couldn't force a black person to work to pay off a private debt; if he did, the U.S. Department of Justice might step in. However,*the state*could force black people to work to pay off fines levied against them; and the state could sell that labor to factories and farms. The Justice Department couldn't do anything about that. A loophole in the 13th Amendment abolished slavery except as a sentence for a crime.
Blackmon dates the technical end of slavery to 1943, when the first prosecution of de facto slave owners took place. FDR*had decided that the plight of blacks in the South was too good a propaganda tool to hand to the Japanese and empowered his Attorney General to go after the neo-slavers. Whites were occaisionally prosecuted for enslaving blacks into the late sixties.
For full article http://www.hillmanfoundation.org/blo...oming-soon-pbs
jahyouth mii ovatand wat yuh seyinn butt private citizens onlee refer to a specific group aff mzungu dat y mii generalized cah wen yuh too specific peeps will argue sematrixx. public citizens, plantation, companees, etc awlso wass invalved inn canvict leasinn. den wance yuh catt bout canvict leasinn yuh awlso aff chatt bout debt peonage cah iff force sum former slaves fe be sharecroppers woo tekk massive debt to stay out aff jail.Originally posted by jah_yout View PostThis is true except that chroo corruption sometimes convicts were leased out to work for private citizens
awl dat fe sey de 13 amendment created a system to cantinue fe xxploit blakk labour to enriched oyinbo