jahyout iss itt an attack pon rastafarian ar ann attack pon blakk peeps?
TMZ calls Rastafarians "dirty dreadlockers" while showing bunny wailer's pic
Originally posted by jah_yout View Post
JY - what did Charles L. the dreadlocks guy, Executive Producer on TMZ sey bout dat comment? I understand that his family is Jamaican. He didn't have anything to add? We are all having a ball about the Pope and cardinals and sometimes Jews and think nothing of it (even on this said site) until a comment is made which is close and dear to our heart and then it is offensive. Like the man say up a top - all religions are fair game to ridicule - if you laugh at one den it is reasonable that you should be able to laugh at all of them except as Gen sey those that fly plane and bunn fire we have to be extra careful not to upset them. Aye sah donkey sey the werl no level.
They included him in the skit if u watch the video...typical sellout probably...excusing the denigration of his people in order to keep his job...this was an insult to him as well...Originally posted by St_Bess View PostJY - what did Charles L. the dreadlocks guy, Executive Producer on TMZ sey bout dat comment? I understand that his family is Jamaican. He didn't have anything to add? We are all having a ball about the Pope and cardinals and sometimes Jews and think nothing of it (even on this said site) until a comment is made which is close and dear to our heart and then it is offensive. Like the man say up a top - all religions are fair game to ridicule - if you laugh at one den it is reasonable that you should be able to laugh at all of them except as Gen sey those that fly plane and bunn fire we have to be extra careful not to upset them. Aye sah donkey sey the werl no level.
They got a lot of nerve calling a whole people "dirty" on network TV
has anybody raised the issue with the media yet? have you written to them?Originally posted by jah_yout View PostThey included him in the skit if u watch the video...typical sellout probably...excusing the denigration of his people in order to keep his job...this was an insult to him as well...
They got a lot of nerve calling a whole people "dirty" on network TVWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by j-kid View PostJust couple days ago, one ah di announcers at a dog show called the long-haired dog, the Rastafarians dog.
Hungarian Puli
tumblr_lvjy0yqJ6V1qzmr3jo1_500.jpgIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I know this is offensive however I can't help but think "we" help to build the stereotypical image that other view "rastas" and "rastafari". Go into any tourist shop in the Caribbean and there trinkets, carvings, painting figurines etc of "rastas" in various sexual positions or smoking weed. This enforces whatever stereotypes that are in the media.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Depends on who is "we"...Originally posted by Xavier View PostI know this is offensive however I can't help but think "we" help to build the stereotypical image that other view "rastas" and "rastafari". Go into any tourist shop in the Caribbean and there trinkets, carvings, painting figurines etc of "rastas" in various sexual positions or smoking weed. This enforces whatever stereotypes that are in the media.
The gov't and non-rasta jamaicans have no problem profiting from rasta image or denigrating rasta image whenever it suits them...many jamaicans have a deep hatred of rastafari
I agree that many "non-rasta" profit off rastafari including some "so called Rastas". This I believe is also a dilemma as no one truly knows who is a "Rastafarian". With Rastafari being of the "heart" anyone can claim it and profit from it.Originally posted by jah_yout View PostDepends on who is "we"...
The gov't and non-rasta jamaicans have no problem profiting from rasta image or denigrating rasta image whenever it suits them...many jamaicans have a deep hatred of rastafariOut of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
i doubt the guy on the show is a "rastaguy"....Originally posted by Suesumba View Postthe rastaguy on the show seemed like a deer caught in headlights.
If even Jamaicans don't know the difference between a rastafari and a person who just wears locks
I can imagine others...the guy needs his job so probably skin teeth with them as they mocked him
Originally posted by Xavier View PostI agree that many "non-rasta" profit off rastafari including some "so called Rastas". This I believe is also a dilemma as no one truly knows who is a "Rastafarian". With Rastafari being of the "heart" anyone can claim it and profit from it.
Profit is one thing...calling a whole people "dirty" is quite another...but i guess they figure if their own country of origin doesn't respect them why should we