Elderly woman dies after nurse refuses to do CPR
The facility’s executive director, Jeffrey Toomer, sent a statement on behalf of Glenwood Gardens to KGET, the station reported.
“In the event of a health emergency at this independent living community our practice is to immediately call emergency medical personnel for assistance and to wait with the individual needing attention until such personnel arrives,” the statement said, according to KGET.
----
why is this a policy at the facility?
cho. unnu answer the question i delete. No it doesn't appear that there was a DNR directive for the person. But I also read something that said at that age, any attempts to rescucitate (sp) would have "no appreciable medical benefit"
ie: the patient may survive but quality of life would be poor.
something to do with the state a cali as well. ascawding to news probably have to do with liability and all that nonsense
Originally posted by Peasie View PostThe facility’s executive director, Jeffrey Toomer, sent a statement on behalf of Glenwood Gardens to KGET, the station reported.
“In the event of a health emergency at this independent living community our practice is to immediately call emergency medical personnel for assistance and to wait with the individual needing attention until such personnel arrives,” the statement said, according to KGET.
----
why is this a policy at the facility?Last edited by Gen; 03-04-2013, 10:50 AM.
according to media, it is the policy of the facility, which is "independent living" as opposed to "nursing home". legal analysts also hinted at state law as well.
apparently the child(ren) of the deceased knew of said policy and are okay with procedures followed after the incident.
Noh tell mi yuh believe dat?!
If so, remind mi noh fi mek yuh look afta mi wen mi get ole.
If di har pickney dem Okay wid dat, den dem need ah public flogging. Dei way dat ooman was treated, there was no compassion ahtall! Ah wanda if shi hav money dat dem caa wait fi get dem hands pan?
Originally posted by CeaBee View PostBut I also read something that said at that age, any attempts to rescucitate (sp) would have "no appreciable medical benefit"
ie: the patient may survive but quality of life would be poor.
Originally posted by j-kid View PostNoh tell mi yuh believe dat?!
If so, remind mi noh fi mek yuh look afta mi wen mi get ole.
If di har pickney dem Okay wid dat, den dem need ah public flogging. Dei way dat ooman was treated, there was no compassion ahtall! Ah wanda if shi hav money dat dem caa wait fi get dem hands pan?
I would think that the children and mother were made aware of this policy before they signed on the dotted line.
I'm not one of those people that want to live to be 100 years old and can't take care of myself, so if all parties were aware of the policy I can't summon up much outrage.
Mi jus believe dat, if yuh call yuhself nursing home, den yuh should practice nursing care. If not den mi may as well hire ah babysitter, caa dem would be jus ah useless, or duh ah better job, an mi can save lots ah money in di process. Suppose di ooman did ah choke pan suppen, or shi was allergic to suppen dem did gi har? Semms like dem would ah at lease try, an buy har some valuable time until EMS arrived. Wi all know many people pass 87 yoa, whe clear of mind, and can move round pretty well an help demselves, soh mi noh tink age should bi used as ah gage ah tuh wen yuh suppose fi dead. Seems like di young people deese days cyan wait fi si old folks fi stop breathing, soh dem ah push dem, or quick fi pull di plug. It ah get very dangerous fi grandma and grandpa fi tek ah long nap, caa dem may wake, sealed up inna coffin!
Originally posted by j-kid View PostMi jus believe dat, if yuh call yuhself nursing home, den yuh should practice nursing care. If not den mi may as well hire ah babysitter, caa dem would be jus ah useless, or duh ah better job, an mi can save lots ah money in di process. Suppose di ooman did ah choke pan suppen, or shi was allergic to suppen dem did gi har? Semms like dem would ah at lease try, an buy har some valuable time until EMS arrived. Wi all know many people pass 87 yoa, whe clear of mind, and can move round pretty well an help demselves, soh mi noh tink age should bi used as ah gage ah tuh wen yuh suppose fi dead. Seems like di young people deese days cyan wait fi si old folks fi stop breathing, soh dem ah push dem, or quick fi pull di plug. It ah get very dangerous fi grandma and grandpa fi tek ah long nap, caa dem may wake, sealed up inna coffin!
She has been identified as Lorraine Bayless, a resident of the home's independent facility, which is separate from the skilled and assisted nursing facility.
Read more: http://www.sfgate.com/news/article/E...#ixzz2MayIsDxVWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
It wasn't a nursing home, RichD, and that's already been stated several times in a few different ways, but j-kid doesn't wish to see that.
You ever hear that you can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink, Rich? Well, you can also lead a sighted man to something worth seeing but you can't make him see it, also. Only j-kid can make himself see. And he doesn't want to see, he wants to be blind... so blind he shall remain, by his own choice.
I feel like Ceabee does about it. Personally, I can't even summon any outrage.
And I have express legal instructions: I am NOT to be resuscitated if it is unlikely that I shall have quality life after resuscitation. I am NOT to be placed on life support if I am brain dead. I will NOT donate any organs or body parts; I shall be buried with all of my body that God gave to me (as mandated by Jewish burial practice & religion), in a standard coffin used by Catholics, from a funeral parlor that does Catholic funerals, and in a Catholic cemetery plot and by a Catholic priest and according to Catholic Rite. And, as I get older, I will have DNR orders, as my health deteriorates and that becomes practical.
And no one - absolutely NO ONE - as even the right to so much as their opinion as to how I 'should' do things differently. You disagree? Good. Plan your own funeral. Not mine. Do as you wish with your own damn body. Not mine. I've been down this road with other people who have thought they had the right to argue with me as to what I 'should do' with my body, and, as unnu can see, I have absolutely NO doubt that there's no room for argument about it. I do what I want with my body. Anybody else does as they wish with theirs. It's really simple, don't? lol (some ppl - kiss teeth)
Long kissteeth! MI can si inhumanity clear as a bell.
It doan really matter is it was a nursing home! Di attendant was an nurse, and there such ah ting as treating ah person with basic human decency. Why have ah nurse on staff if they are not going to practice nursing? To top it off dem neva hav ah DNR? I sure hope dem yank har nursing credentials. Hopefully one of your love ones would never be treated in this awful way, den mi waa hear what you would hav fi sey.